We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our stay in Colombo nice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
YWCA International Guest House
Ranked #17 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Colombo
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

A nice oasis in the caotic and disappointing Colombo. The owner is very nice and helped us to find a car when we needed. Our room was big and very clean. The place itself is characteristic (being a colonial house) and quite, despite the central position in Colombo. So, even if it might not be the cheapest gh ever, it could be worth if you want to start (or finish) your trip in sri lanka in a pleasent and comfy way.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank mICHELA v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for YWCA International Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lots of character and good location but a very basic night's accomodation.
Good mosquito nets provided and just as well as there are quite a few around! Basic breakfast.
Rooms are large and have high ceilings although a bit spartan in comfort.
Cheap and cheerful but don't stay here for your honeymoon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank voyageurs197371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This place is a gem! An old Dutch house a little faded and jaded yes and the nice tree area does turn into a car park but... The rooms are cavernous air conditioned or fan the common area is huge and the verandah fantastic sitting in your plantation chair watching the world go by. There is a cheaper not advertised back packer option also fan cooled twin room at 3000r bed and breakfast. The breakfast is standard tea toast and egg and appears to included with any room. It's next to the cinnamon gardens area so it's walkable to many things and a short meter taxi to anywhere. The service was very attentive and travel advice was good. The lady that runs it is very sweet. I am going back there so that's the best recommendation I can give.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
7  Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I think this is a rigth place to stay in colombo,we found it on the guide book,we wanted to check it first but as soon as we saw it ,we decided to stay,it is in the center of colombo close to shoping area,I recomend this place to stay in colombo also manager is very helpful,

Room Tip: any room is good
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nomad4838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Staying here doesn't feel like you're in the middle of a city like Colombo. Very good location, reasonable price for (even dorm beds in hostels are quite expensive here). Beautiful, old dutch colonial architecture, extremely spacious. We had a four bed room (much too big for us), clean showers and very comfortable overall. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We went to other YWCA by mistake....but on arriving here to a very warm welcome we were very happy. Rooms are basic( we had small one w/o a mosquito net). Traffic noise up until 10pm. Beautiful porch area and communal area- stunning building. Nice breakfast. Very efficient and warm management and staff. We will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The rooms are clean and well kept but basic. All the AC rooms are in the main dining hall area so privacy could be an issue.

We chose to stay in Room No. 9 which is non AC and situated to the left of the main dining hall, looking at the main structure.

The place is very expansive and the grounds also add to a sense of openness which is quite a treat considering you are in the heart of the city.

The Fort Railway station is about 10 minutes away by tuk tuk and Galle Sea Face Green, ODELL and the coastal road are all quite close.
Overall a very nice and comfortable stay and a good budget option.

Room Tip: 1) Mosquitoes can be an issue so carry repellants or mosquito coils. (It is also provided by the hot...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasonrebello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.5 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
2.5 mi away
Sunrise Boutique
Sunrise Boutique
#27 of 54 in Colombo
37 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 54 in Colombo
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#37 of 54 in Colombo
81 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#4 of 150 in Colombo
396 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parisare
Parisare
#64 of 151 in Colombo
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA International Guest House

Address: 393 Colvin R. De SIlva Mw, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Colombo
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing