We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifully designed home”
Review of Bangalawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bangalawa
Ranked #27 of 147 Colombo B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautifully designed home”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Overall: This house has some beautiful design features and is a delight to stay in.
Location: About 20 mins in a tuk tuk to the fort area, in a nice suburban region which is refreshingly quite at night
Food: There is a small cooking area downstairs if required, and they will make a very nice breakfast included in cost. Not sure if they do dinner, we went out each night
Staff: Very lovely, friendly and helpful
Cleanliness: Very clean, very well appointed, with lovely bathrooms, hot water and evidently a lot of thought gone into it
Wifi: works well throughout
Helpful: A bit out of the way but feels like a haven in busy colombo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
22
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

A real piece of calm in the crazyness of the town.The place is super clean, beautiful, with a tasteful and zen decoration. A cute and nice backyard. Very comfy beds, hot water, AC. And overall, Manaharie the owner with her kindness, and her cooking super talent! Oh my god this is just the beginning of our trip and i'm not sure we'll eat better breakfast in other places!
Bangalawa is the place to be in Colombo! And Manaharie the best owner!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onemorefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The room was quite big and really cosy furnished, it has a pretty bathroom with shower cabin (no asian-style-wet-floor-everywhere))
At 1st floor there is very nice kitchen that I was using to wash and slice some fruits that I bought))
Wi-fi internet is also working well.
When I will come to Colombo next time I think I will stay in this place :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed there for 2 night and it was great. The place is very clean and to the room attach a beautiful garden and a kitchen which make the stay there very comfortable. The owner is very nice and she helped us with everything we need.



  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yael1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I am so glad this was my first stop in Sri Lanka. After I missed my connecting flight and had to arrive at 1am a day later- communicating with Manahari (owner) was a breeze and nothing was too much trouble. Her Sri Lankan breakfast is delicious and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. It was great being out of the hustle and bustle of Colombo but close (and cheap) enough in a Tuk tuk to be a part of the action. Could not recommend this place highly enough- as a single female traveller Bangalawa was definitely the right choice. Thanks for everything Manahari!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belaldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Really stunning guest house, great architecture, brilliant host, food and atmosphere. Its great that a little serene environment exists like this in Colombo. Clean lovely room and bathroom and great for the price. Probably about 3 or 4 dollar tuk tuk journey into colombo hub (galle face etc). Great place highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noakes1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel is very clean,beautiful and delicate.The hostess is warm.Make fruit juice for us.And the kitchen can cooking by ourself.The house have a garden, is beautiful.The boothroom very clean,and fitment is very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sisi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.0 mi away
Natures Treat Bungalow
Natures Treat Bungalow
#43 of 147 in Colombo
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moss Colombo
Moss Colombo
#4 of 147 in Colombo
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highbury Colombo
Highbury Colombo
#15 of 147 in Colombo
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Frangipani
Frangipani
#11 of 147 in Colombo
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa 63
Villa 63
#20 of 147 in Colombo
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chapelton House
Chapelton House
#7 of 147 in Colombo
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangalawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangalawa

Property: Bangalawa
Address: 4/9 Sanasa mawatha,Off Koswatte Road,Nawala, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Nawala, just outside the city limits of Colombo, a 35 minute drive from the airport on the highway , & a 2 minute walk from the Koswatte junction, but totally away from the hustle-bustle of town life.We are also within walking distance to super markets , hospitals and restaurants. The bungalow is family run and newly constructed with three (3) elegant rooms having AC (split units), 3 toilets with hot and cold water, living, dining, self catering facilities and secure vehicle parking. The house overlooks a landscaped garden.The villa is designed with a pleasant blend of modern chic & old world charm. We provide complimentary WIFI. Guests have access to a fully-equipped kitchen, which has a stove, fridge, kettle, microwave, cutlery etc.We provide linen and towels free of charge . These are changed every five days.We clean the room/apartment every two days unless otherwise requested.We can arrange transport to any part of the country or airport pickup/drop service .Tuk tuks are just a stones throw away and will transport you conveniently to the Colombo city centre within 20 minutes. Meals are arranged on prior notice.The hosts live close by in the same premises and are happy to assist the guests in what ever way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bangalawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing