We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and classy, a tuk-tuk ride from the fort”
Review of Highbury Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highbury Colombo
Ranked #16 of 136 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
240 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Comfortable and classy, a tuk-tuk ride from the fort”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the suite room. The room was spacious, elegantly furnished and decorated. I especially liked the many and large windows. Good fans and AC. The bathroom however is really small. Everything gets wet when you shower as the shower is 20 cm from the toilet. The kithenette is ok for making coffee or tea. 

You also get access to a lovely garden and a lounge area inside. Unless you attract every insect ever alive, like I do, both these areas can be very nice to relax in. Wi-fi is also only accessable in the lounge. 

The host and her family are friendly and very pleasent. She had lot of good advice for both sightseeing and dining. 

The location is a bit bit from the center (Colombo 5), but there was always a tuk-tuk waiting on the corner. Make sure you buy your snacks or drinks before you head home though, as this is a residentcial area and not many stores etc. 

Highly recommended (if you can live without a pool and wi-fi in the room). 

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your kind detailed review on Trip Advisor. As we do not have many guests coming from Norway your review was most valuable for us. I'm happy to inform you that the Suite room toilet was renovated last week and is much bigger now with a three feet shower area and a one foot distance from the rest of the area in the bathroom and it is also re tiled. This was the last bathroom to be renovated and it is completely done up with modern fittings.
We also have Wifi in the room on request.
I'm glad your were happy with our services and appreciated our house and hospitality and advise.
Hope you had a most wonderful holiday in Sri Lanka.

With Blessings

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    61
    20
    10
    14
See reviews for
46
120
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful first port-of-call in your Sri Lanka journey. A beautiful little Geoffrey Bawa-esque building with a lovely garden in the front. Catch a cab straight from the airport so you can wake up to a traditional curry breakfast in the open plan dining room. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitzcarraldo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Highbury Colombo. We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations in every aspect. It was a pleasure indeed having you with us.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This has to be the most beautiful and my overall favorite place I stayed during my month-long trip around Sri Lanka. I shared the Urban Nest room with my boyfriend, and it was a great place to unwind and recover from jet lag. This house is BEAUTIFUL. I would love to base my future home on the architecture and indoor-outdoor design of this house. It's CLEAN - no cockroaches in sight, which isn't something I can say about all guest houses.

The location is great, only a short walk (7-10 mins) to Galle road and maybe a 20 minute walk to many great areas and restaurants in Colombo. (Café on 5th, Commons Coffeehouse, Bars Café) Manoji and her husband are wonderfully inviting and kind, present when you need them but also give you space and privacy when you want it.

I will DEFINITELY be staying here again when my parents come to visit me. It is IDEAL.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireThatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
It was a pleasure reading your wonderful review . We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations in every aspect and was of assistance to you. It was our pleasure having you. We hope to see you again on your next return to Sri Lanka.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We are a family of five with teenagers and we stayed in the family room on our departure from Sri Lanka. We were tossing up whether to stay one or two nights (the second we were wondering whether we should be at Negombo so as to be closer to the airport) but within seconds of seeing the room and the beautiful setting we immediately asked if we could stay another night. We wished we had found this place earlier. It is often hard to find accommodation for 5 that is reasonable value and in a good location. This place is in a well to do area of Colombo- quiet residential streets. The same tuk-tuk drivers wait at the end of the street who will take you pretty much anywhere for around 300 rupees. We got to know them and they were pretty nice guys. So the location is great. The family room is very spacious and comfortable. There is tasteful artwork and it has many architectural books as well as books on Sri Lanka that makes it a very comfortable place to hang out. The breakfast was just lovely- extraordinarily generous and the owner made our teenagers the most delicious banana pancakes as a special treat. I would definitely recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japtour2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Highbury Colombo. Having your lovely family with us was a great pleasure. Thank you for choosing Highbury Colombo for your stay. We wish you and your family all the very best in all your future endeavours.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed 3 nights in upstairs room in the main house. Stylish house. Nice garden. Walking distance to Galle Road shops and 15 minute tuktuk to city area. Quiet, clean, good breakfast (at extra cost), helpful host. Good place to relax after 15 day bike ride around Sri Lanka.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your return to Sri Lanka.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tianjin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had two rooms at this small hotel/guest house. The double was fully renovated tastefully with a particularly modern bathroom and although small was generally very nice. However we also had a triple in an annexe which was much less impressive. Although the bathroom was nice and the room very large the furniture in the room was very old and dated and looked to be items that had been deemed not good enough for the rest of the house. The kitchen was extremely basic.

This room rather lets down the rest of the house and the management is clearly rather embarrassed by it. Of course, they were not embarrassed enough not rent it out which is what they should do if they are concerned about poor reviews.

The location is quiet and just 15 minutes tuk tuk ride from the centre of Colombo. The breakfast,although not cheap,was pleasant.

Room Tip: Avoid the triple/family room until it is renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymakermaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your review. What you are reffering to is a budget room given for very low cost and which is in a seperate old building. Appreciate your comments on the bathroom and comfort. Old antique furniture is purposely kept in that room as the room is in a heritage house and is one of the oldest remaining British houses in Colombo. I'm sorry that you were not able to appreciate its old charm.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We loved our stay here. Ereshha is a lovely host and really helpful. Books about Colombo and Sri Lanka itself. We got the tree top room which was lovely. Decor lovely and simple. Lovely Sri Lankan breakfast. A bit noisy at night with the dogs barking in the neighbourhood but funnily enough we still felt happy and relaxed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Appreciate your comments on our garden. We look forward to having you with us again on your next return to Sri Lanka.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
1,723 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.6 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,284 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#25 of 51 in Colombo
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbury Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbury Colombo

Property: Highbury Colombo
Address: 14 / 1, Skelton Road | Havelock Town, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highbury Colombo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful rustic styled fully air conditioned apartments clean, bright and breezy located in the heart of Colombo in quiet, safe, peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Zenrooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highbury Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing