We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best spread in Colombo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taprobane

Taprobane
Ranked #29 of 555 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Sri Lankan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
181 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The best spread in Colombo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This i believe is the best spread of food in a buffet in Colombo. Reasonably priced as well. food was excellent and taste really great, many cuisines to select from.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirmal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    87
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Discovered by accident, so glad we decided to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Two nights ago we were planning on eating Indian food at the Cinnamon Grand hotel. They could not accommodate us, so we ate at Taprobane instead. They tried their best to squeeze in our party of 7. In spite of a tight fit, they were so lovely and apologetic, even though we didn't think to make a reservation because it was a Sunday.
The starters were really good however the use of mayo was over the top, therefore not very healthy, although the pasta salad was quite tasty. The mains were wide and varied. Not a whole lot for vegetarians, yet as a pescatarian the blackened tuna was lovely although I could have done without that much butter, the potatoes too.

Desserts were fabulous - pastry chef had made the most delicious concoctions ever. Sri Lankan desserts are amazing and on par with the French.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shamz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great service... Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I went to taprobane for a dinner during last year with my wife. Nice calm place.... service was very friendly. Food was great.. with wide variation... enjoyed a lot.

Helpful?
Thank Prabath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impeccable dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Visited dis place so many times before !! Came here by a mistake !! Went 2 play pool with cousin but unfortunately the pool was occupied ! Therefore decided to eat dinner !! Therefore we tired out taprobane !! Mind you wearing shorts is a no no for dinner !! Food was amazing as usually but my cousin complain that some of the varieties were overcooked !! Anyway they always manage to keep me coming back !!

Helpful?
Thank Chamath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The best international buffet in SL.... :) great variety.... good food.... relaxing atmosphere..... well worth a visit....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank savi_4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taprobane also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Taprobane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing