We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place for birdwatching”
Review of Talangama Wetland

Talangama Wetland
Ranked #54 of 147 things to do in Colombo
Attraction details
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“amazing place for birdwatching”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This morning at 6 am a colleague who works at our Sri lanka office took me and another colleague for birdwatching here. We saw more than 25 different bird species, it was spectacular and I can highly recommend it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lizade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good for bird watching ,cycling and to relax”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

like- quiet,shady, lots of birds, has garden seats to just sit and relax
dislike- access roads are horrid.once one gets there it is ok for cycling.being too quiet can invite shady characters. so being aware will help.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank shifa_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angkor
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wetlands”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My girlfriend I visited the wetlands today.Our concierge told us there was'nt much to see, as this is where he was from, and in a sense he was right. When we eventually arrived our tuk tuk driver was not sure we were there untill we said "yes this is it" as there were a few signs about the Thalangama Tank and the nature to be found in it. I think we were expecting a bit more from the place, maybe some dedicated paths, hides and more information about the area. There was only the road we came in on and this was fairly busy. We did stop for a short while and managed to see people bathing in the water outlet, a family of pigs and many different types of birds. i would recommend this area for ornithologists.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Relaxing place to watch birds”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Only half an hour from Colombo, Talangama offers an ideal chance to familiarise yourself with Sri Lankan birdlife while you get over your jetlag. As well as all the water birds detailed in other reviews, we saw the elusive Indian Koel, red Paradise Flycatcher, sunbirds, the Black-Headed Oriole, Lesser Yellownape Woodpecker and numerous others.

There are wetlands, lakes and some large villas shaded by trees, so there are people around but the place has a very tranquil feel. Take a picnic and get there at dawn with bird book and binoculars. Otherwise stay at the Villa Talangama - highly recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank footsteps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
252 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“BIRDERS PARADISE”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Talangama wetland is very close to Colombo City. Drive towards Pelawatta junction which takes about 30 minutes and take the DP Wijesinghe Road. Pass the defense areas and turn in to the lake road and drive around a kilometer to find Talangama lake and mangroves which forms the wetland.
The paddling boats can take you in to the labyrinth of mangroves which is a wonderful experience.You can see egrets, open bill storks, Pheasant Tail Jacanas, Water fowls, Teals, Lapwings, Cormorants, Black necked ibis, Kingfishers, Grebe,Petrels and Pelicans.
There are concrete bridges across a small canal where you can stay with your equipment and take wonderful photos of a life time.
Excellent day out for a birder

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PRABHU60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Talangama Wetland also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Talangama Wetland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing