We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real surprise”
Review of Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #51 of 156 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed at the Shalimar for 2 nights when we went to the Sri Lanka v South Africa cricket match and what a great find. The hotel is a short tuk-tuk ride from the train station and handy for the Premadasa stadium. The room were large, clean and comfortable. A fridge was a welcome addition, the tv had cable channels and the air con was very quiet. But the best thing about this hotel has to be the food. It was absolutely delicious and really cheap. The drinks in the bar were also very resonable and the staff very friendly. If you a looking for a resonably priced, convenient hotel with good food, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heathermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

It's an old, classic sort of hotel..we got good price for this. Large clean room. TV and minibar provided. Very helpful staffs.

Nice dining and selection of menus available for guests.

No complaints so far.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

After a tiring dangerous ride in a public bus or long train ride, ask the tuk-tuk driver to bring you to Shalimar Hotel just 2km from the bus/train station. Bathroom is newly renovated & clean. Aircon in room is cold. King size bed is neat & tidy. Many channels on TV. Food is cheap & delicious. The dining area is warm, cozy & homely. This hotel is much better than all the other hotels we stayed in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the aircon room, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeza1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place isn't the cheapest, but the personnel was very friendly and helpful, the room nice and clean, and the food was good. We tried to go out for a walk in the evening and maybe go out for food or a drink, but the area wasn't suitable for that, but otherwise it was good location wise (e.g., relatively close to the railway station).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrederiekeVan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The staff were very helpful, going out of their way to print out our boarding passes for our international flight (the hotel printer could not print the pdf so the staff went offsite and delivered it to our room). They organised a shuttle to the airport in the middle of the night, made sure we woke up and helped us with baggage.
We had stayed at the Clock Inn when we arrived in Colombo three weeks earlier and left the Shalimar wishing we had stayed with them on our first three days in Sri Lanka.
It is not in the most salubrious area. Although close to many of the sights by tuk tuk, walking around the area is not a huge delight and, indeed, it may even be near a red light area, but there was no real dodgy vibe and this is just a hunch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the street as they are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikkeli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were pleased with the size of the room. The air con didn't work the first day but was fixed by the next night. Recommend for a quick stopover in Colombo. Staff were friendly. Good price for beer in bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Got a non-ac room for $2500/night which was a bargain considering the hotel was located right next to a train station and close to bazaars and Galle Fort. Staff were welcoming and extremely friendly. Rooms and shower/toilet facilities were clean and well taken care of. Would definitely recommend a stay at this fine establishment.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Aashvin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#19 of 55 in Colombo
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 55 in Colombo
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
1.5 mi away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#27 of 156 in Colombo
35 reviews
1.4 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 156 in Colombo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Hotel

Address: 46, Panchikawatte Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shalimar Holidays)
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: £26 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing