We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday”
Review of Blue Gum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Gum Hotel
Ranked #66 of 138 Colombo B&B and Inns
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best holiday”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed at Blue gum for seven days, it was great the hotel staff are very nice especially Tuan.
Easy to go around, we travelled by bus and 3 wheeler to go to Colombo,Few minutes walk to KFC. Safe to walk at night, you won't get lost because everyone around will help you. I would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: All rooms has nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liza-eileen-marie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
12
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Firstly, I'm only giving 3 stars because the standard of accommodation in Sri Lanka generally isn't on a par with other parts of Asia. By Sri Lankan standards this hotel is very good.

I arrived at midnight and was greeted warmly and checked in efficiently. I asked for water and was brought a large, cold bottle for which I wasn't charged. My room was clean and comfortable with good aircon. I was told I could have breakfast whenever I wanted the next morning - a nice touch.

Breakfast was good and filling. On departure check out was also efficient and friendly. They directed me to a bus stop just across the road from where I was able to take a bus direct to Colombo Fort station for a few rupees. (It's about $25 in a rip off Colombo taxi).

As I said, Sri Lankan hotels are generally not great and very overpriced but this one is pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInPyongyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This hotel is nice and a comfortable place to stay. Ideal for budget travelers. Clean rooms, food is good. Their staff is friendly and very accommodating. It is in good location between airport and city centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gelcamacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We, a group of three couples, stayed in the Blue Gum Hotel just for one night, but it was a good stay. Very nice stuff, our room was very clean and the bathroom new (the others said their room wasn't that great) and the breakfast was very good and freshly made. Short but good stay!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank agi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The only reason I can think of to stay at the Blue Gum is for a late night arrival or early morning departure out of Colombo. It's fine---fairly clean rooms and bathroom, aircon, and close proximity to the airport. The rooms are quiet and the staff is friendly, but it is BASIC. Breakfast is all you need to get you going for your transfer to somewhere else: eggs, toast, and fruit. It's fine for a quick stopover, but I wouldn't stay more than one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onegreenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My husband and I arrived in the middle of the night and they arranged a last minute taxi to pick us up from the airport which was great knowing we didn't have to barter a fair at 2am. The room was clean and spacious and the bed very comfortable. All of the staff were extremely helpful and very accommodating. Yes it is a little far from the city, about 45 mins by tuk tuk, but if you only need the city for a day what does it matter, the beach is closer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GemBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

You get a good deal for your money at the Blue Gum. The airport is a 15-20 minute drive away, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the service is excellent. The location is pleasant, and far enough away from the road that it's pretty quiet (with the exception of some construction going on during the day at the property next door). I really enjoyed my interactions with the staff, and felt they sincerely cared about their guests. The breakfast is simple and there is not much variation, but it is tasty. I have no difficulty recommending the Blue Gum to budget-minded travelers looking for a good product at a fair price.

Room Tip: The two rooms we stayed in on our two stays (on the 2nd and 3rd floors) were more or less identical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyWaldor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colombo
0.7 mi away
New Hotel Home Feel
New Hotel Home Feel
#1 of 2 in Ja Ela
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Covanro
The Covanro
#1 of 1 in Veyangoda
75 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Home Feel
Hotel Home Feel
#2 of 2 in Seeduwa
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sea Shine Beach Hotel
Sea Shine Beach Hotel
#86 of 138 in Colombo
15 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travel Homestay Sri Lanka
3.9 mi away
Neo Holiday Home
Neo Holiday Home
#1 of 13 in Katunayake
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gum Hotel

Property: Blue Gum Hotel
Address: No 219/1, Tudella | Ja-Ela, Colombo 11350, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Gum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Blue Gum experience with spacious luxurious rooms with spectacular views, fully equipped with air conditioning and the option of an attached bathroom with both hot and cold water capabilities. Each floor also has adjoining fully furnished dining and living areas for relaxing nights in front of the television. We also provide a free wireless Internet connection for easy access to the web. We are located to the north of the Colombo CBD and conveniently situated off the Colombo-Negombo main road. We are only a short fifteen minute drive from the Bandaranayake international airport, with the beautiful Sri Lankan coastline also only a short ten minute trip away.10% service charge will be added. No additional taxes. Breakfast included to the Room charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Blue Gum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing