We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ambience”
Review of Pearl Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pearl Grand Hotel
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel, It is nice to stay for business visit, Happy with Breakfast & good staff. I strongly recommend this hotel. Hotel located in the ideal place for business. I recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corners are good & spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Prabhakar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hotel is well located near the market and casinos. But the facilities, ambience and service is very average. Food is just ok, nothing great. The manager at the reception was not helpful at all. Overall a let down and an avoidable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shruti_lsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It took a good half hour for our reservation to be retrieved. Rooms were basic and on the squeezy side, with obvious signs of age. The wonderful breakfast spread made up for this - good variety of local and western offerings, and they took pains to change the selection daily. Loved the Sri Lankan sambols. Appreciated the friendly waiter who recommended hoppers with egg, fresh off the pan. Dash across the road for some hearty briyani. 

The rooftop pool was a welcome respite in the muggy weather, with a lovely view of the city and ocean in the distance. Walking distance to the famous Barefoot. 

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank BigMamaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had to stay at this hotel since I flew into Colombo late at night and couldnt have travelled to my destination at that time. It finally seemed good enough for a connecting flight stay only.

Positives:
Thinking hard...breakfast spread was perhaps ok

Negatives:
Room size was small, could have been cleaner, claustrophobic interiors

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First time in Sri Lanka and stayed here as it's close to the office. Modern hotel with great air conditioning. The experience was amazing from the super friendly and courteous staff, to the well appointed rooms with the great bed, the rooftop swimming pool (awesome for watching the nightly lightning show), and superb dining. The food was simply sensational, from the restaurant through to the full buffet breakfast, cannot compliment it and the excellent staff enough!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as you get sensational views over Colombo and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazveronese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel 3 times in May and June and it is one of the many new hotels that has built in Colombo since the war ended, and is part of the remarkable upgrading of infrastructure that is obvious throughout the island. The rooms are well appointed - good wifi, laptop-size safes, tea/coffee and ironing facilities and good balcony views across the city and sea. The staff are very friendly, if a little inexperienced with less commonplace queries, and the laundry service is amazingly cheap and fast. Inexplicably my room was not serviced on 2 days and twice I had new towels returned after 22.00! The weak point of the hotel is the restaurant which is uninspiring in decor, lighting, ambience and menu, although there was a marked improvement towards the end of my final stay. For Europeans and Americans the Nescafe served at breakfast is a complete turn-off. The rooftop area has a small cafe, small gym and small pool with some seating space which is quite pleasant. There is also a foot massage spa and the advertising claims that every guest is offered, at check-in, a voucher for a free initial visit but, on none of the 3 occasions that I checked-in was I offered such a voucher, so, if interested, ask.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel for three nights and found it to be quite comfortable. Centrally located and easily reachable. Staff is quite courteous and helpful. Food is good. Would love to stay again in fuure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.3 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#18 of 56 in Colombo
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo
0.7 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#27 of 56 in Colombo
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Elyon Colombo
2.8 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#20 of 56 in Colombo
365 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#17 of 56 in Colombo
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Grand Hotel

Address: No. 9, Edward Lane, | Colombo 03, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: £62 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
situated in the city centre near Majestic shopping mall, and close proximity for all leading casino,malls etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pearl Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing