We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Monsoon Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monsoon Suites
Ranked #36 of 148 Colombo B&B and Inns
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had stayed just for a night in Monsoon Suites (25th Dec). It is pretty hard to find the hotel if you are new to the city. We arrived late in the night in Colombo & it took a local tuk-tuk driver, GPS mapping, directions from by-standers, couple of phone calls to the owners to finally reach the place!

We stayed in the 3rd floor room which has a huge, tastefully furnished lobby. The room was very well maintained with clean bathroom & had all essentials with a clear list of do's & dont's! Mahesh, the room service guy was very helpful to us in suggesting options for us to travel to Galle the next morning. He also responded to our call late in the night when the A/c wasn't working well.

I wish we had another day to spend in Monsoon Suites to utilise & explore all that it could offer!

Room Tip: Nice hotel but hard to locate even for the locals
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    25
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
21
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived late from the airport -had to direct the taxi driver with a map and even then it was located down a laneway-difficult to find. I would recommend asking the owners for detailed directions to be emailed to you prior to arrival to save the hassles we had finding the place.
Staff were not particularly friendly or helpful, although it was 2am when we checked in, they are excused!
However the rooms are small and there was no breakfast so I wouldn't recommend this for too many nights. There is a great cafe a short walk down the lane for meals. The location is suburban, and whether this is an issue or not depends on what you want to do. The new airport motorway may reduce the airport travel time from when we were there.
This is a budget guest house and I would only recommend if you will be out and about all day into the evening and simply require a bed as there is nothing else to do there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkydoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a nice few nights at the hotel after I'd booked it online from New Zealand. We had arranged a pick-up for $40 US which didn't happen and we had to arrange our own taxi after arriving at midnight - and then still pay the hotel for despite agreeing on $30 US with the taxi driver! This was a bit disappointing. The hotel is very hard to find but we were happy once we arrived because of the quiet location (on a residential street). Our room was lovely and very quiet.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and assisted us in arranging a day-tour of the city and then a car and driver for 5 days to take us to Dambulla and Kandy. We returned to the hotel after the tour because it was easy and we knew the area by then. I would say it would be best suited to business travellers who are not concerned with being too central or too close to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Monsoon Suites for several days. It is located close to the Nawala Junction and provides easy access to the Colombo City, Nugegoda and other suburbs. The place was easy to find but a ‘Google Maps’ print will help those unfamiliar with the area.

The ‘De Luxe’ rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The ‘Budget Rooms’ are adequate only for a brief stay or an overnight transit.

It is only a few minutes’ walk to the main road. If you have a car, there is secure parking within the premises with 24 hr access. There are also some decent eating places nearby.

The staff was always available and helpful so a pretty good place overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Monsoon Suites is in Nawale, a quiet & clean place maintained well. We stayed in the family room which was clean & the bathrooms were neat as well. A tuk tuk can easily take you there from City Center. The staff were cooperative and thank you Ms. Amali for your support in visiting the nearby places. The breakfast was basic and i guess thats enough for someone who travel ;)

We stayed for a couple of days. Overall the place is good & would recommend for family.

Room Tip: Room with balcony & family room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skarim003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The place is a decent setup and suited for budget travel. It was exceptionally neat and well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful .all rooms are neat but the place is setup more as a service apartment then a band b or hotel.
Choose your room carefully,we had booked 2 rooms , 1 had a lovely balcony , while the other one did not even have a window where there is no way you can spend time during the day and not be depressed.

The breakfast is basic and there are very few eating places nearby ,however the hotel provides information of hotels that deliver. It's not near the city and it takes a good 30 to 40 minutes to reach the city/fort area. Inspires of all this I would recommend this place for short stay just for the way they have maintained the place , the size of the rooms, the cleanliness and service from the staff

Room Tip: See and select a room with windows /balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbadhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Place is literally unknown to anyone. No taxi driver at the airport knew where this place was, had to call the place up and let them talk to the driver and even then had to ask people around the corner and use Google Maps a bit. But once there, the place was decent. We ended up getting the Budget Room which was honestly quite small and had no window but then again we only would go up in the room to sleep.

Staff was very helpful and the young lad would run up and down to anything we did ask from him. Place was clean and don't know about the lunch because we didn't ask for it to be included. We did however ask him to show us rest of the rooms which were much bigger (compared to the little place we stayed the night in) and probably if we are on a short trip to Colombo again, will like to stay.

p.s. We used this in Colombo just to stay two nights, see the city and then move on to rest of the country.

Room Tip: Probably not a good idea to go for the Budget room if you can get the larger room. I only booked it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usmanmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Elyon Colombo
2.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,810 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
3.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.5 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#5 of 153 in Colombo
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monsoon Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsoon Suites

Property: Monsoon Suites
Address: 198/7, Siriwimal Udyanaya, Nawala Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monsoon Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Monsoon Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing