We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kingsbury Colombo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
FAIRWAY COLOMBO(Colombo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,914)
Filter reviews
1,914 results
Traveller rating
790
680
242
104
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
790
680
242
104
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky loungeharbour courtocean restauranthigh teasri lankaport citydutch hospitalrooftop barconstruction siteconstruction workchinese restaurantluxury hotelindian oceangalle facebreakfast buffet isbeautiful hotelsea view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,421 - 1,426 of 1,914 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Guest room that I stayed and facilities,services provided by the Room services staff was Great.Comfortable bed and nice shower room. No long bath in my room. Excellent water pressure and good air condition in room. Room is very clean and with very big window to enjoy the beauty of sea

Room Tip: Rooms on the west would be good
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vajeendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel reception was good. Was given a welcome drink upon arrival. Nice Sea front location closer to all the facilities. Had amazing sea view from the room and had a nice sleep. The sky lounge located on the top floor was amazing and has an awesome view of the Indian Ocean.

Room Tip: Book your rooms from Hotel and avoid websites such as Agoda.com. I had asked for a sea front view but i was allocated a city view room which was later changed.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbdullahShaikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Difficult to rate this hotel as it was my first trip to Colombo. If I compare this to other 5* properties in Asian capitals it's under par but compared to the rest of Colombo its surprisingly good (I've been told..)
I'll give a quick overview of + and -

+
Location close to everything
Overall grandeur
Car service; 4 hours + driver who waits while shopping for around $20
Plenty F&B options
Facilities like pool and spa
Safe haven in busy Colombo

-
Cleanliness of the room; used toothbrush still in bathroom plus full garbage bin
Breakfast service: Instead of a 'hello' we got told what time the buffet closes
Speed of service in F&B outlets; takes long to get a drink, especially when considering the amount of staff
Staff is not unfriendly but also not overly hospitable. I don't need to talk to everyone, but a casual greeting with eye-contact would be great.

Overall not a bad experience but I expected more from a hotel with this pedigree

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joerivanderwees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel used to be the Intercontinental and later on became the Ceylon Continental Hotel. Finally ] a major refurbishment done and turns into The Kingsbury!
Excellent property. Comfortable bed and nice shower room. No long bath in my room.
Excellent water pressure and good air condition in room. View from the room is fantastic!
Staffs are friendly! I have been suffering with others so called good hotels in Colombo but they are arrogant, out dated and aged!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Kingsbury!

Thank you for a wonderful review of The Kingsbury. It is great to note that you have had a memorable experience whilst with us.

Our greatest endeavor is to give you a unique experience, unlike any other. You having enjoyed your stay with us and having liked what we had to offer you, is what encourages us to go ahead to achieve even greater things.

We do look forward to another visit from you and the chance to welcome you once again to The Kingsbury.

Regards,
Sunil Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Reception was very good and you will as if you are a king. Very good location on sea front and closer to all facilities. Rooms at higher levels are very good, but I was forced to stay in 2nd floor where rooms were old and bathroom is too small. Room is very clean and with very big window to enjoy the beauty of sea. Corridor has dust smell and feel carpets needs to be replaced or cleaned properly. Restaurants are amazing and food is excellent

Room Tip: Stay in higher levels
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selvan_koilpillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Kingsbury!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Kingsbury and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel and many other aspect that were added to your experience. It slightly disheartens me to read of a few negative aspects of your experience which, rest assured, will be taken care of in order that no guests will encounter any negative experiences in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kingsbury, which I hope will be in the near future.

Regards,
Sunil Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews