We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big and clean apartments!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Supun Arcade Residency
Ranked #39 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Colombo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big and clean apartments!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked 3 BHK apartment for two nights . Apartments were clean and spacious. staff at the reception was quite helpful. transport was easily found outside the hotel. Hotel is not located very far from the main areas. only negative point I would give that beds were very hard and springy. during check out we did give them the same feedback and they told us that Beds on the 6th floor are these types only so avoid taking 6th floor. overall it was good and reasonable property. Breakfast was decent too.

Room Tip: avoid 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayuri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Valued Csutomer,

Thank you very much for your review and we highly appreciate it.

We’ll be changing the very few hard mattresses in the near future and I’m really sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

Best Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    52
    31
    10
    17
See reviews for
52
18
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at Supun Arcade for almost 2 weeks in the month of Jan-Feb 2014. Pre-booking online gave us an awesome deal in terms of price followed by a very friendly and patient staff. Even when there was a trouble with our payment due to third party delay, the hotel staff behaved properly and tried to help us in all the way they could.
Rooms were very spacious, clean and had all the necessary amenities. The kitchen had all the necessary equipment for us to cook if needed. Location was great too, not more than 10 min walk from the beach. Plethora of restaurants around with all sorts of cuisines you may be looking at...and an icing on the cake: the roof-top swimming pool was simply awesome.
Since we were on a business trip, we couldn't avail there sightseeing tour facility. I would recommend the hotel to all my friends without a shadow of doubt.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, lesser the noise :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhishek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Valued customer,

Thankyou very much for taking out your valuable time in writing this motivating review about us. It is such a pleasure for us to see our guests are happy with our facility. We would try to continuously improve our standards and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us .

Thank you once again for your review and for the valuable time you have given to appreciate our work.

Best Regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

You can make a reservation at this place but don't expect them to honor it. Three strikes and they're out. (We only came back a third time because the place is spacious and convenient.) This time, they even called to confirm the day before we arrived but when we got there they'd installed someone else in our room...the very same day they'd called to confirm availability. The desk clerk was completely incompetent and the general manager was exceptionally unpleasant and quite unwilling to accept responsibility. Neither one of them belong in the service industry. Frankly, I don't know why TripAdvisor endorses this place. We will not be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Artistina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

I remember you very well. On a Saturday in February 2014, I was informed by my front office team that there was a customer who was cheated by an unknown agent when renting one of our apartments. It was my day off but I specially came to meet you and you explained me that you had paid an advance payment through a bank transfer to an unknown person to book our Residency and you had realized that you were cheated by this person.

As the General Manager, I took immediate action to inform this incident to the nearest police station even if we were not responsible for this. On top of that, I gave you a very special rate and I provided you with one of our newly furnished apartments with a sea view. You informed us that you just wanted to stay only for two nights and then you would be moving to another Residency since you were looking for cheaper accommodation.

Later on you changed your mind and decided to stay with us and explained us that you would be staying with us time to time. But we never promised you to give you the same apartment each time you stay with us. We were fully booked on the day before this incident happened and we had rented all the apartments including the apartment you stayed in previously. But unfortunately we couldn’t give you the same apartment when you came to stay with us on this particular day. Me and my staff clearly explained you that we couldn't give the same apartment but we proposed you another apartment with same facilities which you straight away refused. Please be noted that we’re doing a business here and we are not able to block you the same apartment each time you come to stay with us. If we do so, we’ll be losing money as we have the opportunity to rent all the apartments.

We always try to fulfill our customer’s requests but unfortunately certain unreasonable requests cannot be fulfilled. Please be noted that we never refused to take you in. We just said that we couldn't give you the same apartment due to high occupancy.


I would like to advise you to book your hotel room or apartment from a reputed travel agent next time you travel and please do not expect the same room at each time since it is not possible to do so if the hotel is fully booked the day before.



Thanks for your understanding

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed there one night with 3 other friends. The residency is only 20 mins away from the airport which was very convenient in our case since we arrive at around 1 a.m. to Colombo airport. The apartment is big with three bedrooms, a living room, 2 toilets and a kitchen which perfectly suits families. However, the rooms were not very clean and comfortable as we found a cockroach in the toilet and the air conditioner was not cooling the rooms enough. Overall, I only recommend this hotel if you are a big group and want to cut on costs.

Room Tip: Make sure the toilets and the air conditioner are functioning properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Valued customer,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Cockroaches and ants can come sometimes from outside if you leave the windows open. Please be noted we do insect treatments every week and we do daily cleaning every day under the supervision of two supervisors and a manager.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may caused and we try our level best to improve our services

Best Regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

we stayed for 3 nights in the month of Feb 2014. From air port we took an air port taxi for 3100 and find very difficult to reach this place , It is an apartment,ideal for big groups and big families . Rooms are good ,pool is also good , staff is not supportive and most of the time you see hot arguments between guests and staff in reception. see is near by and you can get 3 wheeler for reaching city and nearby places .Asia kitchen is a small restaurant, where you get Indian dishes and Chennai hotel is also serve the south Indian food at 1 km distance . Near by shopping place is 'NOLIMIT' is good where you can search for good clothes ..at good price .
Sight seeing is costly as you have to depend on travel desk in this hotel ,but charges are very high...if you go to Bentota , Taxi fellow will take you to a Turtle Hatchery ,they charge @500/head for entry and it is a waste ....and an adjustment between taxi and turtle hatchery...., hotels charges about 20% or more extra as various taxes and advance of
$200 dollar ... .............

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DILEEPKODIYAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Valued customer,

It is hard to believe that your taxi driver could not find our Residency! In fact it is located on famous Galle road in Wellawatte, Colombo 6 and It is well known in Colombo city.


I am sure If you paid good attention to the property type at the time of the booking, you would have easily realized that our property is a serviced apartment hotel ! Our Residency fits for any type of clientele since we offer a wide range of services such as room service, breakfast, dining facilities, baggage service etc … All our customers can feel “ home away from home” since we offer spacious fully furnished apartments and not just a tiny double room with a high rate.
When you book an excursion through our travel desk, rate could be a little high since we arrange everything for you and we add a small fee for the additional service we offer you. Customer is totally free to book any excursion or any other outside service by themselves !

Anyway thank you for admitting that our rooms & pool are good.

Best Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

One of good Hotel in sri lanka,
Room was so big & cleaned,
it could be enough for 8 pax at once,
Staff were so help full,
very recently they have opened roof top restaurant for a Breakfast Food was OK
Restaurant staff were very good and help full,
I would like to travel and stay their very soon....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Valued customer,

Thanks a lot for your wonderful review and we’re so grateful to you for your high recommendation.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Best Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A horrible horrible place. I took a chance and I was wrong on many levels. The only thing good about this place, well make it two – its clean and wifi speed is excellent.
What’s bad you ask.
a. USD 200 security deposit which they don’t tell at the time you make a reservation.
b. A rule book method to everything.
c. You cant get coffee / tea satchets after day 1. The only way to get it is check in and check out daily.
d. The restaurant is open from 7am to 9pm. A late night snack is ruled out, oh well, not even a beverage
e. When I wanted to get the air conditioning in 2 of the 3 rooms operational, I get asked how many rooms is one person sleeping in
f. Impolite and curt staff – much to the contrary to what I have experienced in Sri Lanka
g. I check in at 1130pm at night, pay a $200 deposit, go to my room, and before I can shut eye I get called for $30 for the taxi. This no one seems to be able to place on the room tab or wait till the morning. Once I drag myself down, there is no change, and lo behold people can wait till tomorrow morning.
I hope for your sake you don’t ever have to stay here. I sure do hope for mine.
I just checked out. Thank God.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cavenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supun Residency S, General Manager at Supun Arcade Residency, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Please be noted that the 200$ security deposit is clearly mentioned in all online travel portals.


We issue tea/coffee sachets only once a day and this a complimentary service we offer our valuable customers.


Our restaurant is open until 11 pm and beverages are available 24h at the lobby.


Your complaint about the air-conditioning is not very clear! The apartments are fully air-conditioned depending on the apartment type you have booked (one, two or three bedroom apartment).


We try our level best to satisfy our customers and I assure you that our staff is not impolite as you mentioned ! It is normal that we ask for an immediate payment for the airport shuttle since it is an additional service we offer our customers.

Unfortunately the rest of your complaint is not very clear. Therefore, I am unable to answer the rest.

Thank you for your understanding

Best Regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#31 of 50 in Colombo
330 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pearl Grand Hotel
Pearl Grand Hotel
#25 of 50 in Colombo
278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Edge Suites & Hotel, Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo Residence
Hilton Colombo Residence
#12 of 50 in Colombo
788 reviews
2.9 mi away
Unique Towers Luxury Boutique Suites
0.0 mi away
Breeze Apartment
Breeze Apartment
#37 of 130 in Colombo
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Supun Arcade Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Supun Arcade Residency

Property: Supun Arcade Residency
Address: 56, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Supun Arcade Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Supun Arcade Residency is a city aparthotel located in the heart of Colombo city, offering all the comforts of home within a luxurious setting. The 40-suite complex, spread across a spacious eight floors provides both short term and long term apartment suites.The apartments are completely air conditioned, and provide a panoramic ocean view or a dynamic city view. The architect-designed complex allows maximum natural light and ventilation into the spacious corridors and pathways, and the double elevators provide ease of movement within the complex.The fully furnished and well equipped apartments are each spacious and well-laid out with a dining area, comfortable lounge and seating area, fully equipped kitchen, laundry area and even separate quarters for domestic maids. The kitchen is equipped with all the amenities you will need in your own apartment including cooking facilities, refrigerator, cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery and even a rice cooker. A water filter is provided in each apartment and bottles changed on request, easing the burden of frequently purchasing your own bottled water.Each apartment has a master bedroom with attached bathroom, and one or two additional rooms with bathrooms. Each room is fully furnished with King Size or Twin beds, cupboards, dressing tables and designed to create elegance and warmth in each room. The Master bedrooms also have balconies, providing a relaxing place from which to view the outdoors. The beautifully tiled bathrooms have all the modern amenities and luxuries that you would expect from an international standard apartment complex.Supun Arcade Residency provides an efficient and luxurious space for you and your family during a visit to Colombo, whether you are exploring Colombo city or passing through on a wider tour of the country. Being located on the Galle Road, Colombo's main thoroughfare in Colombo 6 provides quick and easy access to any of Colombo's tourist landmarks or business locations. Supun Residency is located above the Supun Arcade which has a growing number of shops that sell a variety of goods, making it an easy place to pick up souvenirs or gift items.The Supun Arcade Residency offers a plethora of facilities to all its customers. The roof top swimming pool has a panoramic view of the city, and provides an excellent location for a quiet evening drink as you view the beautiful sunset over the Indian Ocean. The roof top restaurant (Bellevue) also commands a stunning view of the bustling city of Colombo with the backdrop of the Indian Ocean. The apartments are serviced daily by an efficient housekeeping system which replaces bed linen and towels, providing you with fresh linen each day. Wifi services are available and Cable TV in each apartment will keep you updated on business and world news, while also providing a great way to keeps kids entertained while indoors. The hotel's travel information desk will help you plan and book your travel itinerary within Sri Lanka, while also helping you with all the information about Colombo. Your every comfort and convenience has been thought of at Supun Arcade Residency, ensuring that it becomes your home away from home during your visit to Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Supun Arcade Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing