We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient all day restaurant.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Bistro & Wine Bar

Sugar Bistro & Wine Bar
Ranked #10 of 550 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sugar Bistro , a lively and exciting new restaurant and bar from the team behind Lemon Bar & Kitchen and Silk is now open. It's home to a relaxed dining experience and underpinned by great service and a menu that includes hearty dishes from around the globe including the infamous Sugar burger. The aim is to deliver a great experience whatever time you choose.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convenient all day restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had dinner here, actually on several occasions, breakfast a couple of times too, as I was staying in a nearby apartment with no cooking facilities, it was convenient. The service was good, actually the young staff were almost too enthusiastic and eager to please us, hovering around the table perhaps a little too much. The Sri Lankan Lamprais I had was very good quality, perhaps could have been a little spicier, but I suspect that they tone down the chilli as they have a lot of Western customers. My wife's hot dog was not quite so good she said, the problem was the chicken sausage, she said it was flavourless. But then she is German and used to flavoursome pork sausages, not the halal, bland chicken variety. The breakfast I enjoyed here twice, once good poached eggs with spinach and Hollandaise, once the full English style breakfast, with excellent pork bacon. The fact we actually ate here several times in one week gives the place our full endorsement. A good all day restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    167
    48
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing:-(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Took a friend for lunch... My "fresh" orange was undrinkable... I returned it... My wasabi tuna wrap had minimal wasabi... Very average... My friend was happy with her pasta dish. The homemade cinnamon ice cream was superb:-)

Helpful?
Thank Arunikaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
421 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A good Place to Hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Good Ambience , nice views, I had tea, coffee and desserts which was really good, didn't try the food so cant really say, its located next to Cinnamon Grand, so if you are staying there try this place its worth a try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mujamai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice ambience but average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Hi we we're there on the 16.4.2014 for dinner the crab koththu didn't have any crab in it..( couldn't even taste any ) and the deserts were tasteless ..

Place was under staffed . We had to wait for a long time to be served and for the bill

Not worth the visit

Helpful?
Thank Dinesh7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zahran z, Social Media at Sugar Bistro & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Dinesh,

Firstly let me offer our most sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory experience that you had at Sugar Bistro.

We take all our customer feed back, whether good or bad very seriously and I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to bring it to our attention.

We have made a reputation as an establishment that offers excellent value for money in both product quality and service and are constantly working hard to avoid experiences such as yours with our customers.

Ironically, Crab Kottu is one of our most popular dishes and after investigating the matter carefully we would like to consider it as an unfortunate mistake on our part on the day for not getting it right.

We would be happy to invite you back to enjoy the same dish or anything else that you may wish to partake in order to compensate for your dissatisfaction. If you do not wish to return we will be happy to reimburse you the cost of your total bill.

We do understand that any attempt from our end to rectify the situation will always fall short of getting it right in the first occasion, however please be rest assured that your experience has resulted in us striving harder to ensure no other customer faces a similar situation.

It would be most appreciated if you could tell us what desserts you ordered as well so that we could look into that matter as well.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Sugar Bistro & Wine Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Ambience but nothing great on the menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I walked almost 3 Kms in search of a cafe in Colombo and realised that Cafe's are not as common in most other cities across the world. I finally bumped into Sugar Bistro and Wine Bar which looked attractive with both an indoor and outdoor seating. The ambience was very inviting.

The coffee was just average and other drinks and snacks were alright, nothing great to write about. Was just happy to get a cup of coffee in the hard to find cafe town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sudanshu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Sugar Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing