We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel.”
Review of Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #35 of 139 Colombo B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent hotel.”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed in Hotel Shalimar for one night when we arrived in Colombo. The hotel is clean, big and the staff are generally friendly.
The room we stayed in was large and had a large bathroom with good shower.
Location wise you are quite close to the centre and can get a Tuk Yuk to most places for about 100-200 Rupees. (Always haggle)
The Beer was cheap and good! Breakfast was ok.
For one night this was perfect and we headed down to Hikkaduwa the next day on the train.


Colombo as a place is alright but to be honest I wouldn't go back. Head to the beaches or Kandy for an adventure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesashleysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    91
    60
    16
    9
See reviews for
13
106
35
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We only stayed at this hotel for a night, but it was very clean and had everything we needed, including an extremely comfy bed, and very large room and nice shower. It's very close to the train station, which is exactly what we were after for our early morning train to Hikkaduwa. The food was fine as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at the Shalimar twice during our holiday in Sri Lanka. In January (two different rooms) and later in February (another room) at the end of our trip. All rooms were quite nice with the last one - 2nd Floor facing the street - probably the nicest with traffic noise not being a problem for us. Air-con worked fine in each room, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is very nice. The Hotel is on a busy road with a lot of vehicle parts places nearby but the Pettah Markets, Fort & Galle Face Green are all within a 300 rupee Tuk Tuk ride away. There is a Bar (although we didn't try it). We did enjoy the local beers and the Arrack liquor is nice too - give it a try with Soda.

As our flights got in and left very early in the morning we had the Hotel pick us up for $26.00 AUD - very nice late model car and having this done (although arguably expensive) certainly saved us a long late night Taxi ride (the Airport is 30 klm or so from Colombo. We recommend this Hotel - it's a good 'un for the money.

Room Tip: Each room we had were fine. The Manager warned us that the street facing rooms were noisier than oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floppyboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The location was O.K. and the price was reasonable.
i suggest you ask for rooms that do not face the main road. The owner is fair and nice, food is good and food pice is cheap. It was an overall good experience.

Room Tip: see in my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasminarbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a very nice room with all what you might need (warm water, AC, fridge etc.)
The hotel staff was very kind and supportive.
It is better to avoid ordering beef in the restaurant, the staff try to explain You a beef meal is OK even if you can't cut it with your knife. And they consider to be OK to charge for such a meal...

Room Tip: There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pali13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel that gives colonial feeling. Comfortable rooms with AC, helpful staff. Hotel is a bit our of the center with not many dinning options around however food in restaurant is reasonable priced and tasty or you can take a tuk tuk for 100-150 rupees to central area. Good for a budget traveller

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viacheslav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is 60 years old as told to me by someone. But the upkeep of the hotel is excellent and probably they have renovated it. Good thing its in the center of the city and all the places of interest are close by including food joints. Though hotel also inhouse a restaurant.
Service is good and prompt.

Only cons is. I found little smell in my room but anyways that was manageable .
Rates are reasonable.
It a good no frills hotel in the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankur007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.6 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#20 of 52 in Colombo
284 reviews
1.4 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 139 in Colombo
353 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Beds The Regent
City Beds The Regent
#3 of 139 in Colombo
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#28 of 139 in Colombo
30 reviews
4.3 mi away
Silvikris Villas
Silvikris Villas
#33 of 139 in Colombo
88 reviews
6.6 mi away
Villa 63
Villa 63
#18 of 139 in Colombo
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Hotel

Property: Shalimar Hotel
Address: 46, Panchikawatte Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shalimar Holidays)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing