We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I liked the price and the location.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nippon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nippon
Ranked #59 of 130 Colombo B&B and Inns
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
169 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“I liked the price and the location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

I visited colombo for 5times.
Now 3 years ago tax changed and almost all reasonably priced hotel changed prices up more than double.
But funny enough this hotel did not change the price that much.
Caz all other hotels added little bit renovation and tried to make bigger money.
This honest and lazy hotel remained cheap and dirty ,aha aha.
So this is one of the cheapest so called hotel in Colombo SriLanka.
if you fo to the countryside, you can find clean and cheap hotels everywhere in SriLanka.

But this hotel is a grate saver for me.
With aircon this price is really good!
( Note this hotel also has fan room with even cheaper price too if you like.)

Room Tip: besides with or without aircon,,there are 2 type of rooms( little better room than just old little d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maguder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
4
10
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oita, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We used Hotel Nippon on the last day in Colombo in order to take a rest before going to the airport for a midnight flight. Since Galle Face Hotel did not allow us late check-out, we moved to Hotel Nippon at 10 AM and checked out at 9 PM. Although we paid for one full night, 3,600 Rs, it was a good deal for us because we could take hot shower and sleep for several hours.
People at the reception were friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in the daytime, avoid a room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsutomu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the corporate suites. It was huge, and very well appointed. There was a slight mix up with our rooms when we arrived at around 2.00 am, however this was handled very well by the hotel - always a test of a good hotel. The rooms are eclectic in their design but with a great attention to detail and a lot of style. I would generally class the feel of the hotel as on the chic side of shabby chic. The rooms don't have a view (at least the two that we had didn't) and the windows that do face outside are either frosted or coloured glass, with the result that the room is very inward feeling. Not necessarily a bad thing, given how beautiful the rooms are, but it might not suit everyone. The beds are huge and extremely comfortable. The pool is lovely partly because of a large tree around which it is built, however it is also rather cool (blame the tree I'm thinking). The service was very good. The manager, Willem, was great, as was our butler Arrun - both excellent. The hotel is off a busy road, but is quiet and peaceful. The breakfast is very good, as was dinner on the one night that we ate at the hotel (and very reasonably priced). Overall we thought that the hotel was good value for money and a fun place to stay. Minor quibbles: the room lighting is too dim, and there are some areas where the building maintenance could be improved. All in all a highly recommended hotel and we would stay there again if we come back to Colombo. BTW we had also considered Tintagel as a possible hotel, and are very pleased that we didn't stay there - we visited for lunch one day and there was no one in the restaurant and although it is an extremely beautiful building it would not appeal to those who like a little more activity in and around the hotel or who like a little more of the local Sri Lankan feel.
Room Tip: We chose room 4, because the bath is not in the bedroom but in a bathroom. It was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rowansSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Large room/aircon/flat screen TV satellite many channels/fan/big bathroom/if this is the standard of budget hotels in Sri Lanka they can forget enticing the backpackers and budget travelers/bath room dirty /no hot water/room needed a good clean and airing to get rid of the stale cigarette smell/believe it or not this hotel did not even have internet for its own use .Could not recommend this hotel But in the right hands could be Colombo’s new backpacker central even a bar attached to the hotel we won’t be back till then or may be a cheap overnighter in Colombo

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 29OAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
451 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

The hotel nippon is a good choice if you want to see the old influence the colonials had on the country. The rooms are spacious, however smelly. The room we had was extremely dark and good for a long sleep as it is kind of like a dungeon. There isnt any outside noise at all and the bathroom is good. As it is festive season prices were up but overall a good place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottplume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljustero, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

This hotel, which has a good location, is a pretty good stay for the money, but is a mix between a charming oldfashioned relict and a low hygiene standard backpacker stay. Its probably not to reccomend for unexperienced travellers, but for people who has stayed on hotels in Asia since the sixties and secenties, this place is a place you want to stay, just in order to support it, and see to that it doesnt disappear. Forget about WIFI.

Room Tip: Check that the windows has insect nets, so you can open them in the night, in case you are not a fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKoehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

If you need a cheap, well located bed for a night in Colombo - this is a good bet. If you are looking for a nice stay (for more than a day or two), I can't recommend it.

The hotel is very old, sad, crumbling, worn down and unloved, and I can believe all of the reports of dirty walls, cockroaches and smoke smells.

That said, it is a 20 minute walk from Fort, very affordable (3600/= for a double with A/C), and the staff are friendly and efficient. As with most things in life, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2OLEGEND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#38 of 52 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#16 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Colombo
Ramada Colombo
#21 of 52 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
City Beds The Regent
City Beds The Regent
#3 of 130 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.9 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#4 of 130 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colombo City Hotel
Colombo City Hotel
#55 of 130 in Colombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nippon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nippon

Property: Hotel Nippon
Address: 123 Kumaran Ratnam Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nippon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nippon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing