We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you can cope with dogs barking all night”
Review of Zylan Luxury Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zylan Luxury Villa
Ranked #20 of 136 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place if you can cope with dogs barking all night”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I had a one night stay here on a transit stop. We were exhausted when we arrived in the morning. The staff were lovely and made up our room and gave us an early check in. We were able to get some sleep during the day. However due to our jet lag and the constant barking of the neighbours dogs we were deprived of a good night sleep. We were in the premium room up stairs and at times it felt as if the dogs were in our room! I would recommend a room away from the neighbour with dogs. Other than that we had a great stay. We will stay here again perhaps in a standard room and away from barking dogs!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneymale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    52
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
31
76
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here on our last night in Sri Lanka after traveling around for 2 weeks. It was a lovely piece of luxury and a treat for our last night. The hotel is beautifully designed and has a unique feel to it. The staff were great, and arranged for our transfer to the airport the next day and any other requests we had. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel - both were a superb standard. The pool area is nice too - it's on the roof so away from the hustle and bustle of traffic. I really recommend this place if you are looking for something a bit different and luxurious. Good value for money too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabeth24200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Awesome!
Very simple, nice Asian design (in the rooms and in the rest of the hotel), great staff (they helped us with everything we asked like translation with our driver, ordering a taxi in a very professional way). It is a calm place in a hectic city. We were afraid of the difference between Colombo (noisy) and the rest of the country (very peaceful) but Zylan is a great transition.
Nothing else to say!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I would say it’s a gorgeous place. The decoration is simple and cozy; it’s a mixture of Chinese and Western style. Staffs there are very friendly and willing to help. Food is delicious. Everything is clean and tidy. It is nice sitting at the roof beside the swimming pool and look into the Colombo sky with soft wind. Thank you very much Zylan Hotel. I had a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed in Zylan for my first days in Colombo whilst working at the nearby National Hospital. Helen and all the staff are very accommodating, and provide a very personal service. Zylan is a warm and peaceful oasis in the sheltered Rosmead place, away from much of Colombo's hustle and bustle. I will certainly be booking in for future visits.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wgshute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Our friends recommended this place to us. We weren't disappointed.

Lovely rooms, helpful staff, and great location for wandering around Columbo.

Top tip - have the Sri Lankan curry breakfast BUT remember to order it in advance! Otherwise the croissant, fruit and omelette were delicious.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAmershanReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Small, lovely boutique style hotel. Very Zen :-) Breakfast is fine, our dinner experience was not so great. Food is ok, but waiting time was exceptionally long. Small but nice pool area on roof top. Staff is very friendly and willing to help. The hotel is based in an area with lots of embassies in nice colonial villas. Enough nice restaurants only a tuktuk drive away. We enjoyed the food court in the old Dutch hospital.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantalver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.0 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,284 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zylan Luxury Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zylan Luxury Villa

Property: Zylan Luxury Villa
Address: 115 Rosmead Place | Colombo 7, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zylan Luxury Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Zylan Luxury Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing