We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect introduction to Sri Lanka” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangalawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bangalawa
Ranked #24 of 130 Colombo B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“The perfect introduction to Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This place is terrific value for money. We stayed here on our first night off the plane and it was exactly what we wanted. The rooms are beautiful with high ceilings and great, modern bathrooms. The ground floor room we stayed in had a nice balcony to relax on and access to the tidy garden (complete with two energetic pugs and a tortoise). There's even an adjoining block, tended by the warm family, that is full of cabbage and leek. This adds to the comfortable, yet traditional atmosphere that seems so effortlessly created at Bangalawa.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
22
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

You will love the rooms and bathroom! What a style and charming house. Breakfast on Sri Lankan style is amazing, fresh juices, Manaharie will look after you. You don't wanna leave to the busy roads! Far from the centre but easy on a three wheeler! Love from Sydney

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for only one night and although we arrived late in the evening, we were welcomed and given our room with no trouble and had a wonderful nights sleep. Breakfast was very nice and the house is a truly beautiful building - an oasis in the bustle of Colombo.
Our hosts were kind and helpful, arranging transport on to our next destination. Highly recommended for a unique and different experience to staying in a standard hotel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gabbyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Overall: This house has some beautiful design features and is a delight to stay in.
Location: About 20 mins in a tuk tuk to the fort area, in a nice suburban region which is refreshingly quite at night
Food: There is a small cooking area downstairs if required, and they will make a very nice breakfast included in cost. Not sure if they do dinner, we went out each night
Staff: Very lovely, friendly and helpful
Cleanliness: Very clean, very well appointed, with lovely bathrooms, hot water and evidently a lot of thought gone into it
Wifi: works well throughout
Helpful: A bit out of the way but feels like a haven in busy colombo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

A real piece of calm in the crazyness of the town.The place is super clean, beautiful, with a tasteful and zen decoration. A cute and nice backyard. Very comfy beds, hot water, AC. And overall, Manaharie the owner with her kindness, and her cooking super talent! Oh my god this is just the beginning of our trip and i'm not sure we'll eat better breakfast in other places!
Bangalawa is the place to be in Colombo! And Manaharie the best owner!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onemorefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The room was quite big and really cosy furnished, it has a pretty bathroom with shower cabin (no asian-style-wet-floor-everywhere))
At 1st floor there is very nice kitchen that I was using to wash and slice some fruits that I bought))
Wi-fi internet is also working well.
When I will come to Colombo next time I think I will stay in this place :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed there for 2 night and it was great. The place is very clean and to the room attach a beautiful garden and a kitchen which make the stay there very comfortable. The owner is very nice and she helped us with everything we need.



  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yael1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.0 mi away
Frangipani
Frangipani
#7 of 130 in Colombo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chapelton House
Chapelton House
#10 of 130 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa 63
Villa 63
#21 of 130 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Natures Treat Bungalow
Natures Treat Bungalow
#43 of 130 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
AV15
AV15
#27 of 130 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colpetty House
Colpetty House
#30 of 130 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangalawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangalawa

Property: Bangalawa
Address: 4/9 Sanasa mawatha,Off Koswatte Road,Nawala, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Nawala, just outside the city limits of Colombo, a 35 minute drive from the airport on the highway , & a 2 minute walk from the Koswatte junction, but totally away from the hustle-bustle of town life.We are also within walking distance to super markets , hospitals and restaurants. The bungalow is family run and newly constructed with three (3) elegant rooms having AC (split units), 3 toilets with hot and cold water, living, dining, self catering facilities and secure vehicle parking. The house overlooks a landscaped garden.The villa is designed with a pleasant blend of modern chic & old world charm. We provide complimentary WIFI. Guests have access to a fully-equipped kitchen, which has a stove, fridge, kettle, microwave, cutlery etc.We provide linen and towels free of charge . These are changed every five days.We clean the room/apartment every two days unless otherwise requested.We can arrange transport to any part of the country or airport pickup/drop service .Tuk tuks are just a stones throw away and will transport you conveniently to the Colombo city centre within 20 minutes. Meals are arranged on prior notice.The hosts live close by in the same premises and are happy to assist the guests in what ever way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bangalawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing