We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value and great host.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Fonse Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
De Fonse Place
Ranked #58 of 128 Colombo B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value and great host.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We spend two nights here at the end of 6weeks in Colombo.

The location is good - 20minutes in a tuk tuk from the fort area. The neighbourhood is nice and it was fairly easy to find once we had our bearings.

The owner make you feel very comfortable in their home and look after you very well which was great.

The rooms were large and comfortable.

I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkemp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    15
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
22
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Having just landed in Sri Lanka, we enjoyed a warm welcome at this guesthouse and a calm, quiet, but central, location to begin our exploration of Colombo from. Ianthe had some great tips, was very helpful, and was even kind enough to send back a portable speaker I had forgotten there. A great place to stay if you want a personal welcome and a pleasant yet still well-located place to explore Colombo from.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I spend a week at de fonse place andi simply loved it. Iantha and her family gave me a very warm welcome. The place is very suitable to explore the city and the house is amazing. All together I had a very very good time. Thanks for all my dears, will definatelycome come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiamachturlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portimao, Portugal
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

My experience here was absolutely perfect. The room was beautiful and the staff was very nice and helpful. I couldn't ahve asked for any better. Our room was very clean and quiet. I will definately come back here and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is a charming old house in upper middle class neighbourhood of Havelock, designed by Geoffrey Bawa, with a nice rustic appeal. This place is ideally located in a central part of Colombo, making it an ideal base for exploring the city.

You can expect free wifi as part of your stay. however, wifi is only useful downstairs, as the signal was weak upstairs. There is a nice enclosed garden with three tortoises wandering around and are quite amusing to watch whilst having breakfast. there are plenty of seats in the lounge areas and in the outdoor area. Guests are also invited to enjoy the bottled water in the kitchen during the stay. They have servants who take care of your breakfast needs, clean your room and greet you when you return from your outings.

Rooms are large. I had a twin room upstairs which had a large ensuite bathroom. It was only a fan cooled room, which didn't help during the hot nights. So if you don't handle heat well, I suggest asking for an air conditioned room. Beds were comfortable enough.

Location is prime. Whilst being in the heart of the city, with shops all around you and eateries on Galle Road, the house is in a quiet street. Expect to pay 100Rs to get to Colombo 02 and around 350 to Fort by tuk tuk. You can walk it to Cinnamon Gardens or Colombo 03 in 15minutes.

Overall, the house was a pleasant experience. It gave a nice feeling of being home, with the friendly, hospitable and informative family there to add that extra touch. Paid 4,500 Rs per night, which was a little steep for a fan cooled room, but I suppose staying in a Bawa designed house is what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

A beautiful home - built by the popular Sri Lankan architect Geoffery Bawa - the De Fonse guest-house made for the perfect backdrop to my Colombo adventure. The room was clean, airy with a large tub (which i love!), there was a lovely courtyard where I had breakfast - but more than breakfast (toast and eggs) was the company. The Wijewardene family have lived in this house for three generations so they know and love Sri Lanka thoroughly - and this passion was captivating - I found myself immersed in unique and detailed suggestions on where-to-go, what-to-do and most importantly what-to-eat. From a chaat store in Colombo to a beach hideaway in Tangalle, this family had any guidebook I could get my hands on beat!

But my favourite part? The little brown mutt Evie and her boyfriend Lucky. Adorable!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a tub because after a day of their rigorous itinerary - you could use a good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brownbummed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Unfortunately our booking here was not taken up. Two weeks before flying from RSA we were advised that our room was required by a visiting relative from Oz. We should perhaps not have so readily accepted the offer of a placement with a 'cousin' as it then became impossible to check the room arrangement in the proffered accommodation (no net details). While the house owner was friendly, the set up afforded us little privacy, the room was dark and stuffy and all the cupboard space was full of 'stuff'. Based on our experience elsewhere so far, the breakfast offered was stingy. Rate was $45 including wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leopard-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.0 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#4 of 119 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Fonse Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Fonse Place

Property: De Fonse Place
Address: 29 de Fonseka Place | Havelock Town, Colombo 5, Sri Lanka (Formerly De Fonseka Place Guest House)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Colombo, the de Fonseka Place, Guest House offers you comfortable accommodation in beautiful surroundings. With open spaces, and teak finished interiors designed by Sri Lanka’s premier architect, Geoffrey Bawa, the house is airy and tastefully furnished. The open clay tiled patio at the back leads into a well maintained lawn, a lovely area to sit out in. Birds and squirrels frequent the garden and we also have three resident star tortoises. The bed rooms are airy and comfortable. For those who need to keep up with the news of the rest of the world there is free use of wi fi throughout the house and cable TV in the living room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing