We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Taj Samudra Colombo
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The staff at the Taj Samudra Colombo were incredible. It was my first time in Sri Lanka and I didn't know what to expect but at the recommendation of a friend I stayed at the Taj Samudra Colombo and I wasn't disappointed. During my stay I ate at four different restaurants on the property and all were great. The spicy cashews were great at the Japanese restaurant and the steak was amazing at the steakhouse.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,503 - 1,509 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The property location is amazing. The restaurants dish out good stuff.
Service is good. Rooms are pretty bad. I stayed on the 3rd floor. Rooms are old. Walls are full of mold.Flooring was broken.
They changed my room to the 5th floor.
The carpets in the corridor are old and musty.
Not expected of a Taj property.

Room Tip: Ask them for renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arvind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

the hotel is renovated,stuff doesnt meet the level of renovation.stuff is far behind knowledge how to treat guests.
mainly asian guests and backpackers may be satified with service and level inside the place.
according to international standards place is not at all sufficient and satisfying relevamtly to the prices.
you have to argue with waiters,who dont even know whats on the menue or on the beverages menue.
it happened to me and it destroyed my day,which was quiet exciting.a big argue with a waiter in the lobby bar,upset me and destroyed my so far successful day.
not at all the standard which i know and enjoyed in taj mumbai several times.
this place and arguing waiters are far away from it.
kind of arrogancy in the arguing not at all based on knowledge,and in addition far to high in price....thats not at all a good cocktail.

Room Tip: try casa colombo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schwimmerbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First time staying at the Taj in Sri Lanka and top marks for service and ambience. We were placed in an ocean view room that was very well appointed. The rooms were great and the staff - from guest relations to housekeeping was super attentive. They helped us with reservations, information and good room service with a smile at any time of day or night. They even got a tv channel for my mom so she could watch the daily series to which she is addicted (that was above and beyond)!

My only mild annoyance was that this was a non smoking floor and someone was definitely smoking - and you could smell it in the corridor and sometimes in the a/cs. (The first room they showed us was rejected because it smelled like smoke).

Pool and gym (including instructors) were great but they could have done with separate spa rooms. and the car service (though slightly pricey) was very very convenient. The only thing that was a bit annoying was The food was fantastic and I really looked forward to the variety at breakfast. The chefs were even nice enough to email me recipes I wanted.

All in all, would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ocean front is preferred but the city side is not so bad :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcoulagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My title says it all, I love staying at the Taj across the world because of the high quality service standards, delicious food and luxurious infrastructure. I fell head over heels for the entrance, lobby areas and the pool. The food was excellent- breakfast spread, Golden dragon (loved the Chinese food here!), sri-lankan cuisine. The staff is very polite and helpful. The only thing which disappointed me the most was the rooms, it felt like staying in a 3 star hotel, old small tv box, old furniture and even the towels were old! Though the room was clean and neatly done however the feel was not good. Another thing, your spa is short staffed. There was only one guy managing the entire show!. Guys, its time to change.
BTW the saree uniform of your staff is beautiful!

Room Tip: Ocean view with a balcony as there are some ocean view rooms but without the balcony. I wish I knew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Taj is and has always been known for quality in terms of service and the product offerings. Based on that perception alone, I decided to spend 2 nights here on my recent trip to Colombo. I must say I have very mixed reactions about the hotel.

The property is located on Gall face road, and overlooks the ocean. So, that is a plus point. The front porch and the lobby are both very grand in appearance. The overall feel is very royal and very 5 star like. Just like one would expect in any Taj property.

The service is also very refined and good. I had booked for a garden view room and they bumped me up to an ocean room, without any extra charge. There was also a guest relation officer who accompanied me upto my room upon check-in. So far so good.

Then came the major bummer. The rooms are very old. They are neat and clean nevertheless but are very old. There is a old age box TV and the bed is old and creeky. The bathroom still had fittings from the 80s and I felt that I was in some dilapidated old property and not that of Taj.

The breakfast at the cafe was a good spread of world cuisines and was sumptuous. I did dine at the Golden dragon (the Chinese food restaurant) and was very impressed with the service levels and the quality of food.

Overall, this Taj property didn't impress me much. This needs a serious modern upliftment.

I would suggest renting a room at Kingsbury for the same price, which is very well done up.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdivvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Most pleasant & beautiful view in Colombo...be it night or day, a sea facing room with balcony to sip i the morning tea with newspaper...what else a person can ask for before after a hectic day.
If someone really wants to learn Hospitality, visit this hotel!
Breakfast as delicious & quite as i want, ambience as subtle as an island.
Liked Japs new restaurant 'Yu Mi', i remember it wasn't there last time i visited...some hot good dinner they served..
But what if you get absolute delicious India food as to your requirement that too from head chef, whom after chatting with we came to know was Indian(from Shimla) and made just absolute delicious food, indian music ghazal playing in backdrop & i liked chef's mint chutney which he calls a secret recipe :)
Very subtle ambience & Aroma throughout the hotel...
Nice pool for keeping your feet underwater while sipping some mocktail...ha ha ;)
Bravo!!

Room Tip: Whether you take a pool facing room (EAST FACING) or Beach facing (WEST facing) or north (Official b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piyushagarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 54 in Colombo
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#13 of 54 in Colombo
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Samudra Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Samudra Colombo

Address: 25 Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Family Hotel in Colombo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £105 - £1,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Samudra Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Samudra Colombo is located in the heart of the Colombo city, overlooking the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. The most stylish Executive category rooms are by far the best in design and comfort in the city of Colombo. Taj Samudra offers the following choice of food & beverage outlets - Latitude - all day dining restaurant serving Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a a choice of la carte specialties Navratna - Specialty Indian Restaurant catering to North Indian flavors Golden Dragon - Authentic Chinese Cuisine with a specialty in Sichuan Cuisine, YUMI - Japanese resto bar with live entertainment from Thursday through Saturday,live sports and best of live entertainment over weekends, Lobby Lounge - Unwind over a snack, dessert or a quiet drink. In Room Dining - 24 hour room service Keeping in line with the changing times, Taj Samudra retains the colonial charm, heritage value, sense of space, privacy and luxuries for our esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Prestigia, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Samudra Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Samudra Colombo Hotel Colombo
Taj Samudra Hotel Colombo
Colombo Taj Samudra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing