We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable appartment with a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Supun Arcade Residency
Ranked #27 of 165 Speciality Lodging in Colombo
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed there one night with 3 other friends. The residency is only 20 mins away from the airport which was very convenient in our case since we arrive at around 1 a.m. to Colombo airport. The apartment is big with three bedrooms, a living room, 2 toilets and a kitchen which perfectly suits families. However, the rooms were not very clean and comfortable as we found a cockroach in the toilet and the air conditioner was not cooling the rooms enough. Overall, I only recommend this hotel if you are a big group and want to cut on costs.

Room Tip: Make sure the toilets and the air conditioner are functioning properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Valued customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Cockroaches and ants can come sometimes from outside if you leave the windows open. Please be noted we do insect treatments every week and we do daily cleaning every day under the supervision of two supervisors and a manager.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may caused and we try our level best to improve our services

Best Regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

we stayed for 3 nights in the month of Feb 2014. From air port we took an air port taxi for 3100 and find very difficult to reach this place , It is an apartment,ideal for big groups and big families . Rooms are good ,pool is also good , staff is not supportive and most of the time you see hot arguments between guests and staff in reception. see is near by and you can get 3 wheeler for reaching city and nearby places .Asia kitchen is a small restaurant, where you get Indian dishes and Chennai hotel is also serve the south Indian food at 1 km distance . Near by shopping place is 'NOLIMIT' is good where you can search for good clothes ..at good price .
Sight seeing is costly as you have to depend on travel desk in this hotel ,but charges are very high...if you go to Bentota , Taxi fellow will take you to a Turtle Hatchery ,they charge @500/head for entry and it is a waste ....and an adjustment between taxi and turtle hatchery...., hotels charges about 20% or more extra as various taxes and advance of
$200 dollar ... .............

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DILEEPKODIYAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Valued customer,

It is hard to believe that your taxi driver could not find our Residency! In fact it is located on famous Galle road in Wellawatte, Colombo 6 and It is well known in Colombo city.


I am sure If you paid good attention to the property type at the time of the booking, you would have easily realized that our property is a serviced apartment hotel ! Our Residency fits for any type of clientele since we offer a wide range of services such as room service, breakfast, dining facilities, baggage service etc … All our customers can feel “ home away from home” since we offer spacious fully furnished apartments and not just a tiny double room with a high rate.
When you book an excursion through our travel desk, rate could be a little high since we arrange everything for you and we add a small fee for the additional service we offer you. Customer is totally free to book any excursion or any other outside service by themselves !

Anyway thank you for admitting that our rooms & pool are good.

Best Regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

One of good Hotel in sri lanka,
Room was so big & cleaned,
it could be enough for 8 pax at once,
Staff were so help full,
very recently they have opened roof top restaurant for a Breakfast Food was OK
Restaurant staff were very good and help full,
I would like to travel and stay their very soon....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vandot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Valued customer,

Thanks a lot for your wonderful review and we’re so grateful to you for your high recommendation.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Best Regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A horrible horrible place. I took a chance and I was wrong on many levels. The only thing good about this place, well make it two – its clean and wifi speed is excellent.
What’s bad you ask.
a. USD 200 security deposit which they don’t tell at the time you make a reservation.
b. A rule book method to everything.
c. You cant get coffee / tea satchets after day 1. The only way to get it is check in and check out daily.
d. The restaurant is open from 7am to 9pm. A late night snack is ruled out, oh well, not even a beverage
e. When I wanted to get the air conditioning in 2 of the 3 rooms operational, I get asked how many rooms is one person sleeping in
f. Impolite and curt staff – much to the contrary to what I have experienced in Sri Lanka
g. I check in at 1130pm at night, pay a $200 deposit, go to my room, and before I can shut eye I get called for $30 for the taxi. This no one seems to be able to place on the room tab or wait till the morning. Once I drag myself down, there is no change, and lo behold people can wait till tomorrow morning.
I hope for your sake you don’t ever have to stay here. I sure do hope for mine.
I just checked out. Thank God.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cavenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Please be noted that the 200$ security deposit is clearly mentioned in all online travel portals.


We issue tea/coffee sachets only once a day and this a complimentary service we offer our valuable customers.


Our restaurant is open until 11 pm and beverages are available 24h at the lobby.


Your complaint about the air-conditioning is not very clear! The apartments are fully air-conditioned depending on the apartment type you have booked (one, two or three bedroom apartment).


We try our level best to satisfy our customers and I assure you that our staff is not impolite as you mentioned ! It is normal that we ask for an immediate payment for the airport shuttle since it is an additional service we offer our customers.

Unfortunately the rest of your complaint is not very clear. Therefore, I am unable to answer the rest.

Thank you for your understanding

Best Regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here on our first night in Colombo and while the rooms were very nice and modern, we were given an apartment that wasn't finished! Nothing in the kitchen worked and the washing machine wasn't even plugged in or hooked up to plumbing. Unfortunate as the rest of the apartment was very nice! I'd suggest anyone visiting here makes sure they request a completed apartment prior to booking!

Room Tip: Make sure your apartment is fully finished and not in the middle of rennovations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DangerMouse2482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Valued customer,

Sorry for the inconvenience you had with us and I’m sorry for giving you an uncompleted apartment ! I can assure you that all our apartments are now completed.

Best regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great apartments, but the service was awful. The receptionist charghed $200 as deposit on arrival, and promised to give it bark when I checked out. When we check out they change the story, and I have to wait for 7 days for the money to get back to my account. So it's better to pay by cash at arrival. Paid for wifi for 2 days..didn't work..had to discuss hard to get our money back. Called up to the apatment several times per day to ask when we were checking out, coming down to pay for carservice and other things. Pool area overrated on the pictures, but ok. 500 rupees by tuktuk to city centre. 4500 rupees from the airport by pickup service.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Monica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Valued customer,

We’re sad to hear that you had a bad experience in our residency. As per our hotel policy, it is true that we charge 200$ refundable deposit against the incidental charges. Normally it takes two to three days to release the blocked amount, but if there is a bank holiday, it may take up to 7 days. We advice our customers to inform us if they wish to have it upon their check out. Then we make a special request to the bank to release the amount immediately.
You can always get a cheaper taxi from the airport but when you book through us the charges are higher since we have to send the vehicle from Colombo to the airport.
We always advice our customers to take a tuktuk recommended by the hotel in order to avoid any surprise charges. You can easily identify our recommended tuktuks since they have a board with our name.

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We arrived at 4.30am with a booking for the next night with a check in time of 2pm. However, without extra charge they gave us our apartment then. It was a spacious well fitted three bed flat. everything was clean and well cared for. It is well located and has a brilliant roof pool. We could not recommend the place enough, with very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthless57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Valued customer,

We highly appreciate your positive review.
Look forward to having you with us again.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#27 of 56 in Colombo
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#13 of 56 in Colombo
1,601 reviews
1 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Elyon Colombo
1.4 mi away
Pearl Grand Hotel
Pearl Grand Hotel
#30 of 56 in Colombo
302 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo Residences
Hilton Colombo Residences
#12 of 56 in Colombo
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Supun Arcade Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Supun Arcade Residency

Address: 56, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 165 Speciality Lodging in Colombo
Price Range: £53 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Supun Arcade Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Supun Arcade Residency is a city aparthotel located in the heart of Colombo city, offering all the comforts of home within a luxurious setting. The 40-suite complex, spread across a spacious eight floors provides both short term and long term apartment suites.The apartments are completely air conditioned, and provide a panoramic ocean view or a dynamic city view. The architect-designed complex allows maximum natural light and ventilation into the spacious corridors and pathways, and the double elevators provide ease of movement within the complex.The fully furnished and well equipped apartments are each spacious and well-laid out with a dining area, comfortable lounge and seating area, fully equipped kitchen, laundry area and even separate quarters for domestic maids. The kitchen is equipped with all the amenities you will need in your own apartment including cooking facilities, refrigerator, cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery and even a rice cooker. A water filter is provided in each apartment and bottles changed on request, easing the burden of frequently purchasing your own bottled water.Each apartment has a master bedroom with attached bathroom, and one or two additional rooms with bathrooms. Each room is fully furnished with King Size or Twin beds, cupboards, dressing tables and designed to create elegance and warmth in each room. The Master bedrooms also have balconies, providing a relaxing place from which to view the outdoors. The beautifully tiled bathrooms have all the modern amenities and luxuries that you would expect from an international standard apartment complex.Supun Arcade Residency provides an efficient and luxurious space for you and your family during a visit to Colombo, whether you are exploring Colombo city or passing through on a wider tour of the country. Being located on the Galle Road, Colombo's main thoroughfare in Colombo 6 provides quick and easy access to any of Colombo's tourist landmarks or business locations. Supun Residency is located above the Supun Arcade which has a growing number of shops that sell a variety of goods, making it an easy place to pick up souvenirs or gift items.The Supun Arcade Residency offers a plethora of facilities to all its customers. The roof top swimming pool has a panoramic view of the city, and provides an excellent location for a quiet evening drink as you view the beautiful sunset over the Indian Ocean. The roof top restaurant (Bellevue) also commands a stunning view of the bustling city of Colombo with the backdrop of the Indian Ocean. The apartments are serviced daily by an efficient housekeeping system which replaces bed linen and towels, providing you with fresh linen each day. Wifi services are available and Cable TV in each apartment will keep you updated on business and world news, while also providing a great way to keeps kids entertained while indoors. The hotel's travel information desk will help you plan and book your travel itinerary within Sri Lanka, while also helping you with all the information about Colombo. Your every comfort and convenience has been thought of at Supun Arcade Residency, ensuring that it becomes your home away from home during your visit to Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Supun Arcade Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing