We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Samudra Colombo
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,386)
Filter reviews
2,386 results
Traveller rating
1,158
711
317
127
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,158
711
317
127
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden dragonlatitude restaurantclub roomthe sea facing roomssri lankagalle face roadindian oceanindian foodcoffee shophouse keepingbusiness tripbreakfast spreadcraban upgradesea frontluxury hotelfront office
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,187 - 2,192 of 2,386 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Its a great hotel near to sea and ane of the nice road of srilanka. The stay was enjoyable and memorable with lots of fun

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleprabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I was on a business trip with my father to colombo. This hotel provides business conference facilities. They have workstations and meeting rooms.. This hotel was very convenient for us since it provided all the facilities that we needed.
They also provide wifi service..
In terms of being value for money, I got a good deal, so according to me it was value for money.
The coffee shop - ports of call and the fine dine restaurant golden dragon served excellent food. Golden dragon had authentic chinese which will be hard to anywhere else in colombo.
The location is excellent as it is right in the hub of the city.
It has a direct and beautiful view of the Indian Ocean adding to its beauty.
The staff and room service was excellent and hospitable. I faced no problem whatsoever.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atishay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I booked this hotel through my colleagues in Lanka, mainly for the price that was on offer compared to the other hotels in the area and also the recommendation of Tripadvisor.

I have stayed at many hotels in India and abroad, mostly that are close to my business needs and travel.Most hotels I stay are in the higher category class to ensure trouble free stays and good service.

Price wise this was one of the "cheaper" hotel in its category and location in Lanka. Although the hotel is old with the corridors carpet needing a bit of cleaning or change. The entrance and the lobby is great.Checkin time took less than 5 minutes.I thought that it would be just like any regular luxury hotel with the same sized room and amenities but this was beyond my imagination.The room was really large with a lot of space to move around the bed with excellent interiors.The sofa and bed was comfortable with the central AC noise being really low.

The view from the hotel is absolutely breathtaking.It overlooks the sea and feels like the wave is coming.It feels that you are at the beach. There is a garden before the beach which adds to the view.

The food at the Latitude is good with international cuisine.The Golden Dragon restaurant also has good chinese food with the staff being nice and courteous.

You might be sitting to somebody famous at the breakfast.There was the Pakistani and Bangladeshi cricket team staying as well as Hollywood stars like Salman Khan at the hotel.

All in all very good value for money

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumone2nv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

You can enjoy excellent hospitality from Taj, enjoy happening disco Nuovo and the best Indian restaurant food can be available here

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvindash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

First up, let me say that we chose this hotel for our overnight stay almost solely on the basis of it being a Taj property - we've experienced their service elsewhere, and hence had high expectations - which Taj Samudra completely met.
We just had an overnight stay in Colombo before we left for a longer stay in bentota - and we left wishing we had longer.
The service is impeccable - fast, unobtrusive and efficient. One of the fastest check ins I've had - the property is located facing the main marina, and we had a lovely seafacing view room from where one could the marian all lit up with colourful vendor carts at night. The room itself was spacious, modern and very clean.
Do make it a point to spend some time in the bar - lovely music, cheap booze, and not too crowded....do ask the bar man to give you their special cashew snack....hot and spicy ! Since we had only one night , we couldnt check out all the restaurants - the Italian one we ate in had a pretty vast menu, and excellent food - totally recommended.
Shopping tip - do try to visit House of Fashion for cheap clothing - a mammoth range, and everyone knows where it is ! i am not much of a shopper, but this is a place where even I go wild , coz the stuff is good & so cheap !
In sum - Taj Samudra is a very comfortable property, that rises several nothces due to the excellent service as well.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nidhi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews