We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in Colombo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitehouse Residencies

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Whitehouse Residencies
Ranked #27 of 131 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Colombo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Nice accomodation with friendly and attentive staff. We had a very big and clean room with good bed and balcony. The hotel is located some kilometers south of the old town which can be easily reached by bus. Breakfast was good and plenty.

No need to book the airport shuttle service - it's just a public taxi that is much cheaper if you hire it yourself, which is easy at the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weltensprinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    50
    21
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
76
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I spent very nice time in that hotel. Hotel staff is so friendly and helpful, whatever I asked for, they provided it to me.
Spacious clean rooms, nice design, big breakfast room (you can use the kitchen through out the day)
The breakfast is being served once you ask for it-very personal approach.
I enjoyed time spent there

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anitaa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed 2 nights (1st and last night in Sri Lanka) in this amazing hotel well located in Colombo, but in a quiet street which ensure a good night of sleep after a long flight. When I got to the hotel, it was 6 a.m. so my room was not available yet, but the hotel employee still offer me breakfast and let me check in earlier at 11 a.m. which was convenient since I really needed to sleep a little bit and to have a shower before starting my visit of Colombo. The room was big and luxurious for the price I paid, clean, 2 free bottles of water, good a/c, wi fi, etc. For my second breakfast, I was able to get a Sri Lankan breakfast which was really amazing! Also, the staff borrowed me an electric adaptor to plug my appliances which I used during my entire trip which I returned my last day in Sri Lanka. The day of my departure, even if I checked out at noon, I was able to use another room to have a shower before getting to the airport at night. The hotel staff was always available to provide information and recommendations about the city. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilQc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had only a 1 night stay in May but found the Whitehouse to be an excellent choice. It was located just off a main road but there was no traffic noise. The room was very clean with good bathroom and the breakfast was a small selection but very fresh and tasty. The staff were very helpful and gave us good tips on how to get about town on the tuk-tuks. The only problem was that the air con took a long time to cool the room as they ask you to turn it off when you go out and it was a very hot Colombo day. We had an enjoyable stay with good value for money so we can give it a good recommendation.!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This is a new property in a convenient location. There are many restaurants and shops around.

The rooms are large. The staff is very friendly and they are always ready to help whenever you ask for. Thats the best pro of this hotel.

The breakfast is ok. You can choose from omelette, scrambled eggs or traditional Sri Lankan breakfast. They will also serve you fresh fruits and some preserves.

The cons are, there'rr no A/Cs in the public areas of the hotel as well as the breakfast hall. So as the wether is always hot and humid here, its really unconvenient. Also he housekeeping turns of your A/C everytime they enter the room and a very hot room welcomes you at the end of the day. This is not supposed to happen in a hotel. And the noise from the A/C motors is really crazy. Its really disturbing at night time. They shall be repaired or moved farther.

So these are really important points to be improved but overall its good value for money.

I can recommend this hotel to travellers looking for a budget hotel. If you look for a 5 star, the minimum rate designated by the government is USD 165++

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank UmutA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Samantha was a wonderful host at this small guesthouse. The rooms are basic but clean and well presented and the food was delicious (coconut veggie rice was amazing). In terms of service, Samantha went out of his way to help me see the sights in the local area and also with ensuring my onward journey was successful. Service here is excellent. I had a lovely, peaceful and relaxing time at Whitehouse and would definitely recommend to family and friends. Nothing to fault at this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WishImay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruhrpott
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

While there are plenty of hotels in Colombo and several more top class ones are currently being built (mainly near the Galle Face area) most of them seemed rather big and thus we ended up finding the Whitehouse Residencies as a nice smaller alternative. We did not really know what to expect but for 2 nights before going to the airport we more or less only needed a decent place to sleep. We were amazed how big and nice the rooms and the public areas were! Outside our room was a small seating area with 3 tables for breakfast, suppose this was the case on every floor.. You could use the kitchen to get plates and cutlery for e.g. take-away food which was a perfect choice for us in the evening with a tired 20-month-old toddler sleeping next door! The balcony was also fine, although the city view (towards a neighboring hotel) can’t compete with any of the beach or countryside hotels we stayed in during our trip.. The staff was friendly but at the same time very discreet, this is one of the hotels that makes you feel like a true resident for a few days. Breakfast was fine, average continental selection of bread, juice, tea/coffee etc.

Make sure to have the address of the hotel properly written down if you need to take a taxi or tuk-tuk from the train station or even from the airport as the place obviously is not know to all drivers. The surrounding area looked ok with a few supermarkets and restaurants, but due to our short stay we mostly took a tuk-tuk to go somewhere and did not explore the vicinity much.
If you like busy markets, don’t miss the Pettah area in the morning hours! And Galle Face Green during sunset is also a must see although it may seem a bit dull at first during daytime. Lots of people and especially cute school children will arrive in time for the sunset and this is a great experience!

On another note: opinions wether or not to include Colombo in a Sri Lankan holiday seem to differ a lot, we read in other reviews that it is noisy and dirty and travellers were advised to stay away - but: we would have regretted to miss this city as it offers a lot of nice things to see and do! For us it was the perfect end to the holiday, but maybe it is not an ideal starting point, especially if you are not an experienced traveller... (for a few relaxing days to begin your holiday we can recommend Negombo whose beach is a lot nicer than its reputation!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuhrpottTravelFoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Colpetty House
Colpetty House
#29 of 131 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
#7 of 127 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bunkyard Hostels
Bunkyard Hostels
#3 of 127 in Colombo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ivy Lane Colombo
Ivy Lane Colombo
#19 of 131 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colombo City Hostel
Colombo City Hostel
#5 of 127 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort@15
Comfort@15
#23 of 131 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehouse Residencies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehouse Residencies

Property: Whitehouse Residencies
Address: 265/2 R.A.De Mel Mawatha, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitehouse Residencies 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Whitehouse Residencies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing