We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Clock Inn Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clock Inn Colombo
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I moved to this hotel after staying in CCH for 3 night and being utterly disappointed. Clock inn proved to the best decision I took while in Colombo. The place is nice and new. The 4 bed dorm that i stayed in was clean and spacious. The towels and pillow covers are sort of worn out but still clean. Common areas are nicely done and very comfortable. Special mention about the staff, everyone is extremely hospitable and are ready to cater to any special demands that you have. I needed some translation help with my research work and they readily agreed to that too.
Overall a very good experience!
The only con: the internet seems to be extremely slow most of the times!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shweta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you very much for a Wonderful review! Your feedback on our linens was noted and we have refreshed all of our linens now. We apologize for the issues you experienced with our Wifi and will ensure that it will not happen again. We are very to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and hope that you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka! Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pros:
- Friendly staff
- Hotel is in an OK location on Galle Road (which is a long road)
- Clean room
- Free Wifi

----------

Cons:
- Room is small and compact

Overall, the hotel was cheap and cheerful

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shimal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Clock Inn Colombo. We hope that you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka and hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a great hostel.

Great staff, and especially great breakfast. For example, they have a guy who makes the egg orders for you! That is great for a hostel/hotel.

It has cable TV, and a huge lounge area.

Also, the beds and rooms are clean.

Location is good.

The pictures are nice, but in real life it's better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you for your 5 Star Review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Clock Inn Colombo! We hope that you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka and hope to see you again soon! Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The clock inn is cheap and cheerful, offering nice clean rooms with good wifi, showers and air con, right in the centre of Colombo. The staff were very helpful and helped us arrange a car for onward transport. The breakfast was particularly good: fresh omelettes cooked to your order in the dining room. Directly opposite was the lovely BareFoot cafe and shop. Overall would definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you very much for your 5 Star review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Clock Inn Colombo. We hope that you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again! Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

During a short but pleasant stay at the Clock Inn, the reception guy, Thyagu, selflessly helped me out more than any other stranger has before. I'd left something valuable in Weligama, and didnt have time to retrieve it before leaving Sri Lanka. When asking Thyagu about possible courier servics, he volunteered to go three hours on a train on his day off, and then help ship my belongings to me. So in addition to being a clean and competetively priced hostel (for Colombo), the Clock Inn seems to be staffed by saints, or at least some of the most helpfil and friendly people Ive met in my travels.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank javaman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you very much for your 5 Star Review! We are blessed with a great team and I am delighted to hear that Thiyago went out of his way to help you out. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Clock Inn Colombo and hope you get the opportunity to visit us again! Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I booked into this cheerful lodging for 1 night as I had a very late check in and an early checkout thus did not particularly need luxury for a few hours rest. I was very pleasantly surprised, the lodging was clean, check in easy and friendly and the room although small was more than adequate. TV channels were enough and curtains thick enough to keep the room dark.
Little annoyances like shower door off its sliding hinges, purposely build in gaps louvres of the wooden WC door allowing for ventilation as the bathrooms have no window but also allows for all unwanted sounds and smells to emanate into bedroom...A good transit hotel . Location opposite Barefoot shop ad restaurant , which is great as lunch and dinner therefore made easy by simply crossing the road.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ewan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review! We apologize about the shower door. We've got that fixed now! Feedback such as yours keeps us on our toes and make us work harder to improve our services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay in Colombo. Amazing staff, helpful and kind. Clean rooms, shower and toilet. Very quiet, good place to relax. Cool and modern design, good vibe and good music. Perfect, tasty and rich breakfast. To make short-SUPER! :)

Stayed: April 2014
5  Thank ayashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you Very Much for your 5 Star Review! Nothing makes us happier than to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us! We hope to maintain this level of standard and service at all costs and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.1 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.8 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#23 of 54 in Colombo
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
CJ Villas
CJ Villas
#15 of 155 in Colombo
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Colombo Beach Hostel
Colombo Beach Hostel
#10 of 155 in Colombo
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ivy Lane Colombo
Ivy Lane Colombo
#15 of 155 in Colombo
179 reviews
4.0 mi away
Palm Nest
Palm Nest
#12 of 155 in Colombo
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clock Inn Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clock Inn Colombo

Address: 457 Galle Road | Colombo 03, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Colombo
Price Range: £8 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clock Inn Colombo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Galle Road Colombo 03 (Colpetty); it's a mere stroll a way from the Indian Ocean. Beds & Dorms - consists of 4 to 6 Beds per Dorm Room, Shared Bathrooms with Hot Showers, Air Condition, Private Lockers, Individual Reading Lights, Linens included, Free WiFi. Private Rooms - consist of a King Size Double Bed, Attached Bathroom with Hot Shower, Air Condition, Cable TV, Safe, Free Water, Free WiFi. Lobby & Lounge - Work Station with Free internet, Free Pantry access, Free Cable TV and other Entertainment facilities available, Free WiFi. On Request - Airport Pick & Drop, Transportation to other locations can also be arranged. Breakfast & Other Meals, Laundry Service, Private Tours in and around the City. The Inn is evidently famous for being in the City Centre, and a 1 minute walk away from the scenic road - Marine Drive. Bus Stop - across the street, Train Station- 5 Minute walk away. Major Restaurants, Shopping, and Entertainment spots are not more than a 2 minute walk away from the Inn. I.E. Majestic City (shopping, movie theatres, food court), Cricket Cafe (pub & cafe), Barefoot (restaurant, shopping), Paradise Road (shopping), Green Cabin (pastry shop), & Gallery Cafe (restaurant). Indian Visa Office is a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Zenrooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clock Inn Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing