We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of 5th Lane House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
5th Lane House
Ranked #41 of 153 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I loved this hotel, in the middle of the roads is this amazing place, I didn't really pre-plan the location so well but its beautiful, I also got upgraded to the master suite, they don't serve dinner so walking the streets to find somewhere is a great experience, also a few km's from the beach and a lovely railway track, good for some photos, breakfast is lovely and the staff are great, but not so knowledgable or able to help with forward planning, so knowing where your going next and how to get there is good!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

fine decoration, comfirtable room, good location, high speed wifi. It's very close to Colombo Univercity and easy access to National Museum. Fine deco building and rooms. Room is big and comfortable. The only defect is the noise of water pump.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We only stayed one night in this very nice decorated hotel. When you enter the hotel you see that they invested a lot to make the place well designed and beautifull. The staff and the manager were very friendly and helped us to arrange a tuktuk to our restaurant and transportation to the airport the next morning. The luxury rooms are big, clean and very well furnished. The AC worked ok and there was not a lot of noise from the city. Every room has his own Wifi. The hotel is very well located near to a lot of nice restaurants. In the early morning it will only take 30 to 45 minutes to reach the airport. Because we had to leave very early in the morning, the staff arranged a takeaway breakfast for us. Great service. If you look for a beautifull relaxing place in the centre of Colombo you're at the right place at 5th lane house.

Room Tip: We stayed at the deluxe room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Really nice and beautifull decorated rooms not far from "downtown" colombo. Overall the rooms were clean, the breakfast was also good. The staff was very helpfull and nice. They organised a driver, as the train was booked out, to Nuwara Elija within a couple of hours to a very reasonable price. We really enjoyed talking to the manager discussing sri lankan history and politics.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliettaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had the misfortune, my friend & I, to arrive to 5th lane house on a bad day it seemed for the owner, or manager. He was screaming & shouting, at us and at the bell boy there, very aggressive & rude. We were inquiring about the prices for the Mango room, and the Deluxe room, which he refused to show us in the most impolite manner, we were shocked, we left promising to leave a review on this page. And here it is. We stayed at recently open hotel by Colombo 6, and had a lovely stay. You have been warned.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiaDai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam14M, Owner at 5th Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Sorry you didn't get a chance to book your stay with us. With the complaints on the manager we have had a serious issues especially with walk ins, I believe you commented before as well.
Hope you had a good stay in Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely little quiet hotel (more like a Bungalow) in the middle of busy Colombo.
Walking distance or just a small bus ride to major areas in Colombo.
Internet is really good and very fast. Good breakfast.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
So its a very good place for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjeprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Large rooms, very nicely furnished in a very central part of Colombo. A very short taxi ride (<10min) to attractions such as the National Museum, Barefoot, Victoria Park etc.
The staff were very helpful and attentive. The breakfast though was quite average, but would still give this place 5 stars for the location and the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sepia_t0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 mi away
Whitehouse Residencies
Whitehouse Residencies
#34 of 153 in Colombo
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac By Seclusion
Lilac By Seclusion
#8 of 152 in Colombo
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpack Lanka
Backpack Lanka
#20 of 152 in Colombo
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort@15
Comfort@15
#27 of 153 in Colombo
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanka Hostels Colombo
Lanka Hostels Colombo
#9 of 152 in Colombo
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colpetty House
Colpetty House
#62 of 153 in Colombo
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Lane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Lane House

Address: 51 1a 5th Lane, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: £107 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 5th Lane House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of Colombo. Best Location to explore the city!With only 4 rooms, and a personalised service for all your needs! We got everything you need!Minutes Walking distance to McDonalds, Super Market, Durdans Hospital, Beverly Street Shopping, Bellagio Casino, Cafes, Chinese Restaurants, Steak Houses, Russian Restaurant, Swiss Restaurant, Bars Cafe, Fashion Bug, Manhattan Fish Market, Paradise Road Gallery & Cafe, Barefoot Gallery, Dinemore Restaurant, Bus Stops, Money Exchanger, 24 Hour Travel Agency. Cricket Club Cafe. Jewellery Stores and Clothing Stores.Less than a 1KM walk to Colombo Museum, Race Course Grounds, British Council, Canadian High Commission, USAID, Lionel Wendt Theatre, Russian Embassy, University of Colombo, Malaysia Embassy, Leo Burnett, Romania Embassy, German Embassy. St Anthony's Church.Within 2KM, Gangaramaya Temple, Beira Lake, Colombo Town Hall, Public Library, Sri Lanka Tennis, Moors Cricket Club, Colombo Cricket Club, Kollupitiya Train Station, Bars, Casinos and Lots to Do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 5th Lane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing