We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than helpful”
Review of Monsoon Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monsoon Suites
Ranked #36 of 147 Colombo B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More than helpful”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nothing better for this price in Colombo: Quiet, comfortable, clean. Only drawbacks: Hard to find (make staff phone directions to driver) and meager breakfast.
What is outstanding is the service: Far from Colombo we tried in vain to book tickets to Jafna by internet. So a lady manager went to the airport to secure them for us, even advancing the money to total strangers!

ML Zimmermann, Switzerland

Room Tip: Don't miss the rooftop terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlzimmermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    25
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
21
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It did not seem so easy to find a good place to stay in Colombo: most were either expensive or shaby. Monsoon Suites to us proved the perfect solution: they lie in a quiet neighbourhood (make sure to enjoy the roof terrace), their rooms are classy and clean and their service just perfect. All this at a very reasonable price. Congratulations and many thanks to the management and staff for the great job.

Room Tip: All rooms are recommended for people who enjoy some quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirowur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Chanced upon this place by accident (a reference from a friend), but was bowled over right from the time I entered the property. Was late in the evening by the time I reached, but the always smiling caretaker helped me to the room. The room was spacious and seemed like value-for-money compared to the crummy place that I had shifted from. The bathrooms were even more spacious and there was even a nice little balcony (of course of not much use during a hectic business trip).

Breakfast was arranged from outside, but very well laid out and the owner was also quite friendly and helpful and personally supervises arrangements. I understand that they are careful about their clients. No other meals are available, but one could use take-aways nearby to order (there are many small restaurants nearby).

The place is definitely difficult to find, though Google Maps was the best option for me. Led me right to the place. A lot of local friends also did not know about this place, but were pleasantly surprised with the rooms and also remarked that the location was quite central and near to the main areas of Colombo 3 and 4 and also quite near to the parliament area where I was attending a CHOGM event.

Would love to stay here again during a future visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ketan_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had stayed just for a night in Monsoon Suites (25th Dec). It is pretty hard to find the hotel if you are new to the city. We arrived late in the night in Colombo & it took a local tuk-tuk driver, GPS mapping, directions from by-standers, couple of phone calls to the owners to finally reach the place!

We stayed in the 3rd floor room which has a huge, tastefully furnished lobby. The room was very well maintained with clean bathroom & had all essentials with a clear list of do's & dont's! Mahesh, the room service guy was very helpful to us in suggesting options for us to travel to Galle the next morning. He also responded to our call late in the night when the A/c wasn't working well.

I wish we had another day to spend in Monsoon Suites to utilise & explore all that it could offer!

Room Tip: Nice hotel but hard to locate even for the locals
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived late from the airport -had to direct the taxi driver with a map and even then it was located down a laneway-difficult to find. I would recommend asking the owners for detailed directions to be emailed to you prior to arrival to save the hassles we had finding the place.
Staff were not particularly friendly or helpful, although it was 2am when we checked in, they are excused!
However the rooms are small and there was no breakfast so I wouldn't recommend this for too many nights. There is a great cafe a short walk down the lane for meals. The location is suburban, and whether this is an issue or not depends on what you want to do. The new airport motorway may reduce the airport travel time from when we were there.
This is a budget guest house and I would only recommend if you will be out and about all day into the evening and simply require a bed as there is nothing else to do there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkydoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a nice few nights at the hotel after I'd booked it online from New Zealand. We had arranged a pick-up for $40 US which didn't happen and we had to arrange our own taxi after arriving at midnight - and then still pay the hotel for despite agreeing on $30 US with the taxi driver! This was a bit disappointing. The hotel is very hard to find but we were happy once we arrived because of the quiet location (on a residential street). Our room was lovely and very quiet.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and assisted us in arranging a day-tour of the city and then a car and driver for 5 days to take us to Dambulla and Kandy. We returned to the hotel after the tour because it was easy and we knew the area by then. I would say it would be best suited to business travellers who are not concerned with being too central or too close to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Monsoon Suites for several days. It is located close to the Nawala Junction and provides easy access to the Colombo City, Nugegoda and other suburbs. The place was easy to find but a ‘Google Maps’ print will help those unfamiliar with the area.

The ‘De Luxe’ rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The ‘Budget Rooms’ are adequate only for a brief stay or an overnight transit.

It is only a few minutes’ walk to the main road. If you have a car, there is secure parking within the premises with 24 hr access. There are also some decent eating places nearby.

The staff was always available and helpful so a pretty good place overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Elyon Colombo
2.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,804 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
3.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.5 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#6 of 151 in Colombo
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monsoon Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsoon Suites

Property: Monsoon Suites
Address: 198/7, Siriwimal Udyanaya, Nawala Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monsoon Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Monsoon Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing