We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff”
Review of The Ocean Front

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ocean Front
Ranked #14 of 138 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Clean room, excellent staff, great view and good location. When we had trouble with a tour operator the staff went above and beyond to assist us and showed genuine concern. It is a bit more expensive than we usually pay, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    71
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
83
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel twice. During our first stay we stayed in a room at the back side of the hotel. It was a bit small, but super clean and with a nice bathroom and shower. The staff was so super-friendly and helpful that we booked one more night the week after when we returned to Colombo.

The second room (they only have a few rooms, six or so) was at the front of the building and very nice with a balcony and sea view. Between the hotel and the ocean trains occasionally ran by, which made some noise but was not very disturbing.

The Sri Lankan breakfast they made on request was very nice, also the chicken burger we had for lunch was very tasty!

If we ever go to Colombo again, we will definitely return here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank babod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camposampiero
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I usually stay at Cinnamon Gran during my business trip in Sri Lanka.
First of all i love this country and its people and this Hotel has met my expetations.
It is small and cleal,i love to sleep with the sound of shores.
Offcourse trains sometimes can disturb yourself,but it us balance with the room comfort and the beautiful sight.
Staff is kind as Sri Lankan tradition.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 277AlbertoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is our second stay at The Ocean Front Hotel. Both times our stay have been fantastic.
This is a small hotel on the ocean front in a central location to the centre of the city. To walk to Galle Face Green took us twenty minutes, and by a three wheeler five minutes.
The hotel only has six rooms, and thus it has a friendly, intimate feeling. The staff are quick to learn you likes and dislikes and try their hardest to anticipate your requirements. The small Restuarant and lounge look over the ocean, and the waiter was keen to serve us whatever we liked, even giving a quick language lesson during the meal.
The wifi is strong, rooms very clean, bathrooms modern and well appointed. Some rooms are larger than others, but none that I would describe as small. All the rooms we saw appeared to have an ocean view (we did stay both times on the top floor). If you aren't good with stairs, the stairs are steep, but my elderly parents had no problem. And the staff are quick to grab your bags, which are delivered to your room.
The manager is always quick to help with transport and asked for feedback, our waiter made our meals a pleasure, and Shawn our "Butler" offered better than five star service.
The hotel is situated on a reasonably quite road with a train line and then the ocean. I found the train was not a draw back, in fact quite pleasant to listen to in the morning and evenings.
I would stay again, as I prefer a small friendly hotel to a large chain hotel.
Thumbs up to The Ocean Front Hotel and the staff which make this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room #206, it's large, with ocean view from the bathroom, bedroom and adjoining balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freoroamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel is located along the road running along the shore (Kollupitiya). Very few taxi drivers know it so make sure you have downloaded a proper map or you will have to go sightseeing for some time. Once inside the hotel the view of the Indian Ocean is great especially during clear skies and sunset. Be aware that the railway runs next to the shore and very noisy commuter trains run frequently early morning and around dinner time. If you are sensitive to noise make sure you get a room facing the back. However, watching the trains and the passenger behaviour is quite enjoyable.

What is really enjoyable is the excellent and most personal service provided by everyone of the staff. This is surely a different world compared to the standardised "hilton" style hotels.

One good example is when the wireless Internet was a bit shaky (not to be blamed on the hotel but the cable provider) the staff provided a USB dongle to their mobile network.

The rooms, beds, bathrooms, working facilities, aircons are all fine. The general ambience is modern. The cleaning is spotless and always with a kind word and smile.

The restaurant is practically only for in-house guests which is a pity for people looking for a good local place to have dinner. The most charming cook prepared some local meals which should be rated very high. There is no menu for that but just let the cook recommend something and you will not get disappointed. There is a menu with "standard" food but why have that here when you can get that anywhere.

Sometimes breakfast is buffet and sometimes prepared as you wish. It is probably depending on the number of guests that particular morning. Both are fine.

There are only six rooms and that of course is contributing to the personal feeling.

I travel quite a lot and I try to avoid the "hilton". My choice this time to stay at The Ocean Front was very good. I would actually rate the hotel among the best I have ever stayed at given my preferences.

Do choose this place for your stay in Colombo, but don't book "my" room when I come back next time...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank what_is_next_to_see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My girlfriend and I spent two nights here and confirm all of the compliments from the other reviews. Our room was impeccably clean, and even though we were on the ocean side, the sound of crashing waves far outshone the noise of the irregular trains. Couple this with extraordinary levels of service and truly exquisite food, I believe this is one of the best locations for anyone looking for an alternative to the big hotel chains.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonjknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

My partner and I spent two nights at the hotel and were impressed by the friendly service and beautiful ocean views. The hotel was also easy to find since we had a driver and had given him the address prior to our arrival, however it is best to request for a hotel card if you're taking public transportation. The noises coming from the passing trains did not bother us much, perhaps because our room was not street facing. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Colombo!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHoetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,758 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#12 of 51 in Colombo
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
750 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Front

Property: The Ocean Front
Address: No 14 Sellamuttu Avenue | (on Marine Drive, Kollupitiya), Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ocean Front 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Front Colombo is a unique property with 6 individually created deluxe bedrooms with its own character. The property has been designed so all rooms and common areas have amazing Ocean views. It Is located in Kolpity, Colombo 3 (also known as Kollupitiya) in the very heart of the city, making it the ideal place for the regular business traveler, or for those who want to discover the city. It is our aim to provide an personalized service that few could match, and to make every endeavor to make the property feel like your home in Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ocean Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing