We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stay”
Review of Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #32 of 134 Colombo B&B and Inns
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for short stay”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Under budget hotel, this one tops the list. I was a bit reluctant to book this hotel but since it was on a sudden note and no other hotel was available, took it and thank god I did so. It deserves more than 3* stars. Convenient and reasonable be it rooms, staff or food everything was up to my expectations. Breakfast was served at second floor- crowded at peak hours with adjacent bar. Wi-fi was complimentary with descent speed. No problems faced from staff side as well. Room service was timely and they even changed the towels regularly even if unsused. Altogether it was a nice experience but being a budget hotel, don’t expect too many luxuries or comfort here. Good for short stay though.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank jayden64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    91
    59
    16
    8
See reviews for
12
106
34
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I spent half of a night and one morning at this hotel as a transit. Nothing bad to say not a luxury or leisure hotel obviously- everything was as explained by other reviewers: it is conveniently located nearby the old fort of Colombo and Pettah area. The surroundings are not great but nothing bad or dangerous. There was a bad smell in my room when I came but the room itself was incredibly comfortable and clean - not a single sign of dust. The bad smell coming probably from bad plumbing system in this district it went away after we opened the AC. The rest of the hotel is clean and good enough. The interior patio is quite pleasant for breakfasts and it is very quiet. Staff was very helpful in helping me organizing my itinerary. Breakfast was ok. I had requested a driver to pick me up at the airport and he was there right on time. Considering the price, i I would recommend it for its efficient and good service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertoldV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Not much far from Ford railway station, in fact very close to mardana , so location wise its good... it was decently clean and i find no issues staying there ... they accept the card , and the staff and manger there are fan of Indian crickets as well , specially Virat Kohli :) ... overall value hotel and recommended to stay ..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Shalimar is a nice enough place to stay. I paid roughly 40 USD per night for what was quite a large room, complete with air conditioning (though the units are a bit loud, as others have mentioned) and working hot water (a bonus given some of the other places I stayed in Sri Lanka).

Note that you have to ask if you want your room cleaned, and new bottles of water. They were happy to do it when I asked (and didn't charge me) but wouldn't have done it otherwise. WIfi was available but seemed a bit intermittent some days.

The hotel provided an airport pick up for about 25 USD, which was great given I didn't clear customs etc until 1 AM.

I though the location is quite good - it's in an industrial area by Maradana Station. It's about 20 minutes walk to the Fort Station, and about 35-40 minutes walk to the Cinnamon Grand Hotel and Crescat Mall. A tuk-tuk to either should be about 250-400 Rupees.

Hotel restaurant was a bit average, but the staff there tried very hard. As others have mentioned, reception staff could be a bit more smiley, but they were always happy to help when I asked questions.

Would recommend if you want somewhere cheap, but clean, in Colombo.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bad-Jelly-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Shalimar is a great budget hotel, very clean and has good facilities. The only downside is that the staff needed some training in customer service. No-one looked like they wanted to be there but if you can look past that its great for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKelly186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel as seemed good value for an a/c room in Colombo. We had an airport pick up which was good and cost 20 dollars, we arrived early in the morning and our room was available which was good. The room was average, quite clean, ok bathroom. Very loud air conditioning unit and generally a lot of noise both from the road and inside the hotel (building works). The room wasn't cleaned during our stay. Wifi was available in the communal areas but these were not areas you would want to sit in!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAA988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel looks like an ordinary hotel but its value for money. I went for my honeymoon in sept 2012 and we stayed 3 nights at Shalimar hotel. when we arrived late at night we had no option to go out as the hotel management warned us that its not safe for foreigners to step out late at night. We ordered from the hotel and food was not delicious at all though apart from that. Room service was great and Staff was very friendly.
highly recommended if you plan to stay all day out and come back to the hotel for a good sleep.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIZALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 mi away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#36 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.4 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#6 of 134 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Beds The Regent
City Beds The Regent
#3 of 134 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Colombo City Hostel
Colombo City Hostel
#4 of 132 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.1 mi away
Colpetty House
Colpetty House
#46 of 134 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.3 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 134 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Hotel

Property: Shalimar Hotel
Address: 46, Panchikawatte Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shalimar Holidays)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing