We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for 1-2 nights in Colombo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ocean Front

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ocean Front
Ranked #14 of 134 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel for 1-2 nights in Colombo”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed for one night. The hotel is right at the ocean front in front of the train track. Very clean rooms with stylish, modern interieur. A bit too much concrete for my taste, but perfectly fine. The room on the second floor was spacious for a couple.
The train or the street in front of the hotel is not a problem, as the traffic slows down significantly after it gets dark.
We had a room on the second floor with a balcony facing the ocean front. Very nice and fine for 1-2 nights.
The staff was very polite and friendly. We had a great, Singalese breakfast in the morning.

I would recommend the hotel for 1-2 nights, perhaps 3 nights, but not longer. After that it gets a bit boring as it is not very centrally located. It takes 15-20 minutes to walk to the central beach front. There are a couple of fine restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Take a room in the upper floors with better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars_Hamburg_GER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    71
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
82
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed for one night, hotel is lovely, spotlessly clean and with extremely polite and friendly staff. Rooms are bright and airy, great shower in en-suite bathroom. Also fantastic ocean view, as hotel name suggests! Yes train track right outside but trains do not run late at night and we slept well. Left early for airport so did not have breakfast but instead they made us a "packed breakfast" to eat on the way! The curry for dinner the previous night was very tasty. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnKa98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The hotel is as it claims through its name, right by the ocean front. It does not look much from the outside, but is very nice and well kept on the inside. Room was comfortable with private balcony facing the ocean. Bathroom very nice. Room was perfect apart from what some could regard as a problem with the bed - it was not full lenght and for a tall person (above 6 foot) not long enough. Staff where very friendly. Did not have the breakfast because I left very early for airport in morning but the pasta bolognese off the menu was possibly the best I have had in Asia!

If you are disturbed by noise, the railway just outside may disturb you. However, if you want an ocean front location in Colombo this is something you need to live with because the railway is where it is - right by the ocean front. Train did not run late at night.

Watching the sunset over the ocean from the balcony was quite special. I warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNiclas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the ocean front in Colombo. Right in front is the train track.
This sounds like a noisy place and it is. But the trains stop in the late evening and the hotel becomes a nice place to sleep.
The breakfast is good and rich.
If you are a photographer this is the best place to shoot some amazing train pictures. You'll need to be on the terrace at 5:30pm. The trains are jampacked and just stunning with the sunset behind it.
The service in the hotel was almost too friendly. But still nice and friendly people. It's a small hotel and you could feel that they are very proud owners.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jekoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeonju, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Ocean Front is a fantastic hotel, very new and clean, with a lovely sea view location. The owner and staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful and can arrange transport or trips out or provide advice on what to see and do in Colombo and elsewhere in Sri Lanka. Rooms are comfortable and stylish with smart, modern bathrooms, air-conditioning and free wi-fi; and communal areas are spacious and airy and include a great roof terrace with hot-tub. Highly recommended for anyone visiting Colombo.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyc24_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for 1 night on the 22nd March. it is a short walk from The Barefoot and to all the hot spots in Colombo. The hotel is small and when we arrived at the the door there was a young boy who guide us to the Restaurant area and gave us a nice cold towel to freshen up our selfs. The Manger greeted us immediately, sort out our reservation and gave us the room key with a free Wifi code. We were given the 512 a room on the top floor. Room was clean and equipped with all that you need. It had a nice bathroom with a shower. From outside balcony you could see the ocean and there was a small Jacuzzi to cool your self down while having a beer.

The only downfall in this place is the noise and the railway track is right opposite the hotel. If you are a sensitive sleeper like me you will be awake early in the morning when the first train crosses the building. The service that we received was excellent and all staff are very friendly.

I would recommend this place to anyone who travels with a budget as this hotel is fairly reasonable comparison to the hotels in that area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London ,England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Spent two nights at this fantastic hotel, on the way to Arugam Bay.After a long flight from London, we were completely exhausted but we were fully refreshed after a couple of hours because of the outstanding views and great welcome we received from all members of staff.
The room was tastefully decorated spotlessly clean and tidy. We had drinks in the patio area with great Indian Ocean Views. The service was excellent throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble. Overall it was outstanding value for money.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any traveller to Colombo.

Room Tip: The front facing rooms have a Indian Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RugbyFan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinLaos, Owner at The Ocean Front, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Many thanks for your kid words and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 50 in Colombo
1,649 reviews
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 50 in Colombo
1,213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 50 in Colombo
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.1 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#21 of 50 in Colombo
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Front

Property: The Ocean Front
Address: No 14 Sellamuttu Avenue | (on Marine Drive, Kollupitiya), Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ocean Front 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Front Colombo is a unique property with 6 individually created deluxe bedrooms with its own character. The property has been designed so all rooms and common areas have amazing Ocean views. It Is located in Kolpity, Colombo 3 (also known as Kollupitiya) in the very heart of the city, making it the ideal place for the regular business traveler, or for those who want to discover the city. It is our aim to provide an personalized service that few could match, and to make every endeavor to make the property feel like your home in Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ocean Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing