We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too over-priced”
Review of Pearl Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pearl Grand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Maldives
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Way too over-priced”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Pros:
+ Spacious, comfortable room with fast Wifi.
+ Very close to Majestic City shopping mall (about 7mins walk away).
+ Breakfast was okay.

Cons:
- Room was way too over priced. Not worth the money. (Then again, all hotels we checked out in Colombo were over-priced).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Naseeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    156
    52
    4
    12
See reviews for
48
89
31
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is located at a perfect location, reasonable comfortable rooms though they are over priced, good hi speed internet, average breakfast BUT highly non-professional and ill trained reception staff. Very poor communication and understanding of customer management. Recently i had a reservation and when i arrived at the counter, the guy who was even unable to speak properly made me wait for at least 45 mins just to check what rates were given by them for my room. I personally recommend to check few newly operational hotels near Bamblapitya junction !

Room Tip: Top floors with 002 series - Like 9002, 8002, 7002, 6002 - They have good ocean view from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saif-ur-Rehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I booked this hotel with my friend via booking.com, but we booked separately. Then, we cancelled it because we had to change our trip schedule. We did everything correctly and had all evidences. After the booking date that we cancelled, we were charged from this hotel but by AGODA!. Surprisingly, I was charged with the full amount (more than I booked), but my friend was charged less than me. However, she was charged more than one night for sure. We were charged in the different rate even though our booking condition was same (5 nights). Also, we never booked this hotel via AGODA, but we both were charged from AGODA!. After we contacted booking.com for the refund, booking.com confirmed that we had all right evidences, and the hotel promised that they will refund money to us. The following days, we got the email from the hotel that they cannot refund because the hotel did not recieve any official cancellation. We did contact booking.com again, and booking.com COMFIRMED that they sent all document to the hotel already. Then, hotel claimed that we were charged from AGODA, not booking. How come we have to book the hotel via two agents? Stupid!! We asked booking to talked to both hotel and AGODA. Finally, the hotel accepted that they charged from us. SOOO. They said that they will refund money to us asap and sent the proof to us 4 days ago. Until now, we have not got anything. The hotel said than they are busy, and they do not have time to do the refund for us. How could I think of this hotel? I have been using the service of both booking and agoda, but I never have any problem before. This hotel is SUCK! The service is extremly bad. The accounting manager, Shalini, is unreliable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel, It is nice to stay for business visit, Happy with Breakfast & good staff. I strongly recommend this hotel. Hotel located in the ideal place for business. I recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corners are good & spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prabhakar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hotel is well located near the market and casinos. But the facilities, ambience and service is very average. Food is just ok, nothing great. The manager at the reception was not helpful at all. Overall a let down and an avoidable experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shruti_lsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

It took a good half hour for our reservation to be retrieved. Rooms were basic and on the squeezy side, with obvious signs of age. The wonderful breakfast spread made up for this - good variety of local and western offerings, and they took pains to change the selection daily. Loved the Sri Lankan sambols. Appreciated the friendly waiter who recommended hoppers with egg, fresh off the pan. Dash across the road for some hearty briyani. 

The rooftop pool was a welcome respite in the muggy weather, with a lovely view of the city and ocean in the distance. Walking distance to the famous Barefoot. 

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMamaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had to stay at this hotel since I flew into Colombo late at night and couldnt have travelled to my destination at that time. It finally seemed good enough for a connecting flight stay only.

Positives:
Thinking hard...breakfast spread was perhaps ok

Negatives:
Room size was small, could have been cleaner, claustrophobic interiors

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#24 of 52 in Colombo
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
1,759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#27 of 52 in Colombo
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 52 in Colombo
1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#22 of 52 in Colombo
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#17 of 52 in Colombo
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Grand Hotel

Property: Pearl Grand Hotel
Address: No. 9, Edward Lane, | Colombo 03, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
situated in the city centre near Majestic shopping mall, and close proximity for all leading casino,malls etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pearl Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing