We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax at River View Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of River View Inn

River View Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River View Inn
Ranked #66 of 134 Colombo B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Relax at River View Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I visited River View Inn in March this year and found it an ideal place to relax, unwind, meditate in the beautiful shady and most colourful garden, where the fruit trees were laden and the flowers absolutely magnificent. For anyone wanting to get away from the noise of the city life this is the ideal spot. It is also close to the city of Colombo as well as the new Parliament and has access to lots of restaurants, cafes and shops. The hostess was extremely helpful with tips on transport availability and tours, etc.

I highly recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet, clean and comfortable place to base oneself while taking time to tour other areas of Colombo.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marlo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My first visit to Colombo was enjoyed at River View Inn. After the hustle and bustle of the city it was a pleasure to relax at this comfortable and homely place. The morning walk in the back garden was always a great start before a fantastic breakfast prepared by our wonderful hosts. The spascious bedroom was comfortable and clean. The hosts were very helpful with organising transport and activities and their great hospitality and attentive service were certainly the highlights of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I came to river view inn the first time 10 years ago through a friend. I absolutely loved the place, the warm hospitality and most of all the wonderful hosts. Over time i have kept up with them and thoroughly enjoy coming down each year to add to the memories that are already a treasure! The single bedroom i normally occupy is comfortable, clean and has a nice little balcony that over looks trees and greenery outside. The hosts are friendly and flexible and happy to churn up a delicious Sri Lankan meal on request. The garden of River View inn is a little escape into a tropical galore full of orchids, mango and clove trees and other unusual plants. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a taste of the local and at very good rates!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zeenathkhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I have stayed at River View Inn many times and enjoy being away from the 'hustle and bustle' of the city. It is located at the end of a street by the Diyawanna river, which brings in cool breezes and lovely sounds of the many varieties of local birds. The garden is absolutely beautiful and relaxing in the shade of the verandah, sipping tea or drinking coconut water was marvelous. The facility has the charm of an old Spanish type house and the owner and assistants are always available to help you with arranging tours etc. I would recommend this B&B to anyone seeking a place to relax and 'unwind'. I have stayed here many times before October 2011.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I always like to come back to this lovely home in Colombo. The owners are fantastic hosts, friendly but discreet and full of attentions. They certainly know how to spoil you with excellent local-cuisine meals prepared just for you. The rooms are spacious and though this is not a new house its charm is unquestionable. You do not feel like a customer, there is a real sense of family here and it just feels like home. The owners are locals and they are always happy to share their knowledge about things to see and do in or around Colombo. They can organise tours and transport to the city and surrounding areas. But if you simply want to relax there is no place better than the lovely garden or anything more pleasurable than sipping your drink on a comfortable chair under the portico. I came here the first time more than ten years ago and I have returned many times ever since. One thing is for sure, I will be back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinzia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.0 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.0 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Inn

Property: River View Inn
Address: 206/7 Kamathawatta Road, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a home-stay business where guests can experience the warm hospitality of a true Sri Lankan home. The home-stay is registered with the Tourist Board and the owners/staff have a long time experience looking after guests. Continental breakfast is served on request. Home-made meals (local cuisine) can be prepared if desired and guests can relax in our lovely garden. Transport to Colombo and surroundings can be organized anytime upon request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing