We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to hide from city stress”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colombo Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colombo Courtyard
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to hide from city stress”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the last two nights of our trip and it was a little breath of fresh air. The suite was big, clean, had two nice big screen tv, awesome bathroom with a tub that could fit a family of six. The best part was the 24 hour room service. We ordered so much food! And it was good and came to the room within 30 min after placing the order.

The pool was awesome. Deeper than it looked and the courtyard space around it was just great for eating, having cocktails or beers and sunbathing with regular dips in the pool. You are in a private little zone of relaxation while you can hear the honks and bustling of the busy street on the other side of the wall.
I would definitely come here again.
The VERY negative part would be NO mosquito nets! And there were many blood suckers that ate me alive.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Gnosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We are really delighted that you appreciated so much your experience at Colombo Courtyard.

Thank you for pointing out your experience with Room Service. Our F & B Team was so pleased to hear that you found their service exceptional, and that everything that you ordered was spot on. We always consider that consistency is of utmost importance.

Also we are glad you liked your accommodation, our guest amenities and enjoyed your experience at the poolside.

Whilst it is heartening to note that overall you had a nice stay, we regret that you were disturbed by the mosquitoes. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience encountered. In the meantime we would like to assure you that the management has taken note of your comment and in the process of taking measures to prevent repetition.

We are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Sri Lanka. Until Such time warm regards from all of us.

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    265
    71
    20
    16
See reviews for
89
326
45
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a 2 week trip in Sri Lanka. We really enjoyed our stay. We had booked a deluxe room and it was amazing. Huge - with its own sitting area, desk with iMac and a courtyard. The bathroom was massive with one of the biggest bath tubs I've ever seen. We enjoyed the rooftop bar and liked the location, although it is not in the centre of town, it is close to several lovely restaurants and shops including Barefoot and Paradise Road. The staff were very attentive and helpful, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review of Colombo Courtyard and we are very pleased that you have loved the concept of our unique and beautiful hotel.

It gives us great pride to know that we have been able to give you a memorable and enjoyable stay whilst with us and you found both the service and the surroundings perfect. Thank you so much for your many wonderful comments.

Your praise about all the facilities you experienced is a great reward for us. Rest assured that we will share it with the entire Hotel’s staff that contributed in making your stay a seamless one.

We look forward to the day when we will see you again.

Until such time warm regards from the Colombo Courtyard team.

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We booked the Courtyard for our first nights stay. We were very happy with our stay. The place is beautifully decorated and the bathroom is amazing. Both enjoyed our shower facilites especially after a long flight. The water was nice and hot and very relaxing.
We enjoyed a night out in colombo, very friendly and helpful staff who called a Tuk Tuk for me and explained to the driver where I needed to go. Upon our return in the early hours of the morning we were greeted by the smiling staff which made us feel safe and welcomed again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neera1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Chief Executive officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We appreciate the precious time you so kindly took to share your recent guest experience on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that your overall stay was of very high standing. Many thanks for the kind sentiments expressed regarding the deco of the hotel, facilities and service.

Your feedback for our staff at Colombo courtyard is of utmost importance, and we could not be happier to know that you had an unforgettable stay.

Kindly rest assured that we have shared your kind words with all of the team, with a particular attention to Front office associates who went out of their way to ensure you had an exceptional experience
Looking forward to welcoming you back amongst us in the not too distant future.


Until such time warm regards from the Colombo Courtyard team.

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This little hidden gem is a beauty. Small but quirky. Simple but elegant. Not the biggest pool and it doesn't have many child friendly activities so it wouldn't go with young children. . However it does have a pool and a spa so the adults can have there fun. The hotel is situated in the heart of the city however no rikshaw driver knew where the hotel was and needed directions. Before leaving, I would get clear directions for where the hotel os situated. Opposite the hotel they have a sport bar which has a great atmosphere and is great for watching football/cricket. There is also a beautiful restaurant; amazing meals. Even better desert. Brilliant service. These places are both walking distance.

The hotel is overall an enchanting small place with the basics on the hotel. Ensure to ask for a room away from the main road as it can be noisey! And the service is full of friendly staff but at times the service can be slow and show signs of incompetence!! However there are a few members of staff such as reading: known as red- an absolute star and asset to the hotel.

Overall a great stay. And would return. Rated as average but would be classed as very good with a few tiny changes!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jayni23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Chief Executive officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for choosing Colombo Courtyard for your stay in Sri Lanka, and for your kind feedback.

We are glad you had a good stay and thank you for your words of praise on our service and location.

We are concerned with your comments regarding the activities and facilities for the younger guests.Thank you for bringing to our attention, areas that we need to look into.

It is a pleasure to note that you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip, to indulge in more of our facilities and hospitality.

Until such time warm regards from all of us at Colombo Courtyard.

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great hotel, would recommend the room we had (204) apart from the leaky shower but a small issue really and the bath tub was huge! Wonderful staff who were more than happy to help us settle on our first night in the country; would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room 204 was a good choice, away from a lot of the common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Chief Executive officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for being our valued guest and for your generous review of the Colombo Courtyard.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your words of praise on our attentive staff. They certainly work very hard to ensure the comfort of all our valued guests.

We have also taken note of your comments regarding the water leak in the bathroom, which has been attended to as a matter of utmost priority, and already rectified. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to this issue.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again, for a longer stay, in the not too distant future.
Until such time warm regards from all of us at Colombo Courtyard.
Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Whilst writing this review we are still in Sri Lanka, just couldn't wait to put a review up for the courtyard. We landed on Friday last week @ 4am for my best friends wedding. We decided to book the courtyard hotel. This was the best thing we did! We paid an extra $ 60 for an early check in, this was so simple! Then we went to our room to get some rest. The room we had was nice clean and very well designed. Every time we went past a member of the courtyard team we where greeted with huge smile and a hello. This made feel very welcome. The cloud bar and loft bar where both very nice. We enjoyed our dinner on the roof top bar. It was handy being in a main road as getting a tuk tuk was easy. The road is busy however we found that after 10:30 pm the beeping of traffic stopped, and would start again at 8:30am. Don't let this out you off as the beeping is a great alarm. I would recommend this hotel to friends. I do look forward to going back. Keep yo the good work courtyard...... :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilyadav08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
It was truly a pleasure for my Team and I to read such a detailed and exemplary feedback on your stay with us. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience - thank you so very much.

You were very generous with your comments, and we are very much appreciative that you found the overall staff to be friendly and very service oriented. Kindly rest assured that we will share your praise with all the team.

Your words of praise are truly an encouragement to us and we will certainly continue in our endeavor to provide the best possible experience to all our valued guests.

Whilst thanking you for your very high recommendation, we look forward to welcome you back, to yet another memorable stay with us.

Until such time warm regards from all of us at Colombo Courtyard.
Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the colombo courtyard for one night at the end of a two week visit to Sri Lanka. The hotel is well decorated, the staff were excellent but it is let down by a number of issues which detracted from our stay. Avoid room 306 at all costs!!! It is right below the kitchen/bar and there is no soundproofing. This meant you could hear the band playing above until 11pm and then the kitchen cleaning up after. We requested a move which was promptly arranged but there is no way anyone could sleep comfortably in that room with the level of background noise. Also small details let the hotel down, the jacuzzi was lukewarm with a weak non adjustable bubble-stream, the towel rack in the bathroom fell off in my hands, the shower leaked all over the bathroom and the paintwork seemed unfinished. With a little effort this could be a great hotel but sadly it doesn't live up to its 5 star ambitions.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Colombo Courtyard and we appreciate your words of praise on our staff.
However, we regret to hear about your disappointment about the disturbance from the noise and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you faced during your stay with us.
We have taken your comments as constructive feedback and we assure you that the management is in the process of making a sound proofing plan for each room to resolve the issue and are glad to mention that we have been making progress on the same.
We also thank you for bringing to our attention the other issues you faced; we will certainly take necessary corrective action regarding them.
You are very important to us, and as such we will work towards making sure your next visit will be most peaceful and relaxing.
We hope your future travels will bring you back to Colombo and we look forward to welcoming you again. Until such time warm regards from all of us at Colombo Courtyard.
Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 50 in Colombo
1,649 reviews
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 50 in Colombo
1,213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.3 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 50 in Colombo
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Courtyard

Property: Colombo Courtyard
Address: 32 Alfred House Ave, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colombo Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the city, Colombo Courtyard is an urban boutique hotel that perfectly captures a fusion of contemporary style with intrinsic elements of environmental design. The hotel offers a choice of 15 suites & 17 rooms complete with all modern features, 3 dining areas - Scarlet Room & Cloud Cafe, Loft Lounge Bar, a Library, Jacuzzi and Plunge Pool and even a corporate Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colombo Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing