We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Colombo
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Business Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

A vintage property in city centre and in close vicinity to lovely sea-face. I stayed there for four nights and it was comfortable. The hotel has got a lot of eating options but I feel it falls short on vegetarian/Indian cuisines. Breakfast got monotonous and menu needs to rethink. Business centres surely requires some high speed colour printers.

Room Tip: try for rooms overlooking sea face compared to harbour facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saurabhaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the HIlton Colombo during your stay with us.

Your comments are well taken and we do appreciate the feedback. May we take this opportunity to thank you for your support of the Hilton Colombo and we do look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits.

Thank You

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    735
    308
    104
    42
See reviews for
266
466
188
769
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Overall experience is very good. In breakfast more variety in Indian foods need improvement. Staffs are very co operative. The location is excellent with sea view. Fantastic lobby, large ball rooms for any function. But discotheque is missing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank S S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.

We are pleased that you have utilized and enjoyed the services & facilities of our hotel and your request for more Indian cuisine is well taken.

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your support of the Hilton Colombo and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I recently spent a little over 2 weeks at the Hilton Hotel in Sri Lanka. I found that the whole staff made me and my husband to feel special. They were always there to try and help no matter what we asked from getting a taxi, information on shopping or movies or even giving us some Sri Lankan history. Travelers that want a posh five star American hotel you might be disappointed, but our suite was clean and if there was ever anything that we needed or wanted the staff was quick to try and accommodate.
I was especially happy with the executive lounge staff who, when they weren't busy with a bevy of busy travelers, took time to talk to us about Sri Lanka and the history of their country. If you are a traveler that is looking to be treated like a queen or king in a five star hotel I can not given you advise, because I look to experience and learn when I go to a new country. This staff was amazing.
Live music was heard daily in lobby. During the day a pianist would play popular tunes, at night a band would sing various genres.
Spices the main dinning facility offered a breakfast buffet where staff took time to teach us about how to eat the Sri Lanka way, teaching us and helping us learn about various curries, fruits and other foods. The view of the pond with lazy koi fish, cormorants, swans and ducks was beautiful and well maintained. The room service was very efficient and was always special.
The pool and exercise facility was very accommodating but a little walk from the hotel. Again the staff was open to helping with anything.
The views of the old Parliament and the events that happened there and in close proximity to the Dutch Hospital and Galle Face made it well placed in the city.
Definitely worth a stay if your heading to Sri Lana

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Indian Ocean is nice above floor 9 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for commending my team for their warm and attentive service. It was our pleasure to be of service to you.

We are delighted that you had many highlights during your stay in Sri Lanka and the Hilton Colombo.

We hope that you do visit us again and we look forward to extending our Sri Lankan hospitality to you, should you return to Colombo.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Facilities of the hotel are fulfilling. Especially, Pool is fantastic! Pool has wide TV screen, bar and restaurant. The confusing way to go to the pool. I had a graceful time in pool & poolside. The view from the room is beautiful. Room is comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank TravelerMick98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
That you very much for your kind comments. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the pool facilities.

We thank you for your support of the Hilton Colombo and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our personal experience with Hilton Colombo came into being when we had our wedding on the evening of 10 July at Ballroom 1. From the start to the finish of the entire process of organizing the event, the team at Hilton provided their fullest support. Especially the Banquets and Events team -lead by Arosha and Kosala-were very meticulous in their jobs and went into a lot of detail to avoid inconveniences to the invited guests and to us.

After our wedding, we stayed another extra night at the Hotel and was upgraded to a lovely suite at the Executive Floor. The room (1817) had a breathtaking view of the Indian Ocean, the Galleface Green and the City Of Colombo. Excellent suite with good amenties.

The experience that we had when it comes to food was good. Especially the dinner that we had at the 'Emperor's Wok' was truly memorable. The aroma which came from the food intensified our apetite and the taste was out of this world. However, we thought that the dishes were overpriced compared to the portions that were offered. If the prices were a little cheaper, we would have ordered more and would have been even tempted to return very frequently to the restaurant in the future with our friends. However, generally it was a lovely experience at the 'Wok'.

The hospitality provided by the staff was great and customer friendly. From the front office to the other supporting staff at other departments were commendable. We noticed that an extra effort is being made by them to make the guests happy and comfortable at the property. However, some staff members-we felt-overdid it a little by making irrelevant small talk. Following our wedding night, when we went for breakfast, the lady who welcomed us, congratulated on our marriage, asked me how I felt and whether I am going thorough a hangover. :-) Initially, my wife and I thought it was too personal of a question to ask. However, we realized that her intention was to be customer friendly in her own way. We felt that-in general- everyone in the staff should be taught on how to make relevant small talk with the customers, while not invading their privacy.

All in all, the experience that we had at the Colombo Hilton was more than positive. We would definitely continue using it's services in times to come.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Galleface Green and the Indian Ocean would make the experience very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakshina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your insights from your recent stay at the Hilton Colombo. We always appreciate hearing back from our guests.

We are pleased that your wedding ceremony went off well and overall, created a positive impact.

Your comments are well taken on the concerns of staff making 'small talk' and I will be personally addressing this matter.

Thank you once again for your support of the Hilton Colombo and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

great hotel with great scenic and beauty,great view of the iocean ,my advice is please contact Sarath senior sales manager for booking he will 100% look after your needs and make sure your stay is comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
The pleasure was ours to welcome you to Hilton Colombo.

Thank you for commending my team for their attentive service. It was our pleasure to be of service to you.

We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had organised a business conference in Colombo. Had first selected another hotel. However, due to certain reasons, the hotel we ultimately had conference was Hilton. And it was literally a blessing in disguise. The hotel looks like an apartment complex from outside. However, enter the lobby and you would be mesmerized by amazing colonial style architecture, wide spaces, royal artifacts, decorations, etc. Stunning!!! I had checked in early in morning around 6 am and was greeted by an excellent staff... one thing for sure that separates Hilton from other hotels will be the staff... I am so very thankful to them... The room they provided me was an executive suite room facing the parliament building with a backdrop of the ocean.. awesome!!! wow!!! maybe I can sit by the window and write a book!!!

The conference hall was as per the requirements... large to accommodate an audience of around 100...

The food was excellent... The spread was lavish... However, it was predominantly non-veg based... maybe little more thought considering the fact many Indians visit Colombo... Neways I aint complaining as I am a non-veggie and I thoroughly enjoyed the food and lavish spread...

However, the best was reserved for the night.... a large screen was put up in one of resto for football world cup match and it was an amazing experience... a large crowd had gathered and it was gr8 fun.... the next nite we are treated with live music playing the classics and jazz... the band was awesome... they kept every1 glued to their seats... and amazingly they have this every nite....

truly superb experience!!! looking forward to visit again!!!

Room Tip: select rooms with a view of the parliament building of Colombo
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milan_choksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review of the Hilton Colombo.

We are pleased that you have utilized and enjoyed the services & facilities of our hotel.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#13 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo

Property: Hilton Colombo
Address: 2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#4 Business Hotel in Colombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#9 Family Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Hotel Colombo
Hilton International Colombo
Colombo Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing