We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach front in city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Taj Samudra Colombo
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have stayed here several times over the years, and they never disappoint. The customer service is consistently good from the managers down to the bell boys. The buffet is excellent, with both local and international cuisine. They were doing some renovations this time, so there was a minor inconvenience, for which they apologized repeatedly. Get a room overlooking the beach if possible.

Room Tip: overlooking the beach if possible, but all rooms are acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit K, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your great review of your stay at Taj Samudra, Colombo. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,497 - 1,503 of 2,269 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Colombo with a nice view of the ocean. It has been one of the popular five star hotels in the city for decades but the age is showing in the property now and needs an upgrade. The staff is friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HasithP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the club room ,
Amazed by the super friendly staff,
Front Desk Manager was very helpful in assisting us with locations and attractions nearby,
Hotel Chauffeur was very helpful- Clean cars and built in wifi connection

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abdul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed in in Taj Samudra for business trip. While the location of property is awesome on a long beach front and also nearby many offices, it is kind of old and needs renovation. There were areas inside the hotel where you would smell dampness. Service and food are good and as per expectations.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeingSandeepS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the Taj Samudra after a gap of a year as the hotel had been under renovation for quite some time. I was initially allotted a room on the 1st floor but on day 2 was provided with a ocean facing room on their executive 5th floor. The hotel has a very impressive lobby and large well maintained lawns. Just across the hotel is the sea with a walking promenade which runs along the sea coast. Checkin and checkout was quick and efficient. I found the service in the hotel to be prompt. An iron and ironing board was provided on request. All other items like slippers, bathrobe, basic toiletries like toothpaste and shaving kit which are standard in any 5 star hotel are not provided in the room and you have to ask housekeeping if you need them. The rooms are jaded with a worn out carpet and a box TV which TV companies stopped manufacturing years back. The rooms are average sized with decent beds. The bathrooms though clean are average. At Breakfast they provide a large spread and the service was also very good. Room service is also quite fast and the portion reasonably large. The hotel has three excellent restaurants which is a bonus. As a Shangrila and a ITC hotel is coming up next door TAJ really needs to pull up their socks as far as the quality of room goes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed on a business trip with female colleagues. They were constantly lusted after, and one said a staff member walked into her room without knocking. In the night time it would get worse even walking around the hotel. Business men were inviting paid for company back. And the restaurant couldn't bring us main courses at the same time. The rooms and sheets smelt of damp, and on one occasion they had not been changed.
If you are a woman, this is not the hotel for you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in the hotel as part of our honeymoon. We only stayed for two nights as Colombo was the base and end point for a tour around Sri Lanka. We were therefore very tired both times that we were there, so it was much appreciated when the staff went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable. We were given a free upgrade on arrival to a suite with a balcony overlooking the beach at the front of the hotel, which was lovely. We had to call a member of staff when we couldn't work the shower and they were very kind when it was obvious we were being a bit silly. My holdall also had a rip in it by the second time that we were there, and a member of housekeeping staff kindly sewed it up and repaired it for me, which was such a help and saved me having to buy a new one. The staff also rang up Colombo airport for us to check that there was a wrapping service. The buffet food was delicious, and the waiting staff and chefs were so friendly. We had a brief dip in the pool which was very nice and quiet, and the pool guy gave us a ball to play with (we didn't even ask!). The food was also nice. Upon departure, we were given a wooden elephant ornament as a gift, which just reiterates the personal, friendly service. The front desk staff even remembered us from the week before, and we had only briefly spoken with them. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eloise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#11 of 55 in Colombo
2,136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 55 in Colombo
391 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#12 of 55 in Colombo
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Samudra Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Samudra Colombo

Address: 25 Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Family Hotel in Colombo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £137 - £983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Samudra Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Samudra Colombo is located in the heart of the Colombo city, overlooking the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. The most stylish Executive category rooms are by far the best in design and comfort in the city of Colombo. Taj Samudra offers the following choice of food & beverage outlets - Latitude - all day dining restaurant serving Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a a choice of la carte specialties Navratna - Specialty Indian Restaurant catering to North Indian flavors Golden Dragon - Authentic Chinese Cuisine with a specialty in Sichuan Cuisine, YUMI - Japanese resto bar with live entertainment from Thursday through Saturday,live sports and best of live entertainment over weekends, Lobby Lounge - Unwind over a snack, dessert or a quiet drink. In Room Dining - 24 hour room service Keeping in line with the changing times, Taj Samudra retains the colonial charm, heritage value, sense of space, privacy and luxuries for our esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Prestigia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Samudra Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Samudra Colombo Hotel Colombo
Taj Samudra Hotel Colombo
Colombo Taj Samudra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing