We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place for weddings!”
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

My wife and I got married at the kingsbury, in the victorian ballroom. It was an amazing place to have our wedding. After the wedding, we had stayed only one night. The rooms were fantastic. However, the service could be much better for that kind of hotel especially. Mainly at the front desk. We were told by someone there that breakfast had ended when clearly it hasn't. And being that we were married there we were told before that we are entitled to breakfast when ever we are ready. So when we finally went for breakfast, this is where my wife and I discovered our favorite aspect of the hotel. The food! It was spectacular! Everything was made fresh and the juices were freshly squeezed. The food was cooked to perfection. I can only speak for the breakfast but I wish that we had stayed long enough to experience the other meals. So considering all that, I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikefinjr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Mike,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Wow ! Thank you for a splendid review on our hotel, we most certainly hope we lived upto your expectations.

We would also like to invite you to indulge in a delectable lunch/dinnerat our seafood restaurant The Ocean or Yue Chuan , our Chinese restaurant.

Thanks once again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,717)
There are newer reviews for The Kingsbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,393 - 1,399 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

Wanted to get down a piece of chocolate chip cake, but since it had run out, bought a cappucino fudge cake....dispointed. For Rs.300 the piece of cake was small and did satisfy our tastebuds. The icing (coffee) had an unusual smell and was not sweet enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 1LifeStand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for your valid feedback.

We would appreciate if you could share your concerns and comments with us on +9411 2421221.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The food is ok, not excellent. Staff are really really friendly and polite. The view was stunning. They had a considerable quantity of food for the dinner buffet. But lacked mains. Salad and dessert were sufficient. Totally, it is a cool place to hangout with friends or family because the dinner runs from 7 pm (i presume, i forgot :P ) till 12 midnight. :D:D:D

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmranAthas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear Amran,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for those wonderful words about our hotel.

We most certainly would like to have you back at our hotel for a lavish Sunday Oyster Brunch , which happens between 11.30am - 3.00pm. Bring your friends and family and indulge in the large spread of appetizers, soups, mains, desserts complemented by a glass of Cafe De Paris for only 2,650/- all inclusive.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Table provided as is not table
Food is not that good as expected

There were variety of foods to be chosen but I should say it lack of delicious. They had lot of deserts and Starters. But lack of main foods. For me it was a disappointment. If you are staying in a hotel it might suit you for formal dining. But i don't think it is worth a visit just for food

Please make reservation before you go.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahinthan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I enjoyed this newly opened venue recently. New, fresh, stylish (with lovely red chairs), cozy tea and cake area. I was told their fish restaurant is marvelous and the view, right at the ocean is great. Do recommend visiting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Anna,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you very much for those encouraging words about our hotel.

We'd like to invite you to our seafood restaurant 'The Ocean' for a fresh spread of seafood and a delectable array of appetizers , soups and main dishes.

Contact us on +94 115 635 635 for more details and reservations.

Hope to see you at our hotel again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We started our trip through Sri Lanka in the Cinnamon Grand Hotel and stayed in the Kingsbury at the end . Therefore we can very well compare both hotels. We enjoyed the Cinnamon Hotel a lot, but the Kingsbury was in most aspects the better choice . From the moment we arrived, we enjoyed a very well trained and extraordinary friendly staff who looked after us and assisted us like old friends.But his was our first stay ! Checking in was the fastetst and friendliest service on our whole trip , food in the restaurants exceeded our meals in the Cinnamon (Enormous lunchtime buffet for 2200 Rupies, very chic ,modern Chinese restaurant with incredible preparations for dinner ) . The rooms are very comfortable : excellent matresses, a real duvet cover , bathrooms with Bulgari products and a view over the Indian Ocean . The swimming pool is open now and most of the renovations have been finished. We were highly surprised about the quality of the new Kingsbury, having read the biased reviews on TA from former times . On our next trip we will book the Kingsbury again . Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doc holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

We'd like to thank you for an excellent review and we most certainly would like to see you again at our hotel.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Newly improved hotel looks very grand, but they need to do something about the grand looking chairs, it scares you! The bar at Kingsburry is huge, but the staff needs a lot of training. they tend to get scared and runaway and never come back with your order. Dinner was great, huge spread with lot of action stations, i must say, its real value for money. but service is unbelievably slow and the staff is hopeless with any help with the menus or the spread. Like the sea food and grilled items they have. The deserts were very disappointing. The staff do not allow you to finish your requirement, you can easily scare them away for no reason.
Don't try to make a reservation over the phone, they do not like phones!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niroshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear Oshi,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

We'd like to thank you for your valid feedback on our hotel.

You could contact us on +94112421221 or email info@thekingsburyhotel.com for your suggestions and queries, we would be happy to assist you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#9 of 54 in Colombo
2,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,071 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 54 in Colombo
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: £110 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing