We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel at a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Colombo
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
231 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A good hotel at a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel after 7 years since our last visit in December 2007 and found the hotel to be as good as it was the last time. The staff members were very hospitable and cooperative and ready to make you comfortable. The room had all the amenities that you need for a comfortable stay. The breakfast spread was varied and the ambience at the restaurant was good. However, you have a feeling that the hotel needs some refurbishing. Overall it was a good and happy experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
It is a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hilton Colombo.

We value your loyalty and we are pleased that you have enjoyed the services and facilities.

I am pleased that you felt comfortable and well-taken care of while you were with us. Your comments are well taken and you will be pleased to hear that we are planned to undergo and extensive refurbishment programme of our rooms and facilities with minimum inconvenience to our guests. We look forward to presenting a revitalised Hilton Colombo to you and all our guests.

Thank you once again for all the support.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    735
    308
    104
    42
See reviews for
266
466
188
769
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
227 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Colombo is a city in transition. The end of the Tamil Insurrection has released a wave of development. Old colonial style buildings are being torn down and the city seems to be a series of construction sites separated by gridlocked traffic. The Hilton stands downtown as an oasis in this sea of activity. Now I wouldn't say that Colombo is a top spot for the tourist. The locals all say you need to get out of town to the tourists spots, the beaches etc. However if you are in Sri Lanka to do business then the Hilton is handily situated close to many Government Offices.

On Arrival
Check-in was quick and seamless, within 5 minutes in my room and taking a well needed shower before crashing the swede.

The Room was spacious and I would note:
King size bed
A good work desk with a decent chair
Combo safe
Well stocked minibar (although the usual rip off prices)
Wi Fi available - at a cost of about $2.50 per hour in your room but free in the lobby
A plus was an excellent view of the Government Buildings with the Indian Ocean in the background.
However it should be said the Hotel is starting to show signs of needing a makeover

Eating
The buffet breakfast lunch and dinner was to be had in "Spices", the all day cafe. If one ignored the western food then there were some very good local dishes on offer. I ate here most of the week and it was a chow hound’s heaven.

Curry Leaf is a "local" themed restaurant. Seafood buffet plus Sri Lankan food. Decor is sort of market style. Again not too bad a grazing spot, one can eat outside or huddle in the air con section.

The hotel has direct access to the World Trade Centre next door, there are a couple of espresso joints in there if you are looking for a Latte or Cappuccino

There is a "Bar" which follows the well worn formula of the "Ye Olde English Pub". Dark decor and three flat screens all relentlessly showing cricket. Usual Happy Hour timings and a line of wedges, wings and burgers.

During my visit I was felled by the local gastric flu. Spent 24hrs on the throne. I was impressed by the resident MO who turned to and provided excellent medical advice and a script for some medication.

Transport
Options are bus, rail, tuk tuk, private taxi and hotel taxi. One can get to Colombo from the airport in a taxi for about $US 25. There is an option to book a Hilton Taxi but that will set you back $US 48. Tuk tuks are ok for short runs around town but set your price before climbing on. The experience will expose you to 35 degree heat, plenty of exhaust pipe pollution and the excitement of being in a small conveyance fighting for road space with a bunch of trucks and buses. Good for a thrill.

Of Interest
The Lobby has a Tea Bar where the tea-aholics can line up and taste tea of a multitude of flavours. Me, well I was more excited by the Sports Bar.

Upside

Very good service
Excellent in house dining with a good representation of local specialities
Central Location for those road warriors in town for business

Downside
Location is in the Government area and away from the retail and recreational areas. This means essaying forth in the Tuk Tuks or taxis

Tip
If you have to fly to Colombo you might pick a flight that gets in late at night that way you will miss the gridlocked traffic

Disclosure:

Spent five days at the Hilton attending a Meeting

Would I go back? yep so long as I could get a $150 a day rack rate

Is this the best place you ever stayed at? In terms of luxury not too bad but the Howard Johnson's in Ningbo China is the podium finisher

Room Tip: Ask for a Room on the West Side, that will get you a view of the Government Buildings and the Indian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph777051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Colombo. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we are glad that you felt comfortable. We appreciate your detailed feedback.

It is good to know that you made good use of our facilities and have enjoyed them. We hope that you do visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits.

With our very best wishes,

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1,119 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here again this month, and service is better than my last two visits. Esp at checkin/out---where things were better/faster this time. The rooms are comfortable, although older and carpets have stains. Hopefully the rennovation will go smoothly and all rooms will be updated soon. The restaurant is top notch-- nice atmosphere and great service--and a really nice breakfast buffet is included with the room rate. Location of the hotel is convenient--- easy to get around town from here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenabaindelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Hilton Colombo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed the breakfast options.

We will be commencing shortly on a refurbishment programme of our rooms and facilities and very much look forward to presenting a revitalised Hilton Colombo to you and all our guests.

We hope to have you with us again, should you return to Colombo in the future.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

From the time we checked in, to the day we left, we were treated with respect and made us feel at home. Every one is helpful and wanted us to feel comfortable and enjoy our stay. They always greet you with a warm and friendly smile.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
The pleasure was ours to welcome you to the Hilton Colombo!

It is indeed rewarding for my team members to realise that what they do everyday had a gret impact on your outstanding experiencece and we thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to extending Sri Lankan hospitality to you should you return to Colombo.

Yours sincerely

Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This Hilton location is an exceptionally well managed property. It has gotten a wee long in the tooth and as of May 2014 they were in the process of a much needed facelift. You might want to ask for one of the recently renovated rooms. Still, though, a great stay. The breakfast buffet is fabulous.

Room Tip: Upper floor, ocean views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CareyRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
The pleasure was ours to welcome you to the Hilton Colombo.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and made good use of our facilties. It is great knowing that you liked the services and there were many highlights of your stay at the Hilton Colombo.

We look forward to extending our Sri Lankan hospitality to you on your future visits.

Thank you

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I like Hilton hotel , and always I chose this hotel , I think this number 12 times I use the Hilton , UAE , KENYA , DOHA and EYGPT , THANKS FOR THE Management and stuff who manage this Hotel and I hope any trip I travel to use Hilton because I feel in my home , and I relax till maximum , before I use other hotel in sir lanka but it was not clean and in the same time five stars , but Hilton more than amazing hotel , Congratulation for this management

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Aiman Bou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the Hilton Colombo.

We value your comments and it is good to know that you made good use of our facilities.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

this is one on the best hotel in colombo i advise any one with to travel to colombo to stay in this hotel due to many reason, 1- location near the sea 2- professional staff 3- high speed internet 4- 5 different restaurant 6- big loby 7- they offer the best english breakfast 8- free music band every night in loby 9- room space and view to the sea & to the lake this hotel good for honeymooners to stay minimum 3 nights they will get the best relax time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Colombo. It was our pleasure to welcoming you and we are glad that you felt comfortable and well-looked after by the team.

We do appreciate your feedback on your experience and my team will be happy as I am to hear your fine sentiments.

Thank you once again and look forward to your ongoing support.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#13 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo

Property: Hilton Colombo
Address: 2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#4 Business Hotel in Colombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#9 Family Hotel in Colombo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Hotel Colombo
Hilton International Colombo
Colombo Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing