We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in private house”
Review of Delma Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Delma Bungalow
Ranked #30 of 136 Colombo B&B and Inns
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
174 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice place in private house”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is a bed and breakfast in a beautiful house with a nice garden of an elderly couple. It is in a quiet residential neighborhood. It is a great place, if you like to stay with Sri Lankan family, it is not, if you prefer privacy. It is very difficult to find, even for taxi drivers. There are no nearby restaurants where you can just walk to and the place is far out of downtown and on the other side of town from the airport. The quality of the food is excellent and served in style at the dining table in the living room. You pay three times more than a local restaurant, but it is still cheap for Western standards. The couple is very friendly and helpful towards the guests, but I was disturbed by the authoritarian management style of the owners toward their only servant who has to work hard and long hours (Please tip him). Neither were they very transparent about the prices they charge for food and drinks unless you ask. We had to pay additional for the use of the air conditioning and the AC was blowing uncomfortable straight on our bed. In order to go to the bathroom we had to pass through the living room, which does not contribute to a feeling of privacy. I recommend the place, if you don't mind less privacy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Manel D, Owner at Delma Bungalow, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Haelen,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We take into account all the comments and suggestions of our guests since it helps us improve our service and hospitality.
We hope you would visit us on your next stay in Colombo.

Love Chula and Manel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
24
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I had a fantastic stay in Delma Bungalow and particularly enjoyed the warm and personal service and the wonderful Sri Lanka breakfast (the best food I had in Sri Lanka) with fresh juice.
Further to sit on the veranda, sip Sri Lanka tea and enjoy the peaceful garden was a treat for me on an otherwise busy trip.

Although a bit difficult to find at first - Delma Bungalow is a real gem.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Manel D, Owner at Delma Bungalow, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Christian,
We are glad to know that you had a fantastic stay at Delma Bungalow. We have maintained a peaceful surrounding for our guests to feel at ease and feel as if they're at home.
Hope you visit us again..

Love Chula and Manel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed the 1st night in Sri Lanka here and it was an excellent start. The host couple were very welcoming (once we found our way there!) and we got a lovely chilled fresh fruit juice.
The whole property is well looked after, the room we had was fine and so was the shower unit.
We were asked what we would prefer for breakfast - and what a lovely tasty breakfast it was, all home cooked of course, with the company of the host who gave us a lot of do's and don'ts of the town and also the Island.
We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malnit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Manel D, Owner at Delma Bungalow, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us . It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to having you with us again on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Love Chula and Manel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was an unbeatable place to start our travels in Sri Lanka. The house is beautiful and spotless, the hosts are incredibly warm, amiable and helpful, and the meals are first-rate.

When we arrived, Chula and Manel made us feel right at home, offering us tea and chatting with us about our plans. (In fact, we were offered tea every time we came back to the house during our stay.) Manel offered to make us dinner since we were tired from a long flight. At US$12 each the price was a bit steep by Sri Lankan standards, but the curries she made were fantastic, and it turned out to be one of the best meals we had during our two weeks on the island.

We stayed here our final night in Sri Lanka as well. Our last breakfast was a delectable egg curry with roti, jam, fresh juice and tea. Our flight wasn't until very late at night, and Chula and Manel generously let us stay in the room until evening and take showers right before we left. We enjoyed outstanding hospitality during our stay and would definitely stay here again.

The location is nice -- about a 20-minute tuk-tuk from the Fort Area, and a short walk to lakeside walking trails near the new Parliament building -- but the house itself is very hard to find. Print a map and have their phone number at the ready for the tuk-tuk driver to call for directions!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanfromPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Manel D, Owner at Delma Bungalow, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Dan,
We are elated with your review in terms of the compliments and will take into notice the suggestions given. It was a pleasure meeting you and hope we see you soon.

Love Chula and Manel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This place was just perfect for me I stayed her one night when I arrived in Colombo and the night before I left.

The house is in a beautiful located in a quiet suburb and rooms are spotlessly clean. You get treated like royalty as soon as you arrive and they are very helpful too.

The best thing of all was the food I told them I wanted authentic Sri Lankan home cooked food and this is what I got. Chicken curry, dhall, vegetable curry, rotty and string hoppers. I had the same again for breakfast it was so good. It was also easily the best curry I ate in Sri Lanka and I tried many!

You would be stupid not to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty_Spurs1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Manel D, Owner at Delma Bungalow, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we're happy that you enjoyed our food. It was a great pleasure to having you here.
Hope you'll choose Delma Bungalow for your accommodation again on your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Love Chula and Manel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Enjoyed our night here, the hosts are very nice. Sri Lankan breakfast was top and we learned a lot from the hosts on all things Sri Lankan. I would recommend spending at least one night in a home stay in Colombo. The location is a bit tricky to find so I would suggest putting better instructions on the website. However, once you have got a bearing for the locality it is not a problem to return back to the place with a taxi.

Good memories! Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dover6Juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Manel D, Owner at Delma Bungalow, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking time to review your experience with us at Delma Bungalow and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Love Chula and Manel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

It was truly an exquisite & a memorable experience to have stayed at Delma Bungalow & to know Mr Delgoda & his wife Manel, the best Hosts ever.We stayed for a week at Delma Bungalow as we wanted to exclusively cover only Colombo as a destination.So we have more to share with you on the hospitality & warmth shown by the couple who own & manage the Homestay.It was my Birthday & as you can see in the pictures Mr & Mrs Delgoda went out of the way to arrange & host a dinner party with all my favorites( Crab curry,Prawns,Biriyani & string hoppers along with Margarita & a chocolate cake) to make it even more special.
They not only made us feel at home but also like we stayed with our very own family.
The Bungalow is beautiful & so are the rooms & the bath rooms,very clean & sparkling.Manel loves to cook & feeds all her guests well.& she also believes in offering home cooked fresh breakfast right from juices to the local srilankan breakfast(if you desire).One will never be dissapointed with the stay or the services & the hospitality offered by the couple.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratan_shefali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Manel D, Owner at Delma Bungalow, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Ratan,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to note that you had a great experience and that your stay with us wa memorable as it was for us as well.. It was a pleasure to having you at Delma Bungalow. We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Love Chula and Manel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colombo
0.2 mi away
Bo-Mie BnB
Bo-Mie BnB
#1 of 9 in Battaramulla
3 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Nest
Palm Nest
#6 of 136 in Colombo
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bangalawa
Bangalawa
#28 of 136 in Colombo
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Frangipani
Frangipani
#7 of 136 in Colombo
94 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa 63
Villa 63
#19 of 136 in Colombo
38 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chapelton House
Chapelton House
#10 of 136 in Colombo
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delma Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delma Bungalow

Property: Delma Bungalow
Address: 1009/6 Nagahamulla Road | Pelawatte, Battaramulla, Colombo Co.10120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an approved B & B and Homestay accommodation provided by the Tourism Development authority of Sri Lanka under the "Delux" Category. Our Homestay is located in Pelawatta, 8 km away from Central Colombo, which is very convenient for travelers to reach from City Centre Delma Bungalow is a modern Villa built in the traditional Sri Lanka style presenting comfortable living area, set in tranquil tropical garden surroundings. Enjoy lavish Sri Lankan style meat and sea food meals prepared in Menel's Kitchen. Just minutes outside the beautiful landscape, Parliament Gardens, and War Memorial in Battaramulla, and a few more minutes in a budget taxi will take you into the heart of shopping, night life, hotels, Art Galleries, Museum, and National Zoo in Colombo. Suited to travelers wishing to stay in Colombo before proceeding North or South or simply having a rock solid secure base in Colombo to come back to, or for anyone wishing for a longer stay in Sri Lanka. • 03 Spacious fully-furnished Double Bed Rooms with attached Toilets including the spacious Sitting area, TV Lobby, Dinning and a long Verandah open to the spacious Garden • Air-condition for Rooms on request • Towels & Bed Linen can be provided and changed on regular basis • Meals can be provided on request We ensure that all your needs are undertaken and provide you a friendly, caring and secure atmosphere to make your stay a nice & memorable one. ENJOY !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Delma Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing