We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the Staff is brilliant but the train isn't”
Review of The Ocean Front

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ocean Front
Ranked #15 of 156 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Ocean View it is from the dining room and also from the Roof top, in the other rooms it is quite often spoilt by the wrecked buildings spoiling the view. Why other rooms - the owners bent over back wards to try and find me a quieter room in this 6 room establishment, but unfortunately, in the end after two days there, and two quite sleepless nights it was time to move out. The train running past the Ocean View quite often felt as if it was running through your room. If the owners invested in double glazing with 8 mm glass, maybe this only fault with Ocean View could be fixed. The staff, the management, all of them were wonderful and friendly, could not fault them, hope that they somehow fix the noise problem to make this an ideal small hideaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RostrevorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

I booked this hotel for a night's stay in Colombo. The Hotel is located in a very scenic place. The staff at the hotel are good and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff made all arrangements for us to move about in the city.

The food was really not that great. This is definitely something that they need to improve.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samsup84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

At the begginning of the holidey, they seemed nice.The only problem wes the noise: a train just in front of the hotel!
.
On the last day, when come to pay the bill, they charged us for breackfast enourmosly despite they said that was offerd by the hotel n the first day!
they were not honest with us, and from my point of view, despite the place is nice and clean, I can not ignor this aspect and judge this place no good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinLaos, Owner at The Ocean Front, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Ms. Coccocia. We at The Ocean Front are deeply saddened that you felt that our staff "were not honest" and that you were charged "enormously for breakfast". I hope I can help explain and clarify things for you. I would like to point out to the fact that your booking was a very special promotional rate. It was very clearly specified as 'Room Only". Further the hotel voucher clearly stated the fact that no meal/breakfast was not included in the price paid.

Just to go over the whole process: The two of you arrived very early at our premisses 7.30 am when our check in time is after 1.00 pm. Unfortunately since we were fully booked at the time we could not allow an early check in, but we allowed you to use the facilities. On your request to have breakfast, our resident manager had conveyed to you that breakfast was not included in your room rate, but had conveyed that you are welcome to have breakfast if you wished to do so. I believe you had conveyed that one of you would have breakfast, but subsequently decided that both of you would have breakfast. Therefore even though your "Room Only" booking was for 1 night, you both had breakfast on 2 occasions. Thus from a billing perspective 4 breakfasts in total. For which we have only charged for 2 breakfast at Rs 1300(approximately USD $10) each. Further we have offered the fist days breakfast on a complementary basis as a goodwill gesture towards you. I hope this does not constitute as an "enormous charge" and hope you reconsider your current opinion after you have another look at your hotel voucher. I am sure once you have done that, it will be clear that we have not been dishonest. If at all this is a misunderstanding! I sincerely hope you are able to see it that way, and appreciate the goodwill gestures on our part. At the same time please forgive any miscommunication or any lapses on our part that may have confused you, and hope you do not feel too let down by our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Although I travel frequently to Sri Lanka I have little experience with hotels in Colombo. Compared to other hotels with similar services and facilities this seemed a relatively affordable one. It is conveniently located in Colpetty, a central suburb, fifteen minutes walk to Galle Face Hotel and Galle Face Green. From there it's another ten, fifteen minutes walk to the Dutch Hospital with its pubs and restaurants. Galle Face Road - the hotel is located at the end of a side street - is one of the main thoroughfares of Colombo and has many shops and restaurants. As the name of the hotel suggests it's literally right on top of the ocean, with pleasant views from most windows.

As some of the reviewers have already noted, it being right on the ocean front also means it is more or less right on top of the railroad. Trains start their service around four thirty or so... quite early! It did not bother us in the least though. One does hear the trains but it is more like a low rumbling, somewhat soothing even. It's hard to believe that that would keep or wake you up.

The rooms are definitely spacious, clean and comfortable. There's a small fridge that you can fill up with drinks yourself. Free bottled water is given each day. The bathroom comes with a nice shower, etc.Toiletries are provided for. The TV has international channels.

Breakfast is an elaborate affair with fruits, western items and on request can also be full Sri Lankan which is delicious though might be too spicy for some. The staff is definitely very attentive but this was at the same time - oddly - one of the minuses of the hotel as well. The staff is so kind and attentive that it started to annoy us a little after a while. We stayed at the hotel for five nights and although the many questions were charming at first (you are not having your breakfast? did you sleep well? will you be going out this evening? what did you do yesterday evening?) at some point we would have liked that to stop. In the end you are staying at a hotel and it is nobody's business if you finish your breakfast, what you did the other night, if you will have lunch outside.

And this brings me to the final 'inconvenience' of the hotel. To enter the hotel you will have to right the doorbell. The hotel does not provide you with a frontdoor key. There may be reasons for this but every time you enter the hotel a staff member will step out of the office to inquire if you need anything. This gets on your nerves after a while.

All in all this is a good hotel to stay at... rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The food is excellent. And yes, the staff are very kind and attentive. But maybe five nights is a bit long.

Room Tip: If you are worried about the trains the rooms at the back might be a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed for one night. The hotel is right at the ocean front in front of the train track. Very clean rooms with stylish, modern interieur. A bit too much concrete for my taste, but perfectly fine. The room on the second floor was spacious for a couple.
The train or the street in front of the hotel is not a problem, as the traffic slows down significantly after it gets dark.
We had a room on the second floor with a balcony facing the ocean front. Very nice and fine for 1-2 nights.
The staff was very polite and friendly. We had a great, Singalese breakfast in the morning.

I would recommend the hotel for 1-2 nights, perhaps 3 nights, but not longer. After that it gets a bit boring as it is not very centrally located. It takes 15-20 minutes to walk to the central beach front. There are a couple of fine restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Take a room in the upper floors with better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars_Hamburg_GER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed for one night, hotel is lovely, spotlessly clean and with extremely polite and friendly staff. Rooms are bright and airy, great shower in en-suite bathroom. Also fantastic ocean view, as hotel name suggests! Yes train track right outside but trains do not run late at night and we slept well. Left early for airport so did not have breakfast but instead they made us a "packed breakfast" to eat on the way! The curry for dinner the previous night was very tasty. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnKa98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The hotel is as it claims through its name, right by the ocean front. It does not look much from the outside, but is very nice and well kept on the inside. Room was comfortable with private balcony facing the ocean. Bathroom very nice. Room was perfect apart from what some could regard as a problem with the bed - it was not full lenght and for a tall person (above 6 foot) not long enough. Staff where very friendly. Did not have the breakfast because I left very early for airport in morning but the pasta bolognese off the menu was possibly the best I have had in Asia!

If you are disturbed by noise, the railway just outside may disturb you. However, if you want an ocean front location in Colombo this is something you need to live with because the railway is where it is - right by the ocean front. Train did not run late at night.

Watching the sunset over the ocean from the balcony was quite special. I warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kheiron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,008 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#23 of 55 in Colombo
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.9 mi away
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Front

Address: No 14 Sellamuttu Avenue | (on Marine Drive, Kollupitiya), Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: £51 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ocean Front 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Front Colombo is a unique property with 6 individually created deluxe bedrooms with its own character. The property has been designed so all rooms and common areas have amazing Ocean views. It Is located in Kolpity, Colombo 3 (also known as Kollupitiya) in the very heart of the city, making it the ideal place for the regular business traveler, or for those who want to discover the city. It is our aim to provide an personalized service that few could match, and to make every endeavor to make the property feel like your home in Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ocean Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing