We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bangalawa
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
41
10
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
10
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhome away from homedriversrihosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Bangalawa is a really lovely boutique homestay with three rooms. The design is very well thought out, nicely blending ethnic and antique looking elements with the contemporary. Manahari, the host, takes really good care of her guests and has lots of useful advice. Her breakfast is outstanding. The fruits she served had just the right degree of ripeness and her omelet was the best we had during our three weeks in Sri Lanka. We stayed in the room on the ground floor, which had a nice little terrace overlooking a lush garden, which almost makes you forget that you are in a big city. The beds are a little weak, but we liked the pillow and the solid blanket. Only disadvantage: Bangalawa is quite some way out of town, and there are no restaurants in the immediate neighborhood. The approximately 8 kms to Fort will cost about 400 Rupees in a Tuk-tuk and won't take much more than 20 mins. Room prices don't include tax and AC. The latter will cost an extra $7+.

Room Tip: Ground floor room has a terrace and will give you direct access to the garden.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boardshorts48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Nestled away in a side street near a busy junction in Nawala, this rustic but elegant and large house sits as a retreat away from the hustle and bustle that is common in Colombo city. I spent two nights here after long travels due to transit times, and couldn't have thanked myself more for choosing this place.
The whole place is immaculately well maintained, with tasteful interior touches that make you really feel comfortable, whilst still like you are deep in part of the Sri Lankan country. The couple are very lovely, and always happy to help out. The cook is also amazing, and will treat you to some great Sri Lankan foods, whatever you are after. I loved the garden grown mandarin juice that Manahari, really thirst quenching on a hot day!
The bottom room opens up to a balcony where you can really relax and sit with a laptop and do work, or play with the energetic pug dogs. It is peaceful, and rest quality is always great as you only hear the sounds of the birds when you wake up (the traffic noise is barely minimum).
I would highly recommend it if you want a smooth introduction to Sri Lanka, and you don't find hotels as appealing when you travel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny0661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Plus: Our flight was quite late at night around 10 pm, so we booked the airport pick up by the hotel, it was not cheap but considering the distance and the a-bit-hard-to-find location of the hotel, I think it was a wise thing to do. The welcome milk tea was very comforting after 10 hours travel. I loved the room, the bathroom and the whole house. Open, airy and very elegant. The lady who owns and runs this home stay was very helpful with fluent English.

Minus: The location is a bit far away from the center, about 8 km. But to be honest, I don't find the center of Colombo particularly interesting. If you only have one night or half day then maybe you want to stay in the center for convenience. There is the sea after all. The tuk tuk driver whom the owner lady arranged for us was quite incapable of English or the some places like Barefoot the shop. So unfortunately it took us a long time in finding those places and in trying to communicate. But he was nice and did help us find a nice restaurant called Upalis.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms in total, 2 double rooms and 1 single room. We stayed in the double room downstairs which I think is the best with the access to the garden. The double room upstairs has a new balcony and the single room has a separate bathroom which is outside the room but quite close, just one or two meters away.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pingping C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We loved this place. It is very oldie worldie ethnic style, but we loved everything about it.
The couple were lovely, asked what type of breakfast we'd like and really I don't have anything
"con" to say. The room was a good size and so was the shower room.

Room Tip: I recommend this place absolutely.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malnit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here the first night after ariving in Colombo. A bit out of the city center, calm and perfect after a long flight from Europe. Nice house and rooms. Staff was really helpful, totally recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utopian-dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews