We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best in Columbo”
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Checked into the Kingsbury after a disappointing stay at the Grand Cinnamon hotel Columbo

This hotel was the former Ceylon Continental and is now under a complete restoration bringing it to a true 5 star hotel

Only three or four top floors are open at the moment with the spa and pool shortly being completed.

The service, food and overall high levels of customer service were all exceptional

Don't over look this hotel it's ideal for business and when the leisure facilities are completed it will also make a superb tourist hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontyMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Monty,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

We greatly appreciate those encouraging words about our hotel.

We would most certainly like to have you back.

Do contact us for any requests or suggestions on 0112421221.

Thanks again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,424 - 1,430 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

This was my second visit to the hotel .The coffee shop was busy ,almost every single table was occupied .I guess everyone patronizing the place was checking this place out.

Hats off to the Kingsbury team for transforming the hotel to what it is today, Well done guys !
The food was just great with lots of action stations . The service was pretty good . I ma sure they will now give the other hotels a good run for their money . I didnt like the red coloured chairs at the Bar lounge .
My Very Best Wishes Guys .
Bazeer Uvais

Room Tip: Fantastic location, perhaps the best in Colombo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Mr.Bazeer,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for a wonderful review.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us.

We would also like to invite you to indulge a lavish Sunday Oyster Brunch at the Harbour Court or the Seafood Brunch at The Ocean.

And If you haven't tried out our lobby bar 'The Kings' feel welcome to do so, and partake in an amazing deal called 'Royal Flush' where we will add on a 10% discount for each lady to a maximum of 50% off on the bill every evening between 5pm - 8pm.

Our goal at The Kingsbury is to ensure your requests will be taken care of and your needs anticipated with a discreet, professional style of service from the moment you arrive.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Absolutely love the hotel and its new facelift, service is great, very friendly and welcoming. The food at the Harbour Court was amazing, especially the diverse spread and the guys that run the bar are brilliant. Can do nothing but recommend The Kingsbury......worth every penny...All the best guys !!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Andrea,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for a great review on our hotel and its restaurants.

We will be delighted to welcome you back when you return to the island.

Our hotel is committed to making sure your stay is as smooth and relaxed as possible, from when you arrive to when you depart.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel looks fab from the outside creating very high expectations. However the small lobby area and the restaurants make the place look very overcrowded. The circular pillar salt aquarium looks fab and well fitting into the theme of a sea side hotel.
The lunch buffet sadly is average. The large variety of salads and dessert hardly makes up for the extremely poor selection of the main course. I guess it is a good idea to have action stations and a chef to prepare food to your liking but however this is insanity for a lunch buffet , especially when there is a large crowd . After all you dont come to spend the whole day at the lunch buffet. The chefs are pleasent and helpfull but this does not make up for not getting the dish you ordered. There was a large crowd and the chef told me he will send me my order to the table but it NEVER came.

Overall staff are hrlpfull and try there best but need a lot more practise to sound genuine. I would probably not visit a second time for the lunch buffet as its not value for money. After all did not pay so mucn to eat salad and dessert!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Nigel,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This is a fully renovated and refurbished hotel (pool under construction but will be ready in a couple of weeks). We stayed only for one night but could be a great place to stay some days longer. Great welcome and a fabulous reception area with comfortable chairs. The room was perfect with a great sea view. Large and with free Wifi. Great customer service and the staff were all very friendly and contributed to a warm experience. This hotel is very well located. You have the sea, the beach, the Dutch hospital with a lot of restaurants and some shops.
In the hotel there is an excellent choice of restaurants. The Chinese restaurant was not open but the fish restaurant was a very good alternative. There was such a variety of fresh fish that it was difficult to choose. The quality and the service in the restaurant was more than excellent, it was perfect. And the chef made a wonderful meal. Highly recommended for Colombo.
Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc1560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Greeting from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for a wonderful review.

We appreciate those encouraging words and we are most certainly looking forward to welcome you again.

Every member of our staff is committed to making sure your stay is as smooth and relaxed as possible, from when you arrive to when you depart.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The hotel is not ready yet (Feb 2013). We word told that the pool, gym, spa etc would be ready in a month's time but it looked more like four to five months to us.

that apart our four night stay was splendid. you get the full view of the ocean especially from the corner rooms. the restaurant serves great local food. one has great views of Galle Face from every room.

The occupancy is still low, so we had lots of people to care of us. Nevertheless, the staff is quite attentive and courteous.

overall we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: choose the corner ones if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramprasad k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Ram,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for those encouraging words.

We would be delighted to have you back at our hotel. The pool is now open along with the pool bar & grill where you could stroll in for a sunny afternoon rendezvous, catch-up with friends over
a pre-dinner aperitif, or linger over an after-dinner drink.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The hotel is still under construction. But have reopened with total elegant interior atmosphere. I chosed this hotel for my wedding as it was reopened & I loved the fresh of it. But unfortunately the service has not reach to see as a one of 5 star or 4 star level hotels in the capital of Colombo. Really good food, good rooms & friendly staff but with poor knowledge.

Service staffs are not capable to deliver the guest requirements. We were with some of our family friends who came down for the wedding from Netherlands. We are not happy with the experience they had during their stay. The b/fast order took 1 & 1/2 hrs to serve & it has served with wrong items. We ordered one sweet wine & the supervisor don’t know what’s the meaning of sweet wine is & it was embarrassed. Their room view was towards to the pool which is on construction & we feel really sorry about our friends. We met couple of managers in order to inform them about the poor service we received. These type of impressions can be damaged to the industry. Houskeeping didn't worry to refresh the room.

The dinner order came with full of wet napkins. Luckily had enough tissues in the room to wipe our hands. They Banquet team was well supported in coordinating things. Rizvi & chef team did a really good work.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamawim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,093 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,237 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#9 of 54 in Colombo
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: £118 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing