We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zylan Luxury Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zylan Luxury Villa
Ranked #17 of 134 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Awesome!
Very simple, nice Asian design (in the rooms and in the rest of the hotel), great staff (they helped us with everything we asked like translation with our driver, ordering a taxi in a very professional way). It is a calm place in a hectic city. We were afraid of the difference between Colombo (noisy) and the rest of the country (very peaceful) but Zylan is a great transition.
Nothing else to say!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    52
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
76
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I would say it’s a gorgeous place. The decoration is simple and cozy; it’s a mixture of Chinese and Western style. Staffs there are very friendly and willing to help. Food is delicious. Everything is clean and tidy. It is nice sitting at the roof beside the swimming pool and look into the Colombo sky with soft wind. Thank you very much Zylan Hotel. I had a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed in Zylan for my first days in Colombo whilst working at the nearby National Hospital. Helen and all the staff are very accommodating, and provide a very personal service. Zylan is a warm and peaceful oasis in the sheltered Rosmead place, away from much of Colombo's hustle and bustle. I will certainly be booking in for future visits.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wgshute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Our friends recommended this place to us. We weren't disappointed.

Lovely rooms, helpful staff, and great location for wandering around Columbo.

Top tip - have the Sri Lankan curry breakfast BUT remember to order it in advance! Otherwise the croissant, fruit and omelette were delicious.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAmershanReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Small, lovely boutique style hotel. Very Zen :-) Breakfast is fine, our dinner experience was not so great. Food is ok, but waiting time was exceptionally long. Small but nice pool area on roof top. Staff is very friendly and willing to help. The hotel is based in an area with lots of embassies in nice colonial villas. Enough nice restaurants only a tuktuk drive away. We enjoyed the food court in the old Dutch hospital.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantalver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Set in a quieter area of Colombo, the artwork, style comfort and excellent staff who arranged whatever you wanted. We felt like we were the only guests in the place, even when all rooms were full.
Swimming pool on the roof gives an overview of local area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed at Zylan for 2 nights with my spouse in Feb 2013, the first night in the Executive Suite & next night in the Deluxe. If you plan to stay here, pick the executive suite. We loved it! It's beautiful, spacious, has a luxurious bathroom and you will truly feel relaxed & pampered.

However, after staying in this suite, we found the deluxe suite to be too smallish. We were a little disappointed with this room. Though the room was clean as such, i found a hair on the bed! We were out the whole day & they had 6 hours to clean the room! Also, the paint was chipping off from the fan from the ceiling & falling on the bed. When we informed the manager, he said he's send someone but no one came! We dusted it off & went to sleep.

Coming to food, We stated our preference the previous night & I asked them to slightly customize the Sri Lankan Breakfast to my taste, which they did. And boy, it was really good! However, breakfast on the second day was totally disappointing! It was cold & unappetizing.

The person at the front Desk/manager, Harsha, was quite helpful in arranging a tuk tuk for us & recommending places & restaurants.

We highly recommend staying here. The villa has a relaxing feel with modern & minimalist decor and we had a very comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Take the Executive Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeti_sri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.1 mi away
Casa Colombo
Casa Colombo
#14 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zylan Luxury Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zylan Luxury Villa

Property: Zylan Luxury Villa
Address: 115 Rosmead Place | Colombo 7, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zylan Luxury Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zylan Luxury Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing