We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD IS gold”
Review of Hilton Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Colombo
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

i stayed three days back in this hotel for three nights
all are good nothing to complain
the best part veiw from u r bed
u can see sea from u r bed and have fantstic morning wake up
the breakfast is really good and tasty and the ambience is soo good
overall maintainace of this hotel is good
i liked this hotel and my stay

Room Tip: high rise floors above 7 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kiran00075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

The pleasure was ours to welcome you to the Hilton Colombo.

Delighted that you have enjoyed the view from your room and have utilized the services and facilties.

Thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Rooms are nice and staff are lovely. Location is great for the World Trade Centre as there is a bridge linking. The Curry Leaf is the best of the in house restaurants for dinner with a Sri Lankan buffet. If you're in a hurry in the morning the "fine things' bakery does good croissants, danishes etc to take away. Only negatives I can think of are that there is only free wifi in the lobby not in rooms and also avoid the hotel shops especially the gem ones- super pricey but thats to be expected!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sj1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review and we appreciate the comments.

We do appreciate your support of the Hilton Colombo and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having stayed in more than 10 Hilton hotels for more than 60 nights this year alone, I can honestly say that this property does not meet Hilton standards. The lobby looks great and the restaurants are good, but the moment you go to the floors above you notice how old this hotel is. I was here almost 20 years ago and nothing gas really changed since. The rooms look tired (for example there are 1970's hairdryers in the bathrooms which don't work anymore and instead of removing them they are still there and a modern hairdryer is provided in the cupboard.

On the positive side, the rooms are clean, the restaurants are good and the staff were very nice. However these are things I would expect in any Hilton...

This hotel really needs to be renovated, in the meantime there are at least 5 hotels in Colombo in the same price range that do deliver 5 star service. I would stay at the Kingsbury or Cinnamon Grand. With the Hyatt and Shangri-La being constructed by the end of the year, and the Galle Face being renovated things are not looking good for the Colombo Hilton. Lastly, the General Manager of the hotel keeps responding to reviews that the hotel will be renovated soon, but I have seen no preparation being done for this yet.

Room Tip: Get a high floor, away from the elevator and be sure to state your preference for a non smoking room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woutervw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your comments which are well taken.

As you rightly said, the Hilton Colombo has been mentioned that it will undergo a renovation/refurbishment on a phased out basis for which preparations are underway.

We do hope you will bear with us so as to provide a revitalized product in the near future.

We do appreciate your onging support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to experience true Hilton hospitality.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was a very good stay in a very friendly environment. The food was very good and variety was admirable. Conveniently located in Colombo. The staff was very helpful and easily accessible. The room service was orderly and prompt.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Prasanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Hilton Colombo.

We are delighted that you have utilized and enjoyed the services & facilities of our hotel.

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your support of the Hilton Colombo and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hilton chains are quite amusing and luxurous once you step to this hotel you get the feeling of the differance in the level of preperation and service provided apart from the rooms rest of services were superb.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Abdulrahman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Colombo during your stay with us.

We note that you were disppointed with the rooms. However you were satisfied with the rest of the services & facilities.

You may be pleased to hear that the HIlton Colombo is planned to undergo a renovaiton/refurbishment programme on a phased out basis and we look forward to providing all our guests a revitalized product.

We thank you once again for your support.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have reviewed a lot of hotels. 90% or better getting very good reviews from me. With the "Hilton" brand comes certain expectations, this "Hilton" is as follows:

1. Outdated, from stains on the carpets, large black water stains around the sink fixtures, chipping paint around doorways old scratched up desk, and mismatched furniture. The entire room feels likes its 25 years old. Now that is fine if your not paying and expecting what the "Hilton" brand has branded it self to be. Same things others have stated.

2. Pool area is really "ricky ticky" to get to unless there was another way than how I found myself getting there, which seemed to only be by walking through the lobby, past the guests sitting in the lobby area by the bar, to walk out over a very old open air skywalk walk across the street. Little bit of a ways. Once you get to the pool, it was clean and fine. Just goofy getting there as others have stated.

3. The breakfast buffet was the same each of the 4 mornings I had ate there. The "continental" section was very limited, its like no thought or effort goes into making a variety etc. (Like a school lunch breakfast on a vary limited budget). I think the chef's or management needs to visit some of their competitors and see how other hotels do breakfasts.

4. Wifi. Nothing less than saying it sucks! The price is 1800 Rupee per 24 hours or $14.00 per day in your room. (they let none paying guests or really anyone use it for free in the lobby..paying for an outdated room allows you to be charged for slow wifi I guess). I have never been kick off so many times in a hotel ever. When it was working, I might have well sent my documents through the postal service, would have gotten there faster. Being charged for wifi that is FREE at MOST hotels, and nearly every restaurant etc. etc. at places, and then being CHARGED $14.00 / 24 hours, for crappy slow wifi is just plain WRONG.

5. Service, I want to be fair, and say that the hotel staff have been very polite, and generally helpful. The evening shift in the Chinese restaurant could use some additional training and pick up the pace, but they were nice. Everyone was nice.

6. Location, very good location, there are 3 wheeler's / taxies, or able to walk to a lot of things very quickly.

7. Elevator was quick (trying to find positive qualities here)

My honest poor review is not about getting a "form letter apology" from the management, it's simply about comparing hotels. This Hilton just does not meet the expectations of what one would expect when staying at a Hilton brand. The hotel needs a renovation, and updated policy on what people are expecting when staying at this hotel brand, owners or upper management need to stop pocketing all the profits and REINVEST.

Room Tip: I personally would choose another hotel. You'll get more at a much newer or update hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your comments during your recent stay with us.

We note that your recent stay with us was not as comfortable as it should have been due to the various circumstances experienced by you. Your comments are well taken.

We are pleased to advise you the hotel is planned to undergo an extensive renovation/refurbishment very soon on a phased out basis and we look forward to providing all our esteemed guests a revitalized product.

The sports & fitness facility is linked by an overhead bridge to the main hotel and access is through the ground floor.

We do appreciate your support of the Hilton Colombo and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

3 bed apartment very tired needs modernising badly furniture very old beds comfy no information in room for tourists always stayed at the hilton residences in Gold Coast Australia this is it's very poor and distant relation on the upside staff are all very friendly and helpful

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Brilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review and we note that your stay was not as comfortable as it should have been.

The Hilton Colombo is planned to undergo a renovation/refurbishment on a phased out basis and we look forward to a revitalized product soon.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#10 of 55 in Colombo
2,342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#8 of 55 in Colombo
519 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo

Address: 2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#4 Business Hotel in Colombo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#9 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: £121 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the title of Sri Lanka’s Leading Hotel and Sri Lanka’s Leading Business Hotel at the World Travel Awards, this Colombo hotel is centrally located in Colombo’s business district. With a range of accommodation, from guest rooms and executive rooms to suites, this hotel in Colombo offers stunning views over the Indian Ocean. For relaxation and business alike, Guests will enjoy the endless luxurious accommodations we have to offer. • Only hotel with a connecting bridge to The World Trade Centre • Largest pillar-less ballroom in the city • Signature chefs from Italy, Japan, India, China, Australia and Sri Lanka • Located in the heart of Colombo • Equipped with a gym, pool, karaoke bar and signature restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Hotel Colombo
Hilton International Colombo
Colombo Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing