We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food,Staff and Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Colombo Residences
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It was a superb experience for me and my wife. Excellent staff and service and the food was awsome. Rooms were very clean and spacious than we expected. Friendlyness of the staff was experienced from the entrance it self.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Nirosh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Nirosh A,

Thank you for your delightful review of 5 stars for Value, Location, Rooms, Cleanliness and Service. I’m touched by your comments to read that the Team was friendly, and you experienced it at the time of arrival. Your lovely comments will be shared with the Team who will be equally delighted to read this.

The hotel offers 2 or 3 bedrooms for guests whose stays are longer and are traveling with family; we have launched a range of new single rooms on level 28 offering modern amenities and amazing views of the Ocean and city skyline. The suites are great for families or extended stays, however, the new single rooms are best for business travelers. All guest rooms of the hotel offer views of the beautiful Beira Lake, the Indian Ocean, Colombo Harbour, or the city.

Once again, I thank you for your recommendation on Tripadvisor; please do not hesitate to contact me directly on karim.schadlou@hilton.com. I look forward to welcoming you in the near future!



Yours sincerely,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Perfect choice for both business and pleasure when you need to be in Colombo. Took advantage of an excellent rate for car and driver for the day and accomplished far more than could have been done on my own. Breakfast not included, but worth it at least once during your stay for an incredible array of dishes. Room service was prompt and courteous. Reception helpful and attentive to all inquiries.

Room Tip: Higher floor provides excellent views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdgoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear pdgoss,

Thank you for your delightful review of 5 stars for Value, Location, Rooms, Cleanliness and Service. It is most encouraging to read!

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the Room Service and taxi service during your stay. As you correctly stated, the hotel is meant for both business or leisure with suites offering 2 or 3 bedrooms for guests whose stays are longer and are traveling with family; we have launched a range of new single rooms on level 28 offering modern amenities and amazing views of the Ocean and city skyline. The suites are great for families or extended stays, however, the new single rooms are best for business travelers.

The suites and rooms of the hotel offer views of the beautiful Beira Lake, the Indian Ocean, Colombo Harbour, or the city.

Once again, I thank you for your recommendation on Tripadvisor; please do not hesitate to contact me directly on karim.schadlou@hilton.com. I look forward to welcoming you in the near future!



Yours sincerely,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a penthouse on the top floor for the 3 of us -240sqm for US$180/night.

Comes with all the necessary amenities, although location wasn't as good as its sister hotel by the coast. Service was terrible -the front desk receptionist could not have been more curt.

On the plus side -24h fitness centre.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Ming H,

I thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at Hilton Colombo Residences.

I regret to hear that the service you had experienced was not satisfactory; this is not the usual guest experience my Team offers guests. Your comments have been noted and shared with the relevant Managers.

Did you raise the concerns you had with any of the Managers during your stay? Were there specific requests that were not met? I would like to investigate further in to the matter and would like to take this discussion offline – please email me at karim.schadlou@hilton.com.


Yours sincerely,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Over-all stay was good and all the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are big and kept clean daily. The amenities were also great. Food choices is somewhat limited though. The place is conveniently located near two supermarkets where you can buy basic stuff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Catherine G. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Catherine G. C,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at Hilton Colombo Residences. I am grateful for the comments you have made regarding the Team Members and service you received during your stay.

I’m glad to read that you found your suite comfortable and spacious; apart from the suites offering 2 or 3 bedrooms, we have launched a range of new single rooms on level 28 offering modern amenities and amazing views of the Ocean and city skyline. The suites are great for families or extended stays, however, the new single rooms are best for business travelers.

Your comments regarding the dining offers have been noted; the hotel launched its new Bar & Lounge on the ground floor offering an international selection of beverages; the Verandah Bistro on level 3 currently serves as the main restaurant until the multi-cuisine restaurant is launched early next year.

Once again, I thank you for your recommendation on Tripadvisor; please do not hesitate to contact me directly on karim.schadlou@hilton.com.



Yours sincerely,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very conveniently situated for the centre of Colombo, the Hilton Residences offer a range of apartments which mean you can do self-catering if you are staying for a while. I had a 2 bedroom apartment, which had two bathrooms plus additional guest toilet, large lounge/dining room, massive fully equipped kitchen, plus a laundry area. The cleaning staff were brilliant, always available and keen to please, while the lobby and wait staff were equally friendly. Downsides: parts of the hotel were being refurbished, which meant less choice for dining and drinks. The biggest problem is the elevators - there are only 3 for 30-something floors and they are soo slow! I waited for about 5 minutes to go up to my room on the 21st floor, found my key card was no longer working, waited another 5 minutes to go back down to get a replacement and then yet again a further 5 minutes to go back up - over 15 minutes wasted due to the elevators. Pros: The breakfast is fantastic, large selections, just right to set you up for the day - tip: do not be scared to ask for freshly squeezed orange juice, they will do it for you with pleasure! Ate at the pool one evening and the food was reasonable.

Room Tip: Stay as low as you can, rather use the stairs than wait for the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear MikeF,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at HCR and recommending it as a place that is ‘Great for Business’. I was delighted to read that you found our Team brilliant; I appreciate your compliment and will pass it to the Team who will equally delighted to read your comments.

I’m glad to read that you found your suite comfortable and spacious; apart from the suites offering 2 or 3 bedrooms, we have just launched a range of new single rooms on level 28 offering modern amenities and amazing views of the Ocean and city skyline. The suites are great for families or extended stays, however, the new single rooms are best for business travelers.

Our breakfast buffet does happen to be a favourite in Colombo – and I thank you for your kind compliments! This month, the hotel launched its new Bar & Lounge on the ground floor offering an international selection of beverages; the Verandah Bistro on level 3 currently serves as the main restaurant until the multi-cuisine restaurant is launched early next year.

I noted your comments on the elevators as well. Once again, I thank you for your recommendation on Tripadvisor; please do not hesitate to contact me directly on karim.schadlou@hilton.com.



Yours sincerely,

Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Hilton Colombo Residence is a little old and worn, but everything is working very well (and they are actually in a middle of a major upgrade of the rooms).

We have booked a family apartment, but it looked like all the other apartments in the hotel – nothing “family” about it. But it was nice and huge – and the air-condition was working very well.

The windows are thin and there was construction going on at the site adjacent to the hotel, so it was a little noisy (also because they worked 24/7). So try to get a high floor room on the pool side (room 4, 5 or 6).

The pool is huge and very nice. And there is even a little playground for the kids.

Internet is free in public areas – and expensive in the rooms.

The breakfast is nice and the staff is very friendly.

The most annoying part is actually the elevators. They are slow and because the building is tall and there is a lot of office staff using it for the lower part it takes a lot of time to get from the ground to the floor you is staying at.

But overall Hilton Colombo Residence is a good option in Colombo if you like an apartment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morten-Elm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Morten-Elm,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Colombo Residences during your visit to Sri Lanka recently.

I’m happy to read that you found the Team friendly, air-conditioning functioning well, and that you enjoyed the breakfast, poolside and the children’s play area.

Your comments on the suite’s interior and elevator use, frequented by Team Members have been noted. Please allow me to assure you that the message has been cascaded to the relevant managers. Team Members are encouraged to use the designated ‘staff’ elevator; however, owing to emergencies they are permitted to use the elevator occasionally.

The suites are currently being upgraded; this would include changes in the interior as well.
Apart from the suites offering 2 or 3 bedrooms, we have just launched a range of new single rooms on level 28 offering modern amenities and amazing views of the Ocean and city skyline. These single rooms are best for business travelers.

Later this month, the hotel will launch its new bar lounge area as well. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Once again, I thank you for taking time to review your stay, and I reiterate that this is not the usual experience at Hilton Colombo Residences. Please contact me directly at karim.schadlou@hilton.com if you wish to elaborate further.



Yours sincerely,
Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

IF you are travelling in a group of 3 singles or couples, ideal place to stay. Full value for the high tariff set by the SrilLankan govt. The higher the floor the better as not only do you get a fantastic view but also cuts out the street noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank ManishG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear ManishG69,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at HCR and your 5-star ratings for Service at the hotel.

Your review of the suites, recommending it for couples and smaller groups is much appreciated. Apart from the suites offering 2 or 3 bedrooms, we have just launched a range of new single rooms on level 28 offering modern amenities and amazing views of the Ocean and city skyline. These rooms are ideal for business travelers.

Next month, the hotel will launch its new bar lounge area as well. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Once again, I thank you for your recommendation on Tripadvisor; please do not hesitate to contact me directly on karim.schadlou@hilton.com.



Yours sincerely,

Karim Schadlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,088 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#9 of 54 in Colombo
2,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 54 in Colombo
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colombo Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo Residences

Address: 200 Union Place, Colombo 02, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#6 Family Hotel in Colombo
#8 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#9 Business Hotel in Colombo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £124 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Colombo Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an outstanding suite and room experience in the heart of Sri Lanka’s largest city; Hilton Colombo Residences is the ideal choice for business or leisure. Take in panoramic views from this 33-story tower, offering vistas of the Indian Ocean, city and harbor. The hotel includes superb venues for conferences and events for up to 850 people; it is located within 5 minutes of the central business district of Colombo, within close proximity to major banking institutes, supermarkets, shopping and cultural destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Colombo Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Residence Hotel Colombo
Colombo Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing