We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Reception was very good and you will as if you are a king. Very good location on sea front and closer to all facilities. Rooms at higher levels are very good, but I was forced to stay in 2nd floor where rooms were old and bathroom is too small. Room is very clean and with very big window to enjoy the beauty of sea. Corridor has dust smell and feel carpets needs to be replaced or cleaned properly. Restaurants are amazing and food is excellent

Room Tip: Stay in higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selvan_koilpillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Kingsbury!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Kingsbury and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel and many other aspect that were added to your experience. It slightly disheartens me to read of a few negative aspects of your experience which, rest assured, will be taken care of in order that no guests will encounter any negative experiences in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kingsbury, which I hope will be in the near future.

Regards,
Sunil Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,376 - 1,382 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

The facilities here are excellent. I very much enjoyed the use of the gym, and also appreciated the convenience of the spa and massage areas downstairs.

The pool area was impressive, with its outdoor bar, and the choice of three restaurants within the hotel complex was fantastic. Loved the buffet at the Harbour Court (both breakfast & dinner). My only complaint was that they seemed to be severely understaffed or under-trained at Harbour Court. There were waiters running around frantically at all times, struggling with people's bills, falling behind on table clean-ups, and it was nigh on impossible to get someone's attention for a drink.

Rooms were exquisite though, and the beds were the comfiest I've slept in for a very long time! Overall I'd recommend you give this place a try.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Kingsbury!

I have no words to express my happiness, having read your review of The Kingsbury. Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your experience at The Kingsbury here on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are thrilled beyond words that we have provided you with an excellent service and that the ambiance of the hotel has made a vast impact on your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kingsbury which we hope will be in the near future.


Regards,
Sunil Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Great hotel, great location, great staff etc.!
We spent 5 days there and it was amazing experience! Definitely, hotel with some difference!
''Great things are not done by impulse, but by a series of small things brought together.” Those ''small things'' make Kingsbury so special!
From the first moment you just feel the difference! At 7 am when we did arrive we were told that our room will be ready in a few minutes (not at 12 or 2pm!), we got coffeee and some lite breakfast, wanted to pay, but was told 'it's on house''! Small but makes difference, right?
From the huge, spacious lobby we entered 2 our amazing room with the most amazing view!!! All the time we have been ''pumpered'' by well trained, professional staff!
This holtel lies right at the long beach, just in front of the famous Galle Face, at the same time it's in the city centre, 2 min. walk to the even more famous Dutch Hospital (restaurants&shops), near the Trade Center & jewellery shops.......etc. And what else to say? Recommended thoroughly!

Room Tip: Always higher floor, corner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a hotel with a difference. Right from the check in onwards we could feel the warmth of the staff welcoming us. The large Lobby, the well stocked bar, lobby coffee shop etc are beautifully furnished to the extent that even the pillars have some surprises. The rooms are luxuriously furnished and it’s a 5 star experience you will get there. The toilet and the accessories provided are world class. The breakfast is a feast to your eyes. One can taste the local, Indian, Continental and Oriental food from the lavish breakfast buffet. The Dining area is very spacious and has a full view of the sea. The room service was excellent and prompt.
It’s located right on the beach and you can feel and see the sea from the privacy of your own room. The Presidential palace is just round the corner. The famous Trade Centre is just opposite to the hotel. One can enjoy the evening walk on the beach and the night life at Colombo here. I strongly recommend this place to stay.

Room Tip: Opt for the sea facing rooms. Also try for the Executive floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacob05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights last month and loved it. Service was excellent throughout and we loved our room - floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Indian Ocean.
We ate at their superb fish restaurant one night (I think it was called The Ocean, or similar) and had one of the best meals ever - the dispay of fish and seafood was almost overwhelming in its breadth and you choose exactly how you want your selection cooked. The buffet breakfast was also exceptional and the only thing I would take issue with is that the aircon is pretty fierce in there - I soon learned to take a wrap with me, just in case.
Overall a great place to be, very central and very restful if you need to get over a few hours' jetlag.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, awlay from the pool, which is currently close to a construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel last month, just for a night. The hotel just in front of Galle face with stunning view in front. Located in central Colombo area and surrounded by so many high class hotels around. The room was spacious and exotic with a great sleep quality – with comfortable bed and all required amenities. I liked the transparent bathroom that gives a completely different look to entire area, however, great to see that there is way to maintain privacy as well with curtains, which you may require when you are with your kids. The hotel has many restaurants and great foods. I liked sitting outside in the balcony areas of the hotel sipping my favourite drinks and looking at the horizon. The staff are very cooperative and helpful . All other required facilities fully available in the hotel, including a huge swimming pool with stunning view.

Room Tip: Higher floor, room facing ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mukesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Apparently they renovated this hotel not too long ago. The best part is the room, very comfortable. Size of the room was perfect and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Bathrooms are clean, bright, and functional. They gave me one of the worst rooms in the hotel right next to a construction site and I still find it ok. You have two rolls of rooms facing opposite direction. The ones facing southwest (looking at the Old Parliament), I think, have the best view and quieter despite facing the street. The ones facing northeast (looking at the swimming pool) are the bad ones. They have one construction site right next to the hotel on the right and they are also doing reclamations on the left. If you have a choice, ask for the ones facing southwest when you check in. The swimming pool is nice and clean but located right next to a road with heavy construction traffic. Not too relaxing. Lots of food for breakfast but don’t expect any services. The number of trained staff is limited and I wouldn’t bother with the untrained. Services outside the restaurant are a little better but still don’t expect too much. I do recommend this hotel if all you want is a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#9 of 56 in Colombo
2,349 reviews
1.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#8 of 56 in Colombo
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#13 of 56 in Colombo
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: £112 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing