We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,613)
Filter reviews
2,613 results
Traveller rating
1,329
747
324
134
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,329
747
324
134
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden dragon latitude restaurant club room the sea facing rooms sri lanka galle face road indian ocean indian food coffee shop house keeping breakfast spread business trip an upgrade luxury hotel sea front front office executive floor
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 2,613 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Taj Samudra for three nights in late August. The hotel was fully booked at that time due to several weddings there. Despite that, the room facility, service and the staff friendliness and affection to us were simply superb. This is our first visit to Colombo and Taj Samudra, but based on our experience this will not be the last. We plan to stay here again next year.
Rooms are spacious, clean and extremely well maintained. The dining venues Ports of Call and Navratna, where we had breakfast, lunch and dinner were really excellent. The Indian food was authentic and delicious.
While we give high marks for all staff, some names stand out and deserve special mention:
Nimanthi (Front Office), Haneefa (Conciergie Desk), Sunil (Housekeeping) , Morin, Rangika and Nilanka (Ports of Call ) and Marwan Roshan (Duty Manager). We would also like to compliment the South Indian chef in Ports of Call (His name starts with an "A", but we did not write it down) . He tracked us mid day when we ordered the idlies and came to our table to make sure that we are fully taken care of.
A very delightful visit overall and high marks to Taj Samudra for giving us that phenomenal stay experience.

The Venkataramans, California, USA

Room Tip: We stayed in fourth floor facing the pool. We believe all rooms are well located.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramasubbeir V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarabjeet_TajSamudra, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Taj Samudra, Colombo!
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Taj Samudra and for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear your valuable comments on the service and facilities and conveyed to the team. We all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Taj Samudra, Colombo.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelled with my daughter.
Excellent location in the heart of the city and with beautiful Galle Face views.
Dining and food options are just superb - the quality and variety of food at the buffet breakfast and dinner was incomparable to anything else I have tried so far in Sri Lanka, and we travel frequently there.
Service standard was very high (Dushan at front desk, and Morin at Ports of Call restaurant really looked after us).
Rooms were lovely and well-appointed.
Thank you for looking after us and for a wonderful stay, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Galle face views in luxury suites
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarabjeet_TajSamudra, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Taj Samudra, Colombo! Thank you for choosing to stay with the Taj Samudra, Colombo and for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent visit to Colombo. Your feedback on our facilities, service and breakfast buffet is well noted and conveyed to the team.
We all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Taj Samudra, Colombo.
Best regards,
Sarabjeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very good hotel, friendly staff polite and well mannered, used the Gym which was very well maintained the staff and the officials are accommodative. Break fast is fantastic. The hotel has a good parking space for those coming with vehicles.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank idraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarabjeet_TajSamudra, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Taj Samudra, Colombo!
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Taj Samudra and for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Colombo. We appreciate your valuable comments and looking forward to welcoming you again soon to Taj Samudra, Colombo!
Best regards,
Sarabjeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

That was a fabulous evening. food was just wonderful. l love the service too. amazing service by Mr.Nuzaim , Maduranga & Dileka really enjoyed and most memorable moments in the hotel. hope to come more often and keep up the good work.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank smunasinghe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarabjeet_TajSamudra, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Taj Samudra, Colombo!
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Taj Samudra, Colombo and for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. Your comments on the service and facilities at the Crab Factory have been well noted and conveyed to the team.
We appreciate your recommendation and looking forward to welcoming you again soon to Taj Samudra, Colombo.
Warm regards,
Sarabjeet Singh



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staying here for last two days. Great food with the Taj touch. Very courteous people. Kabeer who delivered room service was excellent, served me a delightful fruit platter. And so was Rahman the Supervisor. Amenities and room quality lack the Taj image though, since it is an old property.

Room Tip: Beautiful sea facing rooms should be chosen
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gulebha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarabjeet_TajSamudra, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Taj Samudra, Colombo!
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Taj Samudra, Colombo and for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your comments on the service and facilities have been well noted and conveyed to the team.
We appreciate your recommendation and looking forward to welcoming you again soon to Taj Samudra, Colombo.
Best regards,
Sarabjeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews