We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best yet”
Review of The Ocean Front

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ocean Front
Ranked #14 of 136 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best yet”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We are from New Zealand and stayed here for 5 nights and from the moment we walked in to the moment we left we were treated to excellent service from all of the staff.
The rooms were very clean and fresh.
The food at The Ocean Front was great and made fresh each time.
If I went back to Sri Lanka I would stay here again. The staff were very helpful with everything. It's quite central and there are tuk tuks everywhere to get about. Top rating from us. :-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    71
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
83
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We enjoyed our time at The Ocean Front Hotel as our jumping off point in Sri Lanka. The hotel was about 45-60 minutes from the international airport, and I believe we paid around $25.00. We went to a fixed price counter and did not spend time trying to negotiate a price because we were just ready to be off the airplane and to our first destination. We stayed in room 202 with three adults. We paid for an extra bed, which was probably the worst part of our stay at this hotel. The rollaway bed was awfully uncomfortable, and you could feel the bars under you as you slept. However, this is not atypical of rollaway beds and after a day of exploring Colombo we were tired enough to sleep on it. When we checked in to the hotel it was about 15 minutes before check in time. They gave us a welcome drink and a cool towel, and we enjoyed the views from the sofa area.

The room had a lot of power outlets, and they even had a power strip which was great for travellers with lots of things to charge up (phones, iPads, cameras). The room had a safe which we did not feel the need to use, and towels/shampoo/conditioner were provided. The view from room 202 did not look directly out on the ocean. Rather, you had a direct view of a building that is either crumbling or being constructed next door. There was no noise, and the water was visible at the right angle. This was not a major issue for us, but if it is important to you then you might ask to not be in room 202. We did, however, not notice any noise from passing trains. The room had a TV that we didn't use and a minifridge. The minifridge was great to keep our drinks cold. The hotel provides a water bottle each day for each person staying in the room. The room was cleaned on the second day of our visit. The water pressure was great and hot water was never a problem. My travel companions like very hot showers and we never ran out. There were quite a few ants on the counter in our room, but we were not bothered by this at all. The AC worked great.

The rooftop had a beautiful view and a table with a few chairs. There was a jacuzzi that we did not use, but looked fairly clean. The breakfast area was nice, but not air conditioned. It was sometimes stuffy, but not uncomfortable. Breakfast is about $10 USD and is quite good. You can get juice, coffee, tea, fruit, yogurt, cereal, bacon, eggs. The staff was always very pleasant. They were helpful and kind, always smiling. They were definitely one of the best elements of this hotel. They had nice suggestions for restaurants and were helpful in setting up transport as requested.

The location is good, and we took a tuk tuk to the Dutch Hospital for 200Rs. We did negotiate this price, though we weren't very firm so it might be cheaper if you push. However, we thought that at just over $1.25 USD it was a fair price.

I would stay at this hotel again. The staff were very kind and helpful, and the hotel felt safe and clean. We enjoyed our time at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 202 has a view of a building next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeliQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We paid 120 euros per night while we consider that they should not charge more than 50. Very noisy with no sound proof whatsoever. Window blinds were not sufficient so we were waking up very early. Personnel was very nice and polite.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argyris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had a stop over in Colombo for 2 nights and booked at the ocean front. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and the chefs gave me my first experience of the dilicious Sri Lankan food- brought to our room as we were so tired... I was very interested in making a certain dish- called "string-hoppers" so invested in a machine that makes them and was offered a bit of a lesson in the hotel kitchen on how to make the dish! The management was really friendly, the staff always willing to help and the rooms very, very comfortable! Thank you for making my first impressions of Sri Lanka and its people an excellent one!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 321ClaireP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Pros:
Some rooms have ocean views
Located down a quiet street, away from the hustle and bustle but close to the city center
Friendly and helpful staff
Clean, quiet and comfortable
Refreshing welcome drink upon arrival
Great overall value

Cons:
Train tracks next to the hotel can be noisy at times

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-facing room to watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZReff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Boutique hotel@Modern@ Comfortable @Spot Clean@Good food,@very courteous staff
I stayed at Ocean Front for one night before heading back home. Had the best sleep in my trip and an amazing relaxed shower!! The rain shower was definitely a delight!
The location is great alongside the ocean.
Its a bit difficult to find so when hiring a TukTuk or a Taxi refer to Renuka hotel, the Ocean Front is right behind Renuka.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShwetaSingh3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed only 1 night on 31st December. The hotel room was impecably clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They even agreed to cook a rice and curry at 10 o'clock at night, which was not on the menu. The breakfast on 1st January was on the house and was delicious. My wife was particulary excited about the polished concrete in the bathroom. The manager helped us find a competent driver. Strongly recommend the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedalti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
1,723 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Front

Property: The Ocean Front
Address: No 14 Sellamuttu Avenue | (on Marine Drive, Kollupitiya), Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ocean Front 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Front Colombo is a unique property with 6 individually created deluxe bedrooms with its own character. The property has been designed so all rooms and common areas have amazing Ocean views. It Is located in Kolpity, Colombo 3 (also known as Kollupitiya) in the very heart of the city, making it the ideal place for the regular business traveler, or for those who want to discover the city. It is our aim to provide an personalized service that few could match, and to make every endeavor to make the property feel like your home in Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ocean Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing