We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary in Colombo”
Review of Highbury Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highbury Colombo
Ranked #16 of 148 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
“Sanctuary in Colombo”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic start to our family holiday. Family of 4 stayed here , we loved it. Gorgeous grounds and lovely room with fantastic bathroom. Manoji was really helpful, easy to book from Australia and organised airport pick up for us. Very trustworthy and welcoming , easy to get around , quiet and lush. Would definitely recommend , 5 stars from us ! Thanks manoji!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skinnertarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a most wonderful review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to be of assistance to you and your family.
We hope to see you again on your next return to Colombo.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    62
    20
    10
    14
See reviews for
47
121
54
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My stay here was perfect. It's in a central location and the family running the bed and breakfast are very friendly and helpful. I loved the serene atmosphere of the grounds and common area. The wifi and ac worked perfectly. I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeezedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a most wonderful review . We are delighted that you have utilized and enjoyed the services and facilities of Highbury Colombo. Thank you very much for your support and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Once again we were treated to Sri Lankan hospitality in a stunning setting! Huge room with a/c, comfy bed and good bathroom facilities. Was really peaceful and a great hideaway from the hustle and bustle of Colombo. Great breakfast, good advice from the owners on places to visit and restaurants. One of the highlights during our stay in Colombo!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxy211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for a most wonderful review . We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us . It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to having you with us again on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Perfect honeymoon getaway. Manoji and her family were very helpful and ensured that our stay was more than comfortable. Although food is not included in the plan, there are supermarkets around where you can go and explore. Also, the family makes you feel like you're one of them and give you royal treatment. I'll definitely come back here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayadev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your generous comments. Reading your comments was a most wonderful experience. Thank you once again for the ongoing support and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nestled among trees, in a quiet section of Colombo, Highbury is a hidden gem. Great architecture, each room is a visual delight. In the common living space is a shallow pond with live fishes!!. Great place, even if one stays for just a single night. Friendly owners ensure that you have a great stay

Room Tip: Take a room on the back side which overlooks an old mango tree
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frontiermail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your kind generous comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thought it was worth staying even one night at Highbury Colombo. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Start off your dream vacation in the "Resplendent Island" Sri Lanka by staying at this wonderful spot.

Hospitality is #1: Manoja and Manitha are excellent hosts- I arrived late (11pm) and too tired to figure out the wifi for my computer so I could send a note to my folks; Manitha saw this and helped me right away even though he was on his way to bed. The breakfast prepared for me the next morning was an incredible display, too.

The room was well decorated and very comfortable, had AC, and a nice bathroom.

Highbury is off the beaten path, making it a peaceful place to stay. However, its proximity to a main road means you'll easily find three-wheeler taxis rushing to whichever destination you please.

Do yourself a favor and stay at Highbury.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batman Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your generous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and have utilized the services and facilities of Highbury Colombo. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

It's a place like home but more romantic, stylish, artistic and quiet. The owner and daughters are friendly and thoughtful. Especially suitable for couples who are tired of the standard rooms. Kitchen available so that you can skip going to restaurants on your trip for one day. Will definitely come back to spend my weekend in here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you have utilized and enjoyed the services and facilities of Highbury Colombo. Thank you very much again for your support of Highbury Colombo. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With Blessings,

Manoji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.1 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.6 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.5 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#25 of 54 in Colombo
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 54 in Colombo
764 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#28 of 54 in Colombo
260 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbury Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbury Colombo

Property: Highbury Colombo
Address: 14 / 1, Skelton Road | Havelock Town, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highbury Colombo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful rustic styled fully air conditioned apartments clean, bright and breezy located in the heart of Colombo in quiet, safe, peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Zenrooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Highbury Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing