We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
Review of The Ocean Front

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ocean Front
Ranked #15 of 135 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night before leaving to the airport. The service and standard was amazing and the staff were so friendly and helpfull. We got a really good room, and enjoyed it a lot. I will for sure recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Stinesorensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    71
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
82
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night only. We didn't arrive until after midnight, and left to explore Colombo the next morning, however I had a great overall impression. The rooms were large and clean, and the staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel seemed to be in a good location, and they were more than happy to store our luggage for the day. The only downside was that we had booked a room with a king bed, but we were given a room with two king singles. However, we were too tired to care and it wasn't a big deal for only one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyssajt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rostrevor, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Ocean View it is from the dining room and also from the Roof top, in the other rooms it is quite often spoilt by the wrecked buildings spoiling the view. Why other rooms - the owners bent over back wards to try and find me a quieter room in this 6 room establishment, but unfortunately, in the end after two days there, and two quite sleepless nights it was time to move out. The train running past the Ocean View quite often felt as if it was running through your room. If the owners invested in double glazing with 8 mm glass, maybe this only fault with Ocean View could be fixed. The staff, the management, all of them were wonderful and friendly, could not fault them, hope that they somehow fix the noise problem to make this an ideal small hideaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RostrevorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I booked this hotel for a night's stay in Colombo. The Hotel is located in a very scenic place. The staff at the hotel are good and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff made all arrangements for us to move about in the city.

The food was really not that great. This is definitely something that they need to improve.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsup84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

At the begginning of the holidey, they seemed nice.The only problem wes the noise: a train just in front of the hotel!
.
On the last day, when come to pay the bill, they charged us for breackfast enourmosly despite they said that was offerd by the hotel n the first day!
they were not honest with us, and from my point of view, despite the place is nice and clean, I can not ignor this aspect and judge this place no good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinLaos, Owner at The Ocean Front, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Ms. Coccocia. We at The Ocean Front are deeply saddened that you felt that our staff "were not honest" and that you were charged "enormously for breakfast". I hope I can help explain and clarify things for you. I would like to point out to the fact that your booking was a very special promotional rate. It was very clearly specified as 'Room Only". Further the hotel voucher clearly stated the fact that no meal/breakfast was not included in the price paid.

Just to go over the whole process: The two of you arrived very early at our premisses 7.30 am when our check in time is after 1.00 pm. Unfortunately since we were fully booked at the time we could not allow an early check in, but we allowed you to use the facilities. On your request to have breakfast, our resident manager had conveyed to you that breakfast was not included in your room rate, but had conveyed that you are welcome to have breakfast if you wished to do so. I believe you had conveyed that one of you would have breakfast, but subsequently decided that both of you would have breakfast. Therefore even though your "Room Only" booking was for 1 night, you both had breakfast on 2 occasions. Thus from a billing perspective 4 breakfasts in total. For which we have only charged for 2 breakfast at Rs 1300(approximately USD $10) each. Further we have offered the fist days breakfast on a complementary basis as a goodwill gesture towards you. I hope this does not constitute as an "enormous charge" and hope you reconsider your current opinion after you have another look at your hotel voucher. I am sure once you have done that, it will be clear that we have not been dishonest. If at all this is a misunderstanding! I sincerely hope you are able to see it that way, and appreciate the goodwill gestures on our part. At the same time please forgive any miscommunication or any lapses on our part that may have confused you, and hope you do not feel too let down by our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
327 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Although I travel frequently to Sri Lanka I have little experience with hotels in Colombo. Compared to other hotels with similar services and facilities this seemed a relatively affordable one. It is conveniently located in Colpetty, a central suburb, fifteen minutes walk to Galle Face Hotel and Galle Face Green. From there it's another ten, fifteen minutes walk to the Dutch Hospital with its pubs and restaurants. Galle Face Road - the hotel is located at the end of a side street - is one of the main thoroughfares of Colombo and has many shops and restaurants. As the name of the hotel suggests it's literally right on top of the ocean, with pleasant views from most windows.

As some of the reviewers have already noted, it being right on the ocean front also means it is more or less right on top of the railroad. Trains start their service around four thirty or so... quite early! It did not bother us in the least though. One does hear the trains but it is more like a low rumbling, somewhat soothing even. It's hard to believe that that would keep or wake you up.

The rooms are definitely spacious, clean and comfortable. There's a small fridge that you can fill up with drinks yourself. Free bottled water is given each day. The bathroom comes with a nice shower, etc.Toiletries are provided for. The TV has international channels.

Breakfast is an elaborate affair with fruits, western items and on request can also be full Sri Lankan which is delicious though might be too spicy for some. The staff is definitely very attentive but this was at the same time - oddly - one of the minuses of the hotel as well. The staff is so kind and attentive that it started to annoy us a little after a while. We stayed at the hotel for five nights and although the many questions were charming at first (you are not having your breakfast? did you sleep well? will you be going out this evening? what did you do yesterday evening?) at some point we would have liked that to stop. In the end you are staying at a hotel and it is nobody's business if you finish your breakfast, what you did the other night, if you will have lunch outside.

And this brings me to the final 'inconvenience' of the hotel. To enter the hotel you will have to right the doorbell. The hotel does not provide you with a frontdoor key. There may be reasons for this but every time you enter the hotel a staff member will step out of the office to inquire if you need anything. This gets on your nerves after a while.

All in all this is a good hotel to stay at... rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The food is excellent. And yes, the staff are very kind and attentive. But maybe five nights is a bit long.

Room Tip: If you are worried about the trains the rooms at the back might be a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed for one night. The hotel is right at the ocean front in front of the train track. Very clean rooms with stylish, modern interieur. A bit too much concrete for my taste, but perfectly fine. The room on the second floor was spacious for a couple.
The train or the street in front of the hotel is not a problem, as the traffic slows down significantly after it gets dark.
We had a room on the second floor with a balcony facing the ocean front. Very nice and fine for 1-2 nights.
The staff was very polite and friendly. We had a great, Singalese breakfast in the morning.

I would recommend the hotel for 1-2 nights, perhaps 3 nights, but not longer. After that it gets a bit boring as it is not very centrally located. It takes 15-20 minutes to walk to the central beach front. There are a couple of fine restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Take a room in the upper floors with better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars_Hamburg_GER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#20 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Front

Property: The Ocean Front
Address: No 14 Sellamuttu Avenue | (on Marine Drive, Kollupitiya), Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ocean Front 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Front Colombo is a unique property with 6 individually created deluxe bedrooms with its own character. The property has been designed so all rooms and common areas have amazing Ocean views. It Is located in Kolpity, Colombo 3 (also known as Kollupitiya) in the very heart of the city, making it the ideal place for the regular business traveler, or for those who want to discover the city. It is our aim to provide an personalized service that few could match, and to make every endeavor to make the property feel like your home in Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ocean Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing