We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Over in Colombo”
Review of The Ocean Front

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ocean Front
Ranked #15 of 136 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stop Over in Colombo”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed for one night after arriving into Colombo. A good location to explore the main sites of the City, attentive staff and decent breakfast. Situated by beachfront railway line so could hear trains in the morning. Good alternative if don't want a large hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TOUR98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    71
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
83
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoedspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a surprise!! This is much better than staying in a huge fancy hotel, it only has 6 modern rooms. The staff were super and the manager really did a great job as well. We will defintely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LelanieTrollip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladivostok, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed two days in this pleasant cosy place. Very polite, friendly service, tasty cocktails, smiling and helpful guys, all this makes The Ocean Front even much more preferable than the more high status hotels at neighborhood. Highly recommended, Indian ocean view will be the bonus!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vergelterin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel when we first got to Colombo after leaving the UK and were so impressed that we decided to stay here again at the end of our trip before departing to India. The hotel is really good value for what you get, rooms are absolutely spotless and extremely comfortable. There is a rain shower which is one my favourite things about a hotel! The location of the hotel is great, it's situated on the ocean front just off Galle Road. You can get a tuk tuk to most places of interest for between Rs.200 and Rs.300. There are some food places nearby but you can also eat at the hotel if you wish. We normally ate out because we were on a budget and the prices were a bit out of our price range. The staff at the hotel are amazing, so friendly and helpful. We arrived at 4:30am on a night bus on our 2nd stay and we were greeted by two really happy guys who gave us a refresher towel and prepared us a welcome juice. We were also given a room at that time even though it's hours before the official check in time without having to pay anything extra. We were so grateful for that. Cannot fault this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Basia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Clean room, excellent staff, great view and good location. When we had trouble with a tour operator the staff went above and beyond to assist us and showed genuine concern. It is a bit more expensive than we usually pay, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel twice. During our first stay we stayed in a room at the back side of the hotel. It was a bit small, but super clean and with a nice bathroom and shower. The staff was so super-friendly and helpful that we booked one more night the week after when we returned to Colombo.

The second room (they only have a few rooms, six or so) was at the front of the building and very nice with a balcony and sea view. Between the hotel and the ocean trains occasionally ran by, which made some noise but was not very disturbing.

The Sri Lankan breakfast they made on request was very nice, also the chicken burger we had for lunch was very tasty!

If we ever go to Colombo again, we will definitely return here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank babod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camposampiero
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I usually stay at Cinnamon Gran during my business trip in Sri Lanka.
First of all i love this country and its people and this Hotel has met my expetations.
It is small and cleal,i love to sleep with the sound of shores.
Offcourse trains sometimes can disturb yourself,but it us balance with the room comfort and the beautiful sight.
Staff is kind as Sri Lankan tradition.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 277AlbertoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Front

Property: The Ocean Front
Address: No 14 Sellamuttu Avenue | (on Marine Drive, Kollupitiya), Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ocean Front 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Front Colombo is a unique property with 6 individually created deluxe bedrooms with its own character. The property has been designed so all rooms and common areas have amazing Ocean views. It Is located in Kolpity, Colombo 3 (also known as Kollupitiya) in the very heart of the city, making it the ideal place for the regular business traveler, or for those who want to discover the city. It is our aim to provide an personalized service that few could match, and to make every endeavor to make the property feel like your home in Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ocean Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing