We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in a good location”
Review of Pearl Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pearl Grand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Wasn't expecting much from this hotel, but was pleasantly surprised by the value. Double bed was comfortable with excellent pillows. Furniture and fittings look relatively new. I think all rooms come with balcony where you can step out to smoke. Breakfast was decent with a mix of continental and local food. Location is good, near Barefoot and Majestic Mall. Everything else is just a tuk tuk ride away. Wifi was decent but limited to only one device at a time, and you hv to keep logging in to connect. Would highly recommend if you just need a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, will keep you away from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DayTripperz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    156
    52
    4
    12
See reviews for
48
89
31
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel is good with courteous and helpful stay ( though some of them do not understand; would need to explain properly what you want). The rooms are very good, however the last two rooms ( XX09 & XX10) are smaller is size and a bit crampy as compared to the other rooms. Rooms on the left side ( all with odd numbers) have a good view of the sea. The breakfast and alcarte menu is good, however the internet connection keeps getting disconnected if kept idle for sometime on mobile ( may be due to security reasons). The rooms are comfortable, neat and clean. I do not like the lighting in the room. The hotel has kept very few lights. When on business, I want more light while studying or working on the light. The rooms have all the basic amenities of a 3-4 star hotel. Apart from the swimming pool and gymn, the hotel has recently launched the spa centre. The prices are reasonable and good. The hotel is centrally located with most of the eating joints at a stone thrown away distance. All in all, a good hotel which would match your budget.

Room Tip: 1. Pls dont take the last two rooms of any floor..since it is a bit smaller than other rooms. 2. ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajitdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Pearl Grand seems to be more oriented towards business travel but it's also great accommodations for mid-range travelers. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and modern (some wear), and the roof pool was perfect for the humid weather (and great views!). The hotel is near the Magestic Mall so there are a few restaurant choices in the area but the better selections tend to be near the Cinnamon Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-facing room (if available). The view at sunset can be spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UNH_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights with hubbie and two children in April. From the minute I walked in, I loved it. Its modern looking, clean, friendly helpful staff. We booked a family suite, it was awesome, huge, plenty of room and very clean and comfortable, 7th floor with balcony, we were impressed. Food was great, all staff in the restaurant very friendly. Thank you Pearl Grand, we had a great time :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Nichole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed twice in the Pearl Grand, when arriving and exiting the country. While not cheap we really enjoyed the comfort of the family rooms we booked. These were very large rooms with 1 king size bed and 2 singles. The lay out of the room also gave us a bit of privacy while sharing with our adult daughter. The bathrooms were huge and very modern. The large couch very relaxing for watching cable TV and the balcony had great views of the lightening shows over Colombo and busy Galle Rd. Breakfast was included in our room price so we grazed across the many things on offer at the excellent buffet.

We received a better reception from staff on our second visit at 1pm instead of our first at 2am. Cool towels and orange juice were provided while we checked in were very refreshing. For our 2am check in, where were asked to sit and wait when all we wanted to do was get in and go to sleep after the long journey from Australia.

I couldn't work out how to get my free foot massage on the first visit. On the second I was advised to go to the Wellness Spa on the top floor near the lovely pool. Make sure you go as the foot massage was very relaxing and free with the voucher provided on checking in.

The staff in this hotel were mostly very friendly and helpful. After our 2pm check out we spent the afternoon/evening hanging around the hotel until our midnight flight home. We managed to pass the time relaxing on the lovely roof by the pool and using the free wifi.

Pearl Grand was like a home away from home for us in Sri Lanka. We loved it!

Room Tip: Family suites will sleep 4 and are very generous sized rooms with a comfortable lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P0lecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here overnight after flying in from overseas and waiting for a transfer the next morning. We had a spacious comfortable family room (1 kingsize bed, 2 singles) which was clean and well decorated (although not to my personal taste!). We had a corner room overlooking the sea. Breakfast the next morning was very good. Only thing we didn't like was the threadbare, grey, bathroom towels and the inadequate aircon in the room. Cool air does not travel around corners unfortunately...but it was a very good overnight option and I'd recommend it to other families looking for the same.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Pearl Grand in Bambalpitiya is a great place to stay in Colombo. It's a 5 minute walk to some of my favorite attractions in Colombo - Barefoot, Gallery Cafe and Cricket Club Cafe. It's also 10-15 minute ride by auto rickshaw (in non-rush hour traffic) to Galle Face Hotel, the newly renovated Dutch Hospital shopping and restaurant complex and Laksala. The rooms are clean with plenty of light and good internet connectivity.
The restaurant serves a range of cuisines from Sri Lankan fare to Indonesian and western food, the nasi goreng's not bad at all and I had a waffle with delicious orange sauce at breakfast one morning (alas it was gone the next day). There's a rooftop swimming pool with a small bar on the top floor with a mini-spa (part of a larger chain) next to it. I was given a coupon for a free 20 minute foot massage.
But the best thing about the Pearl Grand is really the staff. They are consistently friendly and helpful, especially the hotel taxi drivers - it's well worth paying a little extra to use the hotel cars as the drivers are good guides to the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suranjana_gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#24 of 52 in Colombo
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#17 of 52 in Colombo
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#22 of 52 in Colombo
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#28 of 52 in Colombo
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 52 in Colombo
1,327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Grand Hotel

Property: Pearl Grand Hotel
Address: No. 9, Edward Lane, | Colombo 03, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
situated in the city centre near Majestic shopping mall, and close proximity for all leading casino,malls etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pearl Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing