We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class!!!”
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First class!!!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Great hotel, great location, great staff etc.!
We spent 5 days there and it was amazing experience! Definitely, hotel with some difference!
''Great things are not done by impulse, but by a series of small things brought together.” Those ''small things'' make Kingsbury so special!
From the first moment you just feel the difference! At 7 am when we did arrive we were told that our room will be ready in a few minutes (not at 12 or 2pm!), we got coffeee and some lite breakfast, wanted to pay, but was told 'it's on house''! Small but makes difference, right?
From the huge, spacious lobby we entered 2 our amazing room with the most amazing view!!! All the time we have been ''pumpered'' by well trained, professional staff!
This holtel lies right at the long beach, just in front of the famous Galle Face, at the same time it's in the city centre, 2 min. walk to the even more famous Dutch Hospital (restaurants&shops), near the Trade Center & jewellery shops.......etc. And what else to say? Recommended thoroughly!

Room Tip: Always higher floor, corner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    594
    211
    89
    84
See reviews for
355
492
86
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a hotel with a difference. Right from the check in onwards we could feel the warmth of the staff welcoming us. The large Lobby, the well stocked bar, lobby coffee shop etc are beautifully furnished to the extent that even the pillars have some surprises. The rooms are luxuriously furnished and it’s a 5 star experience you will get there. The toilet and the accessories provided are world class. The breakfast is a feast to your eyes. One can taste the local, Indian, Continental and Oriental food from the lavish breakfast buffet. The Dining area is very spacious and has a full view of the sea. The room service was excellent and prompt.
It’s located right on the beach and you can feel and see the sea from the privacy of your own room. The Presidential palace is just round the corner. The famous Trade Centre is just opposite to the hotel. One can enjoy the evening walk on the beach and the night life at Colombo here. I strongly recommend this place to stay.

Room Tip: Opt for the sea facing rooms. Also try for the Executive floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
249 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights last month and loved it. Service was excellent throughout and we loved our room - floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Indian Ocean.
We ate at their superb fish restaurant one night (I think it was called The Ocean, or similar) and had one of the best meals ever - the dispay of fish and seafood was almost overwhelming in its breadth and you choose exactly how you want your selection cooked. The buffet breakfast was also exceptional and the only thing I would take issue with is that the aircon is pretty fierce in there - I soon learned to take a wrap with me, just in case.
Overall a great place to be, very central and very restful if you need to get over a few hours' jetlag.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, awlay from the pool, which is currently close to a construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
390 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel last month, just for a night. The hotel just in front of Galle face with stunning view in front. Located in central Colombo area and surrounded by so many high class hotels around. The room was spacious and exotic with a great sleep quality – with comfortable bed and all required amenities. I liked the transparent bathroom that gives a completely different look to entire area, however, great to see that there is way to maintain privacy as well with curtains, which you may require when you are with your kids. The hotel has many restaurants and great foods. I liked sitting outside in the balcony areas of the hotel sipping my favourite drinks and looking at the horizon. The staff are very cooperative and helpful . All other required facilities fully available in the hotel, including a huge swimming pool with stunning view.

Room Tip: Higher floor, room facing ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mukesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Apparently they renovated this hotel not too long ago. The best part is the room, very comfortable. Size of the room was perfect and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Bathrooms are clean, bright, and functional. They gave me one of the worst rooms in the hotel right next to a construction site and I still find it ok. You have two rolls of rooms facing opposite direction. The ones facing southwest (looking at the Old Parliament), I think, have the best view and quieter despite facing the street. The ones facing northeast (looking at the swimming pool) are the bad ones. They have one construction site right next to the hotel on the right and they are also doing reclamations on the left. If you have a choice, ask for the ones facing southwest when you check in. The swimming pool is nice and clean but located right next to a road with heavy construction traffic. Not too relaxing. Lots of food for breakfast but don’t expect any services. The number of trained staff is limited and I wouldn’t bother with the untrained. Services outside the restaurant are a little better but still don’t expect too much. I do recommend this hotel if all you want is a good night sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Kingsbury hotel is really a nice place to stay because of it's close to the sea and centrally located. You can go for a morning walk along the sea shore. The food is excellent. The rooms are spacious neat and clean.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msarackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashik India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

To celebrate our anniversary we decided to take the family out to dinner at this new (for me) place in Colombo. I decided to book the table. The website was very slow and very unfriendly. I had to use my computer savvy nephew to book the table. He also felt that the website was poor. Then we arrived with our large group we found we were given an inside table. What little we saw in the website showed dining facing the sea. Despite initial reluctance by the junior staff the Asst. Restaurant Manager Upul gave us a sea facing table. then onwards the service, ordering and quality of food was excellent Only small criticism is that coffee could have been warmer or hot. this was soon corrected and we enjoyed the dinner and facilities of this well appointed hotel and restaurant .
overall the staff especially Mr Upul was very helpful.
Good luck

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudhi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
2,109 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#9 of 51 in Colombo
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Property: The Kingsbury
Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing