We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and in need of a refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Taj Samudra Colombo
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tired and in need of a refurb”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here two nights when we arrived into Colombo, the location across from Galle Face is fantastic (take advantage of the night markets for food they are wonderful). However, despite the initial impression of grandeur in the lobby the hotel is tired, and run down in some parts. Currently in is undergoing renovation and there was jackhammering through the day, making the room very noisy. The breakfast was extensive however a little overpriced.
Once the hotel has had its refurbishment completed hopefully it will return to a hotel where the rooms match the brilliance of the lobby and be a more relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: An ocean view room, once renovations are complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit K, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for staying at Taj Samudra, Colombo. We appreciate your feedback and have taken due note of your observations for improvement.

We do hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,014
    673
    300
    117
    62
See reviews for
498
436
101
867
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Located in the heart of Colombo, just in front of the famous Galle Face Green this is a very popular hotel. Specially the guests who like the sea will select Taj Samudra. You can get an excellent view of the sea from the hotel.

Room Tip: A room overlook the sea would be preferred by most of the guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilmini D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit K, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many Thanks for your kind review. We appreciate your valuable feedback. Look forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed at Taj Samudra multiple times over the last 10 years - this time I went back after a break of 5 years (had stayed at the Cinnamon Grand on last few trips to Colombo).

The hotel facade and lobby has been renovated, and looks impressive. I got a sea facing club room - which was very nice. Really big room, nicely furnished, with a big bathroom and all modern amenities. The room was very comfortable, with a great view of the ocean. I ordered in-room dining - food was quite good (though beer wasn't chilled). Some issues with housekeeping (didn't deliver things on time) - but overall all staff was quite friendly and efficient. The fitness centre is large and well equipped, and the attendant was also very helpful and friendly.

Overall, a good hotel (at least the room that I stayed in) - would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room - preferably sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prateek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit K, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for staying at Taj Samudra, Colombo and for your kind review. It was a pleasure to note your compliments and we were pleased to note that you had a wonderful stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have stayed here several times over the years, and they never disappoint. The customer service is consistently good from the managers down to the bell boys. The buffet is excellent, with both local and international cuisine. They were doing some renovations this time, so there was a minor inconvenience, for which they apologized repeatedly. Get a room overlooking the beach if possible.

Room Tip: overlooking the beach if possible, but all rooms are acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit K, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your great review of your stay at Taj Samudra, Colombo. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Colombo with a nice view of the ocean. It has been one of the popular five star hotels in the city for decades but the age is showing in the property now and needs an upgrade. The staff is friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HasithP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the club room ,
Amazed by the super friendly staff,
Front Desk Manager was very helpful in assisting us with locations and attractions nearby,
Hotel Chauffeur was very helpful- Clean cars and built in wifi connection

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed in in Taj Samudra for business trip. While the location of property is awesome on a long beach front and also nearby many offices, it is kind of old and needs renovation. There were areas inside the hotel where you would smell dampness. Service and food are good and as per expectations.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeingSandeepS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 54 in Colombo
2,046 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,804 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#14 of 54 in Colombo
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Samudra Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Samudra Colombo

Property: Taj Samudra Colombo
Address: 25 Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Family Hotel in Colombo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Samudra Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Samudra Colombo is located in the heart of the Colombo city, overlooking the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. The most stylish Executive category rooms are by far the best in design and comfort in the city of Colombo. Taj Samudra offers the following choice of food & beverage outlets - Latitude - all day dining restaurant serving Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a a choice of la carte specialties Navratna - Specialty Indian Restaurant catering to North Indian flavors Golden Dragon - Authentic Chinese Cuisine with a specialty in Sichuan Cuisine, YUMI - Japanese resto bar with live entertainment from Thursday through Saturday,live sports and best of live entertainment over weekends, Lobby Lounge - Unwind over a snack, dessert or a quiet drink. In Room Dining - 24 hour room service Keeping in line with the changing times, Taj Samudra retains the colonial charm, heritage value, sense of space, privacy and luxuries for our esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Samudra Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Samudra Colombo Hotel Colombo
Taj Samudra Hotel Colombo
Colombo Taj Samudra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing